We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Somerset Liang Court Singapore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Somerset Liang Court Singapore to your Saves list
Somerset Liang Court Singapore
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No 177B, River Valley Road, Singapore 179032, Singapore (Singapore River)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Location and Clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed here for 9 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment. The location of the hotel suited us well as around the corner was a taxi rank, a food court was next door and behind the hotel on the river were river taxi's. On the other side of the river was central Mall for more food and shopping. The unit we had was located on the 8th floor which is where the breakfast room and the pool are. We found that by having breakfast early was no problems as the later morning there could be a lot more people which made the food area cramped as it was a small area (nearer to 9am). The breakfast I would call continental with a couple of hot things added which was enough for me and my family. There were always staff monitoring the amount of food so I would say it has improved going by the other reviews. The pool was great nice and big and deep.The staff were great and helped out when needed and the housekeeping were great as well ( very clean). Didn't have any issues with building works next door but our room was on the other side of the building. Would I stay here again Yes and would choose the same room or floor

Room Tip: If you have a young family that likes swimming and getting up early for breakfast 8th floor is best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mae N, Manager at Somerset Liang Court Singapore, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Aaron C,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review on your recent stay at Somerset Liang Court.

We are very heartened to know that we had given you a great experience in Singapore. Your compliments inspire us to do better and continually improve on our level of service.

Thank you once again for your valued patronage and we eagerly look forward to your return stay with us again soon.

Warmest regards,
Mae Ng
Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    114
    19
    9
    5
See reviews for
160
11
2
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
south tyneside
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This review is part of a series covering our travels in Kuala Lumpur (6 nights), Singapore (5 nights) and Penang (7 nights) between May 10th and May 28th 2013 to celebrate our daughter’s birthday. Our party comprised of my wife, daughter (30) and her partner (36). My wife and I have previously visited these areas, my daughter and her partner had not.

Train Travel from Kuala Lumpur to Singapore.
Having decided that we should see more of the Malaysian environment we opted to travel from Kuala Lumpur to our next destination, Singapore by train.
The trains are operated by KTM http://www.ktmb.com.my/ and we found the following site very good http://www.seat61.com/. Please read it before booking.
I had some difficulty in booking online from the UK and opted to email the KTM reservations. A simple process requiring you to nominate the train, class of travel and the passenger details. You do have to include the passport number of the travellers. Allow a couple of days for a reply. In our case we chose first class seats on the train departing at 9am – unfortunately there was no availability. We were offered seats on the train departing at 2.06pm which we reserved and later collected from KL Sentral railway station. The first class fare is 60 MYR one way – and there is a 50% discount for seniors – it’s a steal!
The journey was trouble free, apart from the train being 45 minutes late. The first class carriage was air conditioned. The seats were old and worn but comfortable. There is a carriage were food and drink can be purchased.
It took about 6 hours to reach Woodlands Station in Singapore with customs formalities at the last station in Malaysia before crossing the bridge to Singapore.
We travelled from Woodlands to our accommodation at Clarke Quay by taxi due to the fact that we had 4 large suitcases. This is a problem in itself and finding a taxi with a large luggage capacity did take a little while bearing in mind it was after 10pm and raining heavily. The fare was 24/25 SD.

Somerset Liang Court Apartments 15th May to 20th May 2013
Having stayed at these apartments 3 years ago and been very impressed with the standard, the apartments were our first choice for this visit.
We were allocated a two bed roomed apartment on the 13th floor. The standard of the accommodation is first class and the location next to Clark Quay is convenient for all the normal tourist activities.
The Clark Quay MRT station is about five minutes walk from the apartments. The MRT is an excellent, clean and efficient system of travel around the city and we used it extensively during our 5 day stay.
We normally use the Hop on Hop off Buses when visiting cities to get an over view of the place and mark out places we wish to visit. The Hop on bus stop is about 300 /400 yards away from the apartments – right out of the apartments, right again onto River valley Road. The bus stop is on the right.
We found the staff at Somerset friendly, helpful and courteous. The management arranged a complimentary Birthday cake for my daughters’ partner which was very much appreciated.
Breakfast was included in our package and is taken in the restaurant on floor 8. It is a simple breakfast buffet but more than adequate to set you up for the day.
Unfortunately the swimming pool was closed during our visit. There are major construction works underway next to the apartments but they caused little disturbance to us.
Again, I’m happy to recommend the Somerset Liang Court to those looking for more space than that offered by the normal hotel room.
Singapore is a wonderful city in which to spend a few days vacation. Clark Quay is a centre for restaurants, bars and nightlife. It’s not a cheap place – we paid 17 S/dollars (£9) for a beer, but then again Singapore is not a cheap city to visit.
Ho on Hop off bus – we bought a 2 day ticket which included a boat cruise around the harbour. The boats are based at Clark Quay and we took the cruise at sunset which gave magnificent views of the harbour and buildings.
Raffles Long Bar is a must for the first time visitor. The obligatory Singapore Sling is, like all alcoholic drinks – overpriced. The peanuts provided (the shell are traditionally thrown on the floor) must date from the opening of the hotel.
The Swiss Hotel – next to Raffles is worth a visit for the bar on the 70th floor for the views of the city.
Sentosa Island – is accessed via Vivo City Mall (MTR to Harbour Front). The entry is 4 S/Dollars and the monorail has three stops on the island. There is a walkway over if that is your choice. We spent the day visiting the various attractions, Beaches, Merlion and the cable car. All in all a pleasant break from the city.
Universal Studios – although not on the scale of the parks in the USA there are plenty of rides etc to fill the day. We had a good time and got soaked on the water ride so be prepared! A good family day out!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mae N, Manager at Somerset Liang Court Singapore, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear colinandkathdudley,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and the useful tips about Singapore and Malaysia.

