We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Different Place altogether in Singapore"” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Little India

Little India
Serangoon Road, Singapore, Singapore
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$47*
and up
Private Tour: Singapore City Half-Day Tour
Ranked #89 of 279 Attractions in Singapore
Type: Neighborhoods, Cultural
Activities: Dining, Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: An experience for all five senses. Start at the Tekka Centre, a traditional wet market and food court where fresh meat, seafood, vegetables, fruits and dry goods are sold. Cruise down Serangoon Road to find more groceries, restaurants, teahouses, tailors and Mustafa Centre, a massive department store selling anything and everything. Visit during Deepavali, the Hindu festival of light, held in October or November.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“"Different Place altogether in Singapore"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

If you are traveller from India and missing India & Indian food, Little India is the solution. I also puposely choose to stay closer to Little India to have access to Indian food(while Indian food in Singapore are availavle everywhere).
The place is little crowded & streets & the way it is designed makes you remember home. It has lot of shops to shop & lot many restaurants (Indian & other countries too) to try variety of cuisine.
Mustafa Centre is also there which is like one stop shop for almost everything. In terms of Indian restaurant few names which I remember are Sarvanaa Bhavan, Murugan Idli, Ananda etc.
What I liked was that it had lot of places to shop & have variety of Indian food.
What I liked least was the way the area has been architected. It is unlike the rest of the city.
One needs to plan for atleast 1/2 a day.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    505
    279
    87
    42
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good fun. Do you like henna?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Definitely a place to visit, I liked it better than Chinatown. Food, markets, etc. and, another easy train ride.
The highlight of my visit was probably popping up into one of the salons. My friend and I both got henna "tattoos" for fun. I'd had them in African countries but never the Indian designs, etc. I paid $35 for both hands and a design on my back and got to spend an interesting afternoon with a woman who moved over from India to get married (arranged marriage, all fascinating!). It was raining so we stayed and got hot oil scalp massages. My only issue was that they were t familiar with my hair type and one of eye ladies got a brush stuck in my hair. We worked it out, though, and it was worth the experience!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Find the subcontinent in Singapore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

For those who think Singapore is too sanitized - COME HERE. Smell, see and taste India with all its ups and downs! Miles of small shops selling saris, Hindu kitsch and other bizarre souvenirs. The amazing Mustafa Department Store must be seen with piles of all known brands and styles but featuring many things you wont want. There are some good curry restaurants in between the dodgy ones. Little Hindu temples are worth a visit. Fit out your partner in a full Indian outfit with total over the top jewellery for very little - just what you need for that Bollywood party back home!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Avoid at all costs on a Sunday evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Just manic but the temples are beautiful, the energy is crazy and you will not believe you are actually in Singapore. Mustafa is a must stop.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Flavours of iIndia!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The fragrant smell of spices hits you the second you arrive at Little India, and it gets even better

Whether visiting the for the food or the culture, you won't be disappointed!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little India also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Little India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little India, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.