We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What they say is true” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Haw Par Villa

Haw Par Villa
262 Pasir Panjang Rd, Singapore 118628, Singapore
(65) 774 0300
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Haw Par Villa like an insider
Private Tour
$177*
and up
Private Tour: Singapore Round-Island Tour with...
Ranked #85 of 564 things to do in Singapore
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Haw Par Villa is like no other place in the world, with over 1,000 statues and 150 dioramas that dramatise Chinese legends and folklore.
Langtoft, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“What they say is true”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The description of this place it says "It's like no other villa in the world" and that is so so true. It's hard to put into words as you look from display to display reminded of those plaster figure heads you saw at seaside fairs in the 70s. It is so weird it actually becomes good and some of the descriptions in the 10 courts of hell left you stunned in a weird sort of way. For example the crimes of Ungratefulness, disrespect to elders & escaping from prison all carried the same penalty of having Heart cut out which seems a little harsh. On the plus side however, the next time I want a seat on the bus I will have a little secret smile if the 'youngsters' don't leap to their feet in a respectful sort of way as I know what is coming to them. I think this place will forever stand as a monument why hallucinogenic substances and architectural design should never be mixed!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    122
    77
    14
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Gift to City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

It was interesting for what a couple of businessmen had done to give back to the city. The Ten Courts of Hell were unusual.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very bizarre - but I kind of liked it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Take the kids through the 10 Courts of Hell cave so they know what awaits them in the afterlife if they are naughty!

You learn a lot about Chinese culture and values from this weird place. It's completely rundown and has a fascinating history - infamous Tiger Balm, WWII, grand houses, mystery and intrigue. I couldn't tear myself away from all the strange characters and fables.

Definitely off the tourist route, but that's why we loved it. It had a bit of a spooky vibe, especially since virtually no one was there apart from us and the caretaker.

Friends tell me that Singaporeans used to meet their boyfriends and girlfriends there in the 50's - 80's, safe from the prying eyes of parents. I wouldn't want to snog in this place. I've seen what happens to lustful people in the 10 Courts of Hell. Not a good outcome!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Not just an ordinary Villa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

It gives very unique experience to a tourist. Lots of works and efforts were made to produce so many different characters in the Villa.The experience to Hell was impressive,not possible to erase from our mind after the visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A walk down memory lane”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Those born in the sixties most likely will remember this place, glad that it's still around today. Visited it recently with some relatives from Malaysia and they liked it, though some of the exhibits are in need of repair. Some directional and exhibit signage are no longer legible but overall the park is still very much 'alive', having stood the test of time. Don't know the future plan for this park or when I'll visit this place again but it sure does revived some good old memories. (There is a $5 per entry parking fee if you park near the entrance or inside the park).

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haw Par Villa also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Haw Par Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haw Par Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.