We are so happy to know that we had made a positive impact on your stay in Somerset Liang Court, Singapore during your two-week travel holiday.

Thank you once again for your kind compliments and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Somerset Liang Court soon.

Warmest regards
Mae Ng
Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

If you want to be in centre of Singapore's Party Hub, Somerset Liang Court is your best & most economical option. Dont be fooled by the depressing brown colour of the building, the insides are nothing like it. We stayed in a 2 BHK apartment, which was very well lit, spacious, newly renovated & in true sense a home away from home. The best part about Liang Court is that it is in Singapore's Night Life Central, 'Clarke Quay'. With an array of restaurants & pubs to choose from in the vicinity, for people like us who enjoy the city's nightlife, Liang Court was the ideal option. What disappointed us about the hotel though was the breakfast spread which was restricted & repetitive. After 3 days of having the same food, we finally got fed up & had our breakfast at a nearby McDonalds even though it was included in our package. Liang Court is well connected to all modes of public transport which makes it much easier for tourists like us to travel. If can get a cab or bus infront of the hotel lobby or walk 5 min to the Clarke Quay MRT Station. Overall a big thumbs up to this property, great place to stay in Singapore.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mae N, Manager at Somerset Liang Court Singapore, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear zmandrekar,

Thank you for your comments on your stay at Somerset Liang Court in May. We are happy to know that you had enjoyed your stay with us. We also note that there is room for improvement in our breakfast offerings and we are trying our best to refresh the breakfast menus.

Once again, thank you for your positive feedback which will be shared with the team. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Warmest Regards
Mae
Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Hi.. We stayed here for 5 nights. The rooms are good with clean bathrooms. and adequately spacious.
The location was good with a mall underneath which had it all.
The biggest putoff for us was the breakfast.. Pretty sad as a spread too and even taste wise.
After first two days of having breakfast here we did not have anymore breakfast at the somerset.
Barring the breakfast the stay was good.. We even did some cooking in the apartment for the kids .

Room Tip: Choose a room which is away from the construction work going on in the adjacent premises, or else yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mae N, Manager at Somerset Liang Court Singapore, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Hitesh K,

Thank you very much for sharing your stay experience over Tripadvisor.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the breakfast not being up to your expectations. We are constantly introducing changes to the breakfast spread in order to create more variety for our guests and long stay tenants.

We are encouraged to know that you had enjoyed the spacious rooms and facilities at Somerset Liang Court. We do look forward to welcoming you back again.

Warmest regards
Mae
Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, CO
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

My family and I have now stayed at the Somerset Bencoolen and the Somerset Liang Court within weeks of each stay. Although we enjoyed our stay at Bencoolen, Liang Court by far is the nicer choice. At both properties we had a 2b/2b, yet our Liang Court apartment was more spacious and newer feeling. The rooms are larger, it has a washer/dryer ensuite, and there is an actual kitchen instead of the kitchen being part of the living space. Although the pool is not yet open, it looks beautiful and large, much larger than the rooftop Bencoolen pool. My children, however, had a great time at the Bencoolen pool.
The buffet breakfast has a few more choices than at Bencoolen, and the lounge is much larger and much more attractive.
Also, at Bencoolen there is major construction directly outside the hotel, making for a very noisy stay.
Both properties are a good option, but I recommend Liang Court.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mae N, Manager at Somerset Liang Court Singapore, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Lisa0418,

Thank you so much for your strong support to Ascott International residences in Singapore. We are very grateful for your review of Somerset Liang Court and Somerset Bencoolen.

We are delighted to learn that you had enjoyed your stay with us. Receiving such positive feedback from our guests motivates us to further improve our commitment to delivering good service. We are happy to inform you that our outdoor pool will be available on 29th May 2013 for the enjoyment of all guests and residents.

Thanks again for this wonderful review and we look forward to the pleasure to have you back with us again soon.

