We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice with some extra privacy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Woke Home Capsule Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Woke Home Capsule Hostel to your Saves list
Woke Home Capsule Hostel
61 South Bridge Road #06-01, Singapore 058691, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice with some extra privacy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This was my first time staying in a capsule pod. Plenty of room inside the pod, enough to sit up without hitting your head. Four channels on the tv inside the pod with one in English. The fan pushed a tiny bit of air around but not much. Overall the temperature of the room was comfortable, and if you open your privacy shade up a bit on the bottom, more air gets into the pod. I did not have a laptop with me but they did have wifi throughout the place. I was in a bottom pod and overall it is pretty quiet, although i believe the person above me was pretty loud getting into his pod after midnight every night and even with earplugs, it woke me up. As long as you have relatively quiet people around you, and you wear earplugs, you should not be disturbed.

Breakfast was basic. As mentioned, toast, butter, jam, juice, corn flakes, coffee, tea are available, enough to at least start the day.

The bathroom was adequate, I happened to get into the shower each day between 6-7am and there is no problem that early, the later it gets the more busy it is for the 3 shower stalls. A hairdryer is provided there for your use. And the view is pretty cool at night from the bathroom with the high rise buildings of downtown and the Singapore Flyer in the distance.

I also used the washer/dryer with detergent provided. No problems.

Nice place close to the Clarke Quay MRT station and the bus is right outside of the building. No real complaints at $110 SGD for 4 nights. There is a $25 refundable deposit for the key to the locker and access to the 4th/5th floor.

Would definitely recommend for a cheap stay within Singapore.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    47
    19
    3
    2
See reviews for
5
11
47
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I am a fan of quirky hostels and the woke home is one of the coolest places I've ever stayed. The capsules are a decent size (I'm around 190cm and I fit), the air-con is cold and the location is great. On the downside the bathrooms were a wee bit small and the atmosphere lacking but I would still recommend a few days at the Woke Home.

Room Tip: The lower bunks are a bit more cosy and easier to get in to
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulu, Finland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I'd been wanting to try out a capsule hostel ever since visiting Japan in 2010, and finally in Singapore I had the chance. Woke Home Capsule Hostel rents capsules that, for a hostel, are quite private and enjoyable. They're basically small rooms large enough to sit and lay in, but not tall enough for standing. The entrance can be "closed" with a curtain of sorts.

The staff was adamant about only allowing me to my capsule at 2 pm when I arrived at 12 on the day when I checked in the first time, but on this second visit they allowed an earlier check-in. They were also kind enough to help me scan some documents I needed. There are two cleaners mopping the floors and changing bedsheets every day - I only wish they'd start their work a little later, as they often speak Chinese together loudly.

The capsule was very clean as are the public areas (depending on the current guests of course) which were mopped daily. Unfortunately opening and stuffing one's backpack inside the metallic lockers (which happens every evening and morning as guests come and go) is quite noisy and managed to wake me up every time. Also the heat was at times turned on too high, but maybe that's just the northerner accustomed to cold climates in me talking.

There are three floors total and only three showers per floor, which is not adequate as a floor may house about 50 guests (and without this oversight I'd give the hostel 5 stars). Having stayed here for several days now, I've often found the showers occupied and had to wait for my turn. There are also only three toilets per floor, but that never seemed to be a problem. The wifi in the hostel works well and they have washing machines for doing your own laundry free of charge, and even supply you with the detergent. It is only a small thing, but on the road such things matter. Oh, and breakfast (toast and cereal) is included in the price at any time of the day.

Woke Home is easy to miss from the outside so check the address (61 South Bridge Road) and navigate based on that - there is only a poster outside next to the glass door giving access to the elevator (the reception is on the 6th floor). I spent an hour searching for the place until a kind Singaporean man gave me the address and then it was easy to find. The location is very central - only 10-15 minutes walk away from City Hall MRT, but Clarke Quay MRT station is even closer.

