We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“oldies but it's nice place to know and come” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Haw Par Villa

Haw Par Villa
262 Pasir Panjang Rd, Singapore 118628, Singapore
(65) 774 0300
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Haw Par Villa like an insider
Private Tour
$177*
and up
Private Tour: Singapore Round-Island Tour with...
Ranked #85 of 564 things to do in Singapore
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Haw Par Villa is like no other place in the world, with over 1,000 statues and 150 dioramas that dramatise Chinese legends and folklore.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“oldies but it's nice place to know and come”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

this outdoor place is very famous last time, but it seems lose their popularity with other new attraction in Singapore. the impression of this place when you firstly came in is, this place is not maintain with good threat. it's too bad of that.

because i like about something with accent chinnese, i would say that i love this place. since we can found many diorama about chineese folklore, and also many statue of chineese folklore figure. and i've plan to bring my daughter to there to know about chineese folklore story.

the most important thing is i like the environment at there, the chinesse accent of the building, the garden, the statue.

even it outdoor, you didn't feel hot because of the sun, since there are many trees at there, so you can feel very comfort when you walking around.

hope this place can improve their facility more, so it can attract tourist to came in.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    122
    77
    14
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of the most unique and eccentric places ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Title is exactly what this place is! A very unique and eccentric museum which shows the historical and cultural beliefs of Chinese folklore and history. A friend recommended the place after seeing it over 20 years (as a kid) which shows the impact it has!
The place is in need of major maintenance, but this does not take from the place and the detail that has gone into the way they have told these stories
Word of warning, the Ten Courts of Hell is very graphic, but a must visit!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearmstadt
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Where is the fun?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Just not my cup of tea, others might like it. Also, it is not well maintained, hardly any people there during the week.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“One of Singapore's More Eccentric Attractions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I have traveled extensively in Southeast Asia and beyond but have never seen anything like Haw Par Villa. Parts of it are a morality play from a Chinese perspective. There are some graphic scenes, however, that would not be to everyone's taste. Other parts are garden-like settings rather attractively laid out, while a few of the statues are a bit kitschy. There are signs explaining much of what you are seeing, but not everything. Admission was free in February 2013, when I was there, and it was virtually deserted--an attractive combination. There is a subway stop of the same name just steps from the entrance to Haw Par Villa, so it could hardly be more convenient to get to.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Haw Par Villa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

An amazing work of Chinese art in Singapore. Well preserved and maintained its a wonderful place to visit, walk around and read the details associated with the statues. The Ten Courts of Hell is a must visit.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haw Par Villa also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Haw Par Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haw Par Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.