We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smells bad” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Woke Home Capsule Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Woke Home Capsule Hostel to your Saves list
Woke Home Capsule Hostel
61 South Bridge Road #06-01, Singapore 058691, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 189 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Smells bad”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

After looking through the review on tripadvisor i made the booking.
Thankfully I stayed there only 1 night. The rooms smelt so bad I stayed at the reception area as long as I possibly could. Rooms were bare minimal, which is what I expect for but the smell is revolting.

the first room has no window at all - NO VENTILATION and the stink lingers.
The smell was nothing like what i have come across. Mind you I have stayed in backpackers in 15 different countries but none of them were this bad.

Still have nightmares and No, it wasn't the smell of durian.

Note: When you look through review be sure to look at worst reviews first, that way you can always be sure the worst you can expect.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    54
    24
    3
    2
See reviews for
5
12
53
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The cubicles are very comfy and a lot more spacious than i had expected. The 24/7 available breakfast comes in quite handy and is just fine. I advice you to take a top bed in stead of a bottom one. You might have to climb up every time but its better than waking up every time the person above you is climbing up. The destination is good. Very close to mrt, clarke quay (the restaurant/bar area) and close to the temples and streets of china town. All within walking distance.

Don't think about sleeping in. The cleaning lady will come and start LOUD mopping (I have never heard anyone mop loud but this was crazy!) and hitting her cart against the lockers etc, making a LOT of noise in the rooms. Then she proceeded to wake us up because she wanted our blankets. I told her we were not due to check out until 12 and check in time is 2 pm so you will have 2 hours to wash the blankets then and we still would have until 12 to enjoy the comfort of our blankets. But she insisted on having to take it at 930 am and just left us awake and cold.

Room Tip: Get a top room so u don't wake up every time someone climbs into their bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

This hostel has so much potential if managed properly. The bathrooms cleanliness needs a lot of work. The shower heads are broken, still useable, but probably not for long. Even after I informed the staff at the front desk, there was nothing done to them. The first night I got there, the air condition was broken in the dorm. Imagine 20ish bunk beds with no windows, and no air conditioner, just one fan. Yeah, bad air and hot. It was fixed the next day, so thank goodness for it. The tv in each pod never worked, and it seemed that it hadnot been working for quite sometime. The tv by the reception area is internet tv, so no real channels. I know you don't go to Singapore to watch tv, but while eating or just sit around, it's nice to have. If they fix the showers and keep the cleanliness of the bathrooms and toilet stalls better, I would return since it has a perfect location and elevator. Otherwise, I'd rather stay at different hostel where I don't have to clean thr toilet everytime I need to use it.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

It is easy to find the place,staff is nice,although i'm alone here but never feel uncomfortable!!Provided facilities quite ok and clean, safe too.Overall its price is really worth it! :) i would come here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I stayed there for one night when I transferred my flight in Singapore.
I had a nice experience staying there.

The location is very near Clarke Quay and City Hall MRT,so it is very convince to go anywhere and buy anything.

I felt satisfied the receptionist were friendly , the bed were quite clean,and free service (free wifi.toast.milk etc.)
Inside the capsule was a mini LCD TV, a power point, some headphones and a small electric fan as well as the bedding.Besides that I were glad to get my own locker to put my luggage.

Even thought it's similar to backpackers but you can still have your private place .
I think I were so lucky for having quiet roommates, so I had a nice sleep.
In brief,I felt comfortable and satisfied when I were staying there.

However the TV didn't work and the lamp in my bed were out of fix .
Although that, I thought it doesn't matter because besides that anything is fine.

I give a suggestion to the single female .If you will stay there,please be carefully at night,because of there is a pub next to it.

Overall if i go to sigapore in the future, I would definitely stay again

這裡靠近捷運站和公車站,交通運輸及購物都很方便!
櫃檯人員很友善、提供免費的吐司及牛奶,房間衛生也都算乾淨。
床位有提供個人電視、插座、小檯燈及小電扇,還有提供個人可鎖的置物櫃。
雖然是背包客棧但感覺仍擁有私人空間,我很幸運入住當天有相當安靜的室友,
所以擁有不錯的睡眠品質。
然而我床位的電視及電燈那天是無法使用,但整體而言仍是很滿意!
旅店旁邊有一家pub,所以單身的女性回去旅店時需要留意一下。
如果未來去新加坡,我還是會選擇入住那裡!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

On my SG trip last month, i decided to stay in this capsule hotel. Read some good/bad reviews, anyhow for those on the run I would recommend this place if your not fussy. The capsule itself is clean since this is just newly built hostel. Not that smelly, except that air ventilation (installed inside capsule room is not that working properly and also the tv which isn't working too). Wifi is only at the reception area. I was expecting that there's a good wifi up into the room... But none. Overall, i have enjoyed my stay here, since I'm out most of the day and your personal belongings are safe coz they give you locker keys. So i recommend this place!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
298 helpful votes 298 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Located in between the famous Clarke Quay and the beautiful China Town (both places are walking distance from this hostel) this hostel lied right behind a bus stop and just next to a 24 hour Seven Eleven. This hostel have a nice location, inexpensive bed rate, an ok bed, warm service, 24 hour breakfast and the people who stay there usually are nice that you might end up having some new friends.

If you asked me what will be my best memory while stayed there, it'll be the Milo on bread breakfast and a small cup of OWL 3in1 instant coffee. I love it.

btw have i mention the free wi-fi? nice

cons:
the toilets are to small and sometimes not well maintained. The best time to use it will be right after the cleaning service doing their job.

Room Tip: ask the bellow bed and make sure you're fan and other thing inside are in good condition or ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Woke Home Capsule Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woke Home Capsule Hostel

Address: 61 South Bridge Road #06-01, Singapore 058691, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 189 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the bustling Central Business District, WOKEHOME HOSTEL prides itself as being the first with a capsule theme in Singapore. With 84 capsules at hand we offer each guest their individual privacy. Each capsule comes decked with: -comfortable mattress -foldable table -15 inch TV -a mini lamp [for those who needs to read before bed time] -personal headphone -roll up shade/blinds -24hr Wi-Fi access Each floor is monitored by security cameras; your safety is our priority.A 10 min walking distance from City Hall MRT (EW13/NS25) or Clarke Quay MRT (NE5) you would be sure to find your way to our hostel. Tourist attractions are of walking distance e.g. Esplanade, Merlion Park, Marina Bay Sands, Singapore river and many more. Feel free to approach our friendly staff with your queries pertaining to all things Singapore. *Our Value added services: Free breakfast Free laundry services Luggage storage Personal headphones ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Woke Home Capsule Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woke Home Capsule Hostel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woke Home Capsule Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.