Warmest regards
Mae
Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We travelled to Singapore as part of a stopover in December 2012 and as we were travelling with 2 young children and staying for 3 nights, we decided serviced apartments were easier than a hotel. Plus the price for a 2 bedroom & 2 bathroom serviced apartment at Somerset with a pool was a brilliant deal! The apartments are modern, spacious with good views of the city and they provide nice little extras like dishwasher tablets, washing powder, so that you don't need to buy such things for a short stay. The kitchen is large with a proper stove top and oven for cooking meals as well as a washer/dryer in case you need to wash clothes. The location is good, about 10 mins to the closest MRT station, with a shopping centre right underneath hotel which is handy if you need food, nappies, drinks etc. Clarke Quay is a 5 minute walk and you have all cuisines from all over the world on offer as well as bars and clubs. You can also get river cruises from Clarke Quay and the night cruise is a great jet lag activity, if you are awake from your flight still! I read a number of reviews about the construction noise before I booked and as such booked a particular room away from the construction site of the MTA, Type A and room 07 on the Clarke Quay Side. However, it was our only mistake! We got no sleep for the first 2 nights, due to loud music coming from Clarke Quay. We think it was a noisy VW promo stand right in the middle of Clarke Quay blaring out ear numbing music til 3:30am in the morning which was not helpful with jetlag and young kids! It may have been a one off that week as I have not read other people experiencing the same issues?! We asked to move on our last night in order to get some sleep. The staff were most accomodating, bringing up a porter to move our luggage, up to another floor overlooking the construction site! Funnily, we had the best night sleep of the whole trip. The construction noise stopped at 10pm and we were told if it was too noisy, that we can call the reception & and they would put a call through and the construction site would stop. However, we didnt hear anything past 10pm. One negative about the hotel is the breakfast is terrible & you need to get there early to get anything decent to eat. You are better off picking up something on the run or buying cereals/bread at the supermarket and having it in your room. The location of the breakfast room is lovely though, in an airy atrium. The pool which is shared with another hotel, is great. A welcome relief from the heat. The staff were always helpful and even provided free vouchers for a beach club for kids at Sentosa they had been given as they knew we were travelling with children. I would definitely recommend Somerset Liang for anyone staying with children as the price is fantastic and the location is very central, service is great but be careful which room you pick!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mae N, Manager at Somerset Liang Court Singapore, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear hotelrmy,

Thank you so much for sharing such an encouraging review of your stay at Somerset Liang Court. We are glad to know that we had given you a pleasant experience. Your compliments on our good location, spacious rooms and friendly staff service are highly appreciated. At the same time, we do note that we did not meet your expectations in our breakfast standards and I apologize for the inconvenience caused.

As we strive to exceed all our guests' expectations, I am happy to inform you that we have since introduced more changes and variety into our daily breakfast spread.

Thanks again for this wonderful review and we look forward to the pleasure to have you back with us again soon.

Warmest regards
Mae
Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We (family of 3) stayed here for five days late April 2013, based on good reviews, location and flexible accommodation options. Our room (11th floor) was spacious and well decorated/appointed (a kitchen, 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, 2 large flat screen TVs) and reasonably clean. The double bed was extremely hard – which some may like while others won ‘t. TV had cable with good choices. Front desk staff were friendly and approachable and usually (but not always) knowledgeable and helpful.
The location was excellent (3 mins walk to Clarke Quay, 5 mins to the nearest MRT, 10 mins to Orchard Rd and 15 mins to Chinatown) and well-situated for exploring the main Singapore sights. The shopping centre next door includes a 7-11, Subway, Asian supermarket, pizza restaurant, jeweller and a very cheap food court. The stay was let down by 2 things: the quality of the continental breakfast (poor variety, unappetizing and cheap food - well below par for the price of the rooms) and the constant noise from the construction site next to the Hotel. At times, the hammering and drilling etc was so loud we couldn’t hear the TV (the sound proofing of the large windows was minimal). It went on day and night. Although we were told that after 10 pm loud activities such as drilling were forbidden, this didn’t stop the sound of metallic hammering or loud machinary noises waking us up at 2 am. I strongly recommend avoiding the north-west side of the hotel until the construction site next door has closed; this could be several years since the crew had only just started on the foundations! If you can’t chose a room away from the construction then chose another hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was on the western side overlooing the building site. However, the northern face also overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mae N, Manager at Somerset Liang Court Singapore, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Jkeelan,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor about your stay experience at Somerset Liang Court.

From your comments, I note that we did not fully meet your expectations in certain aspects of your stay for which I sincerely apologize. Please rest assured that corrective action will be taken immediately to ensure that our breakfast standards are maintained at all times. We are also working very closely with the relevant government authorities to minimize all inconveniences to our guests and residents to the best of our ability.

At the same time, we are encouraged to know that you had enjoyed the convenient location and friendly service at Somerset Liang Court.

Thank you very much for your valued patronage. From all of us at Somerset Liang Court, we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Mae
Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Somerset Liang Court Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Liang Court Singapore

Address: No 177B, River Valley Road, Singapore 179032, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Singapore River
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Singapore
#46 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#82 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Liang Court Singapore 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the convenience and the trendy buzz of riverfront living. Somerset Liang Court is near many historic sites and scenic locations from Fort Canning Park to Boat Quay. Just minutes from the Singapore River, the residence is surrounded by unique and diverse riverside attractions. It is located above a shopping mall and just next to the gastronomic Clarke Quay restaurant and entertainment hub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Somerset Liang Court Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Liang Court Hotel Singapore
Somerset Liang Court Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Somerset Liang Court Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.