We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Singapore stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Somerset Liang Court Singapore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Somerset Liang Court Singapore to your Saves list
Somerset Liang Court Singapore
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No 177B, River Valley Road, Singapore 179032, Singapore (Singapore River)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Chennai (Madras), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My Singapore stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed here for nearly a year .Service apartment at Clarke Quay given by my company with all amenities, with the Singapore River gushing below.I was on 21st floor and the view was very good with the backdrop of Fort Canning forest.Enjoyed my stay here like nowhere else.Would go for walks nearby forest with family with the greenery and chirping birds make you think whether we are really in Singapore,the busiest city in Asia?The queen sized bed and the big rooms(2),the dining hall,kitchen are elegantly kept with fridge and washing machines.Breakfast was very good,the swimming pool uncrowded.Overall a very good experience for me.Nearby Clarke key was very advantageous for boating,shopping,watching cultural shows on Friday evenings ,the delightful ice cream at the Turkish restaurant nearby,the belly-dance on friday evening,etc.Wish I could get another stay lie this here.

Room Tip: Single rooms are not available for most of the time as the companies take long leases.Choose one ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mae N, Manager at Somerset Liang Court Singapore, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear ArifaBegum,

Thank you very much for posting your review about your positive stay experience at Somerset Liang Court.

We are extremely happy to know that you are comfortable staying with us at Somerset throughout your posting in Singapore. Indeed, our excellent location in Clarke Quay area yields easy access to both the CBD, neighbouring parks and nightlife which is extremely convenient for our residents who are here in Singapore on extended assignments.

At Somerset Liang Court, it is our greatest pleasure to know that we have been successful in creating a "home away from home" for our residents and guests. Thank you very much once again for your kind words of encouragement.

Best regards
Mae Ng
Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    114
    19
    10
    5
See reviews for
160
11
2
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Had a 2 bedroom apartment for our family of 6 and there was more than enough room. Hired an extra bed for $50 a night (which i found a little costly) and was provided with a cot for our baby complementary. There was a large kitchen which included a washing machine and a decent sized lounge room. Our room was very clean and well maintained. Room included wifi and breakfast which we found more that adequate for our family. Cereals, breads, yogurt and fruits with 2 hot dishes, plus tea(s) and coffee. Our kids enjoyed the pool which was probably about 25 m long (good for laps). We found the location was fantastic too, 24 hr McDonald's in the shopping centre below (not that we used it), a subway, a 7/11 convenience store as well as a large supermarket on the lower level for anything you could need including a pharmacy. Easy walking distance to taxi and bus stands. Clarke quay is next door which seemed to be great at night for dining options and bars and clubs etc (not much open during the day), the MRT was about 5 mins walk and Chinatown about 10 mins walk. Would highly recommend these apartments to anyone travelling with their family, although it also seemed to be a very popular place for business people to stay. Be aware before organising any travel dates that the Minimum length of stay is 7 nights.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mae N, Manager at Somerset Liang Court Singapore, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear KbKylie,

Thank you for taking the time to review us at Tripadvisor.

I am heartened to know that you and your family had enjoyed your time here at Somerset Liang Court and that we had been great hosts to you and your family. Due to our excellent location, Somerset Liang Court is very well-received by many business travellers and families alike.

It is truly our pleasure to have been able to create a wonderful and memorable experience for you and your family during your vacation in Singapore. Thank you very much for your kind feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back again to Somerset Liang Court.

Warmest regards
Mae Ng
Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Prior to kids we were backpackers so not really experienced in the more 'civilised' accomodation types. This was our first time overseas 'post' kids and a big deal since my husband had become insulin dependant. I relied heavily on this website before deciding to book and was not disappointed. All the comments about poor breakfasts were unfounded.. obviously management had taken feedback onboard. We were more than happy with the food provided and the service by all the staff was fantastic. Everyone bent over backwards for the few requests that we made and the 2pm checkout made life so much easier as we had a late flight. We found the rooms to be very nice, the beds were delightfully comfortable and having hte washing mahine was most convient. The pool area was very suitable for the kids and we had no complaints about the place at all.had a wonderfultime in Singapore and think that the location of these apartments was ideal. Do not miss a walk through Fort Cannning Park across the road.. the hill may seem daunting but is definately worth the stair climb. The fact that the hotel was located above the Liang Cort shopping complex was hugely convenient. The apartments and the location really made our trip a pleasure. Thanks to all at the Liang Court for such a great time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mae N, Manager at Somerset Liang Court Singapore, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Alison M,

Thank you very much for sharing your lovely experience with us over Tripadvisor.

We are extremely encouraged by your kind comments about our breakfast improvements, warm service, and central location.

Thank you once again for your kind words and your recommendations. We will continue to seek improvements to further delight our residents and guests. On behalf of my team, we are looking forward to the chance to welcome you back to stay with us at Somerset Liang Court, hopefully very soon.