All in all I've enjoyed my stay at Woke Home Capsule Hostel far more than common hostels in Singapore. It's clean and nice with a bit more privacy, and there are no cockroaches. The rest pretty much depends on your fellow guests!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Nice little hostel. As far as hostels go this was nice. Lockers, you get your own private sleep pod, complete with bamboo shutter at the end, and tv with headphones, light and socket. It was cosy.
Bathrooms were clean.
Staff helpful
Free drinks and toast a great touch
Good location.
Would definately stay again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford, england
Top Contributor
266 reviews 266 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

On my own and needed a bed for the night in central singapore and this fitted the bill. have never stayed in a hostel before and it turned out ok! had a capsule in a mixed dorm and shared with a few couples (capsule each) and singles. For 30$ sing or equiv to £15, thought it was good compared to the high prices hotels in the area charge. Only downside were a couple coming in late and talking to each other noisily, whereas everyone else respected the space and whispered. My trusty ear plugs worked well and i went back to sleep til 7am!

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I decided to book this hostel for 3 night stay after reading review from tripadvisor. The hostel capsule able to provide sufficient privacy with individual roller blind and also individual tv with headphone. Please be prepared 25SG for the hostel deposit even I had made full payment online. Regarding the reception staff, overall is ok but I found one particular guy wear glasses which is more helpfull and friendly for assistance (One of the guess lost her wallet at the internet PC station and he tried to help by review back the CCTV in attempt to look for any clue who took the wallet). I had no waiting problem with the toilet and bathroom usage but I would suggest the hostel owner to install an exhaust fan at the bathroom as it may get pretty hot and stuffy after high usage. The wifi is provided free but you may also use their provided 2 PC for internet access. Another plus point is that the kitchen provide 24hrs breakfast and also free self service laundry. Overall, I would say great for solo traveler and i will stay at Woke Hostel again if I travel solo to Singapore again.

Room Tip: Try to ask for lower deck and avoid the door entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Decided to give capsules a whirl, am a bit past the dorm room thing these days, but only because of the complete lack of privacy, dont mind sharing bathrooms etc. Paid $20 SGD for the night through booking.com, which includes an all day breakfast of cornflakes toast and condiments, coffee and cordial, plus free wifi throughout the building and washing mashines with powder. There were 3 capsule dorms on my floor which each had about 18 capsules, and one bathroom with 3 showers, 3 basins and 3 toilets. Didn't feel crowded as everyone is on a different clock, and the showers are fantastic!

The capsules themselves had plenty of room, I could lie my backpack in there next to the mattress (it's a bit of a beast so it didn't fit in the locker provided) plus your own tv, a fold down little table top for laptop etc, a lamp, a mirror and a power point. Comfy mattress and pillow, nice clean sheet and poillowcase provided and a little blanket. There is a cane roll down blind at the end so you can seal yourself in, nice and private, really great to have your own little space that no-one can see into.

The building itself does not make a good first impression, nor does reception as it's in need of a bit of re-furb, but you get over that pretty quickly. Its based over several levels on South Bridge Road - which is a fantastic location to walk everywhere including Clarke and Boat Quay, Chinatown and to just hop on the MRT - and the floors with the capsule dorms can only be accessed with an electronic card, so pretty secure from non-guests.

Would definitely stay again :-)

Room Tip: Ask for a capsule which is at the end - away from the door to the room - and not facing another caps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Woke Home Capsule Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woke Home Capsule Hostel

Address: 61 South Bridge Road #06-01, Singapore 058691, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the bustling Central Business District, WOKEHOME HOSTEL prides itself as being the first with a capsule theme in Singapore. With 84 capsules at hand we offer each guest their individual privacy. Each capsule comes decked with: -comfortable mattress -foldable table -15 inch TV -a mini lamp [for those who needs to read before bed time] -personal headphone -roll up shade/blinds -24hr Wi-Fi access Each floor is monitored by security cameras; your safety is our priority.A 10 min walking distance from City Hall MRT (EW13/NS25) or Clarke Quay MRT (NE5) you would be sure to find your way to our hostel. Tourist attractions are of walking distance e.g. Esplanade, Merlion Park, Marina Bay Sands, Singapore river and many more. Feel free to approach our friendly staff with your queries pertaining to all things Singapore. *Our Value added services: Free breakfast Free laundry services Luggage storage Personal headphones ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Woke Home Capsule Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woke Home Capsule Hostel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woke Home Capsule Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.