We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and value for Singapore - prepare to be micromanaged” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel! to your Saves list
Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   16 & 18 Upper Cross Street, Chinatown, Singapore 058331, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good location and value for Singapore - prepare to be micromanaged”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

While my stay was short (just two nights), I was satisfied with Beary Best. It was a decent value for Singapore for dorm room prices (around $20 a night for one bed) and the entire hostel was very clean. The rooms had nice air conditioners and fans with lockers.

Cons: The staff are nice an pretty helpful, but there are signs everywhere around the hostel micromanaging your actions. Examples: flushing the toilet, what shower pressure your allowed to use, asking to turn on the air conditioning, how loud the TV can be in the common room, shoes on/off, etc. I understand the need to make the hostels expectations known, but it was a bit overdone. Also, there are stuffed bears everywhere. Literally, everywhere. They also included signs on them telling you not to touch the bears. Again, going slightly overboard.

Overall, if your looking for a decently priced place with clean room and facilities, it's a good choice.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    73
    18
    5
    0
See reviews for
16
23
39
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

It was a great time spent with hospitable managers for the hostel and able to answer to all our enquiries.. Really a beary awesome experience. Overall it was just GREAT! Nothing more to say as it was a really really GREAT Experience...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

its color nice, pretty tidy, and i love the "fell" comfort.. we are such as familiy.
hehe
but for upstairs bed, its quite dangerous for place the electronics and our small things (there is no place, just only placed on bed)
and the locker in the room in without lock, its unsafe if u sleep with stranger in the same room.

warm regards from Sunny Paradise Bali,
Eka Arismana
ekaarismana@me.com

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I really like this hostel.
Firstly, the staff is terribly kind, I felt myself like in my own home due of their friendly attitude to me
Secondly, the location is the best, there are a lot of nice places around this hostel, It seems to me that I lived in the centre of the centre.
Thirdly, the cleanliness of the hostel. That was pretty nice.
Lastly, me and my friends really like the staff!
Thank you for everything!
We wanna go back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

First of all, I really impressed with their efficiency in replying my mails regarding the inquiries and reservation of the room! Since i went in a group of ten, the privacy given by allocating 10 of us in a room really appreciated. The cleanliness of the dorm, location of dorm, and last but not the least the friendly staffs made me comfortable as like my home. Lastly, i enjoyed the benefits being the Beary Best's guest by having discounts on the entrance tickets for Universal Studio. Yeah^^However, the breakfast provided not really enough since we went during the peak season==Anyway, Beary Best Hostel is the awesome dorm i ever stayed!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Stayed during CNY, so great location - lots of lanterns, decorations etc, also just across Rd from train station so super handy to get anywhere. Breakfast included, simple but one less thing to worry about in the morning (corn flakes, toast, tea/coffee). Beds full of springs however, which didn't make for a great night sleep. The bear theme was quite cute though.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ban Patong, Phuket, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Best hotel if it is a group. Rooms are OK. Suitable for tourists. I only want to go out because we are the majority.A short walk from the station in chainatown.Likely to stay longer. Please let us discount, with my thanks.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!

Address: 16 & 18 Upper Cross Street, Chinatown, Singapore 058331, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel! 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing out independently in a beautiful art deco heritage building, Beary Best! was designed with the simple intent to merge backpackers practicality with hotel like space and comfort.Fellow backpackers and budget travelers are welcomed to choose from a variety of dorm types (6, 8, 9 bed dorm and female dorm with ensuite bathroom) at great and affordable prices.Rates are all inclusive of free breakfast and a long list of high quality facilities such as large and clean showers, spacious lounge, free internet, WIFI access, air conditioning, fully fitted bunk beds with international power points) The hostel is located just 3 minutes from Chinatown MRT station and within 10 minutes walking distance to Singapore River, Marina Bay and the Financial District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel! reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beary Best! By a Beary Good Hostel! Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.