We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buddha Tooth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Changi Chapel and Museum

Changi Chapel and Museum
1000 Upper Changi Rd N, Singapore 507707, Singapore
65 6214 2451
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #16 of 335 attractions in Singapore
Type: Specialty Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This museum honors POWs who endured the Japanese occupation of Singapore in World War II. Their stories are told with an impressive collection of personal artifacts and news coverage. A British internee returned to the museum decades after the war to recreate the murals he’d painted on the walls of the original chapel – a moving insight into how those held prisoner found hope and comfort in any way possible.
Lancashire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Buddha Tooth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Gave a great insight into this culture. Atmospheric and interesting - well worth a visit. All part of the China Town experience and accesible from all areas.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    385
    221
    41
    13
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Witney, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“We Should Remember Them......................”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

In amongst the wealth, youth and frenetic activity that is modern-day Singapore its easy to forget the horrors that were visited on Singapore and its people during WW2. The Changi Chapel & Museum should be on every visitors programme, not only to understand the terrible times had by the allies but also the atrocities meted out to thousands of locals........ Fans of the BBC's 'Tenko' programme will also be moved by this place, my partner was astonished when working out the the link!
Not too difficult to get too from Singapore city - MRT to Tanah Merah then Bus No.2 to the museum, the stop is opposite the museum after the modern day Woman's Prison - we found the Chinese bus driver and the various passengers more than happy to help us!
Its free to enter but we suggest the audio guide for a small fee. The little shop with helpful staff is well worth a visit afterwards, but if you want bottled water buy it from the shop not the outdoor restaurant - nearly double the price there!
Would recommend a visit here to anyone, perhaps tying it in with the Kranji Cemetary and Ford Factory for the full story

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Its a long way from town for very little”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I found the location a little inexessible for something like this, and when i arrived I found very very little. Its wortha trip, but if you are on limited time I'd recommend going to fort cannington

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“pause for thought”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

moments in history, like this need remembered.
Easy to get there, take the MRT to Tanah Merah, then get bus, No 2, at the stop on the opposite side of the road. The museum is the stop after the 'real prison'. When we went, we were the only tourists on the bus, and the driver called to us, when it was time to alight.
A nice half day can be spent walking, with audio commentary (small charge) thru the museum. There is also a cafe adjoining, good food, that the locals utilise. Well worth the effort.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Changi chapel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is as sacred to Aussies as Gallipoli. It has moved since I first visited and has been done up well. The history and sense of despair and hope is overwhelming- a must for all Ausssies.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Changi Chapel and Museum also viewed

 

Been to Changi Chapel and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Changi Chapel and Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Changi Chapel and Museum to your Saves list