Warmest regards
Mae Ng
Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proserpine
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We have just returned after spending nine nights at the Somerset Liang Court (2 adults and two children aged 10 - 8). We booked a 2 bedroom apartment and found that it contained everything we could possibly want for our stay, it also had a fantastic view of the city skyline in particular the Marina Bay Sands building and we could watch the nightly laser light show from the apartment. The master bedroom had an lcd tv, king size bed and full ensuite. The second bedroom had two single beds. Large lounge room area with a four seat dining table and a further study desk. We were on the 8th floor near the dining room, however the rooms were quite and we were not disturbed by other guests going to the dining area. Also on this floor is access to the outdoor pool, which was large and provided a nice view of the city. The location of the apartments are excellent with taxi and bus ranks right outside and a short walk to the Clarke Quay MRT station (under five minutes). Breakfast was included and was a continental buffet style with a couple of hot dishes which were changed every day to add variety. The staff were very helpful and attended to any requests promptly and the apartment was serviced daily (except Sundays). There is a gym on the 25th floor that also had two hot tubs and a sauna and is for the use of all residents. We had a late flight out and the staff were happy to give us a late checkout until 2pm, however we were not going to the airport until 5pm so the staff suggested we return to the hotel before catching the taxi and we could use the facilities in the gym to freshen up before going to the airport.

While we were there Singapore experienced the highest smog rating in its history due to fires from Sumatra. The hotel provided up to date government issued health advisories and provided face masks complementary to all guests who requested them. Wifi internet is free throughout the whole complex and was of a very good standard, this included the pool area as well.

The apartment is adjoined to the Liang Court shopping complex which has a supermarket and three levels of shopping as well as two very good food courts.

Across the road is Fort Canning Park, and the other side of the complex is the river and the Clarke Quay nightlife area. We all felt very safe no matter what time of day or night we were out walking.

The apartment is in easy walking distance to China Town, Orchid Road, and the Merlion. I would definitely recommend this apartment to other families heading to SIngapore.

Room Tip: We found the 8th floor was handy to give access to the dining room and the outdoor pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mae N, Manager at Somerset Liang Court Singapore, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear TraciBProserpine,

Thank you very much for this remarkable review of Somerset Liang Court.

We are very happy to know that you and your family had a delightful time during your stay with us. The haze was definitely an unpleasant time for everyone and I am glad that we were able to create a positive experience despite of it.

The safety and security of all our residents and guests are of utmost importance to us at Somerset Liang Court. Thus, during the haze period we had put in certain measures to ensure that all our guests were well taken care of.

Thank you once again for your kind words. We are certainly looking forward to welcome you and your family back to Somerset Liang Court again very soon.

Warmest regards
Mae Ng
Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The serviced apartments are a great choice for a family trip. Spacious and conveniently located on the City Sightseeing Tours stop the hotel is also located right on Clark Quay (amazing night life and restaurants) and next door to a few local grocers and chain restaurants in a mall. Great views of the Marina Bay Sands at night and walking distance to Raffles, Chinatown and a few local pubs and bars. Cab distance to the tours pickup, Orchard Road and Marina Bay Sands. Definitely worth staying here.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mae N, Manager at Somerset Liang Court Singapore, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear SoloTraveller83,

Thank you for your review over Tripadvisor.

We are very happy to know that you had enjoyed Somerset Liang Court's excellent location and convenient access to nearby restaurants. Your comments and appreciation is extremely valuable to us and spurs us further as we continue to strive towards providing excellent service and a great stay experience for all our guests.

Thank you for your kind compliments once again and we are looking forward to your next stay with us.

Best regards
Mae
Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I stayed at Liang court Somerset last year with 3 kids and have a great experience of the apartments. Although the breakfast menu was a drawback but the kitchen was well equipped to compensate so I won't complain. It was so homely and nice, I loved it. I think I would ignore the tiny negative things which were far less. The construction site noise didn't disturb us coz we used to come back very tired. I would surely suggest people with kids to go for it.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mae N, Manager at Somerset Liang Court Singapore, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear nazishgaf,

Thank you for your review over Tripadvisor.

It is great to know that you carry fond memories of your stay with us. We sincerely look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Somerset Liang Court Singapore, hopefully very soon.

Warmest regards
Mae Ng
Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed here for 9 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment. The location of the hotel suited us well as around the corner was a taxi rank, a food court was next door and behind the hotel on the river were river taxi's. On the other side of the river was central Mall for more food and shopping. The unit we had was located on the 8th floor which is where the breakfast room and the pool are. We found that by having breakfast early was no problems as the later morning there could be a lot more people which made the food area cramped as it was a small area (nearer to 9am). The breakfast I would call continental with a couple of hot things added which was enough for me and my family. There were always staff monitoring the amount of food so I would say it has improved going by the other reviews. The pool was great nice and big and deep.The staff were great and helped out when needed and the housekeeping were great as well ( very clean). Didn't have any issues with building works next door but our room was on the other side of the building. Would I stay here again Yes and would choose the same room or floor

Room Tip: If you have a young family that likes swimming and getting up early for breakfast 8th floor is best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mae N, Manager at Somerset Liang Court Singapore, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Aaron C,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review on your recent stay at Somerset Liang Court.

We are very heartened to know that we had given you a great experience in Singapore. Your compliments inspire us to do better and continually improve on our level of service.

Thank you once again for your valued patronage and we eagerly look forward to your return stay with us again soon.

Warmest regards,
Mae Ng
Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Somerset Liang Court Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Liang Court Singapore

Address: No 177B, River Valley Road, Singapore 179032, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Singapore River
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Singapore
#48 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#82 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Liang Court Singapore 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the convenience and the trendy buzz of riverfront living. Somerset Liang Court is near many historic sites and scenic locations from Fort Canning Park to Boat Quay. Just minutes from the Singapore River, the residence is surrounded by unique and diverse riverside attractions. It is located above a shopping mall and just next to the gastronomic Clarke Quay restaurant and entertainment hub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Somerset Liang Court Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Liang Court Hotel Singapore
Somerset Liang Court Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Somerset Liang Court Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.