We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dryer which doesn't dry, noisy surroundings, avoid all owned by Capitaland” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Somerset Orchard Singapore

Save Saved
You added Somerset Orchard Singapore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Somerset Orchard Singapore
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   160 Orchard Road | #06-01 OG Orchard Point (Entrance via Koek Road), Singapore 238842, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 183 Specialty lodging in Singapore
Kenny Hills, Malaysia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Dryer which doesn't dry, noisy surroundings, avoid all owned by Capitaland”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

If I could give zero points or stars, I would have.

While the location is good and the staff (all, from front desk to security to housekeeping and technicians) are very helpful, the 'owner' of Somerset Orchard, in this case, Capitaland, needs to seriously invest in upgrading in keeping up with the Singapore brand. Perhaps, Capitaland may not consider this seriously, given that many of the residents are from developing nations and may be grateful for what they get, but honestly, it is unfair to these residents and we deserve better.

Given that Somerset Orchard is in a heavy traffic area, the windows need to be double glazed. With heavy wear-and-tear as per any similar property, the bathrooms need to be completely renovated and the appliances need to be replaced.

The washer-dryer combo machine, according to two staff, "only dry the clothes up to 70% dry and you have to hang your clothes out". I understand that the majority of Singaporeans do not own a dryer in their houses so they do not know how a dryer actually works, but patronising me like that only make them appear ridiculous. Clothes that I have placed in dryers to dry usually turn out bone dry, ready to be worn.

So there we were, with two full loads or laundry that have turned out smelly and damp, just because the technician did not even tell us that the clothes would be ONLY 70% dry. We left them in the machine and went out in the morning, and we came home in the late afternoon to a machine full of wet/damp smelly clothes (from having been left in the machine for too long).

If you are not fussy, the breakfast is nothing to shout about, just ignore the baguette-pizza that was obviously bought from the nearest DeliFrance or 7-Eleven.

Room Tip: Choose another property not owned by Capitaland
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    43
    13
    19
    5
See reviews for
30
4
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom executive apartment which was bigger than normal 2 bedroom apartment. Initially they had not readied the apartment and we had to wait nearly 2 hours, which was not unpleasant as because of the location (orchard road) we walked around the shops and had lunch prior.

What pleasantly surprised us was the Assistant Manager giving our 3 kids gifts accompanied by a handwritten apology note for not having the apartment ready, which was wonderful.

The apartment was large, but needing renovation. The last time we stayed here was in 2009 and within the 3 years it was slighlty getting older. The only downside would be the lack of variety in the breakfast fare (complimentary) as well as the rooms for tables which gets a bit busy and full in the peak hour morning rush.

Otherwise a pleasant experience as usual.

Room Tip: If you are going for a 2 bedroom and require 2 beds in the second room, you will have to go for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

After reading many of the reviews here we were pleasantly surprised by the quality of our two-bedroom apartment. We emailed ahead and requested a quiet apartment higher up and they emailed right back to say that was OK. The two-bedroom apartment was spacious (esp by Asian standards), with two good-sized bathrooms, nice fluffy towels, and very clean. We didn't really cook but it was very handy to have a fridge and a microwave. We were very happy with the place because we thought of it as an apartment and not a four-star hotel room.

Room Tip: We requested a quiet room facing Koek Road and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stayed at the 2 bedroom apartment for 3 nights in November 2012. The apartment was old but with the price we paid for was cheap for a 2 bedroom. Location was good near to orchard central, centrepoint and 313 somerset.

The resident lounge, where the breakfast located, was very small. Limited food. The lift looks very old.

The service was top notch. Would stay here again if came with more than 3 people.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This was our second visit to Somerset Orchard. We were very happy at our first visit when we had been there before 3 years.
However, we were thoroughly let down this time.
The entire property looked poorly maintained and ill-cared for. Not what you commonly note for an Ascott residence.
It was not a 'serviced residence' to start with. There was no service. Our appt. on the 7th floor was cleaned by shabby housekeeper. The quality of cleaning was very very poor. Bedsheets not changed.
The bath tub was detached from the floor tiles. Hygiene of the bathrooms was also poor.
The kitchen platform was too small and there was hardly any space between the cooking hob and the washing sink.
The residents lounge as before is too small. Residents have to play 'musical chairs' to find a breakfast seat. You are greeted by an overworked lady who we feel like is the only responsible person for breakfast. She seems to be cooking, serving, refilling, washing and cleaning. Your conscience bites you to even ask for something from her.
This place. needs an urgent facelift and staff upgrade.

Room Tip: Not worth the expense
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The property is in good location but very old. The whole property needs renovation. I stayed in a Studio room, with one working air conditioner which is a little noisy and one not working. The room is in good size for two persons, but the bathroom is VERY small. The bathroom has an unpleasant damp smell, and dim lighting. The spring bedding and pillows can cause you terrible back and neck pain.

The room that I got is on the Orchard side so it is very noisy until late night. If you a light sleeper, you will have problem get yourself to sleep.

In room amenities, as this is a serviced apartment so not many amenities provided. There is only a soap/shampoo dispenser attached to the wall at the basin and the bath tub. And one body lotion tube.
There is one bathrobe, no slipper. Hair dryer, iron, and ironing board are provided.

Room rate is include breakfast and internet. The internet connection is free and easy. The breakfast has not much variety. Some fruits, pastry, milk, a juice. A coffee is made from the machine, but the test is so light.

I think the room charge is too expensive for the quality and the services provided. They charged for the whole stay at check-in. With the same price, I can stay at a 5-star hotel with a lot better service. Unfortunately, they wouldn’t refund me the money if pre-checkout.

Room Tip: Avoid a room on Orchard Road side. Very noisy from the traffic on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed in one of the two bedroom apartments are were really happy with the accommodations. We've visited Singapore a number of times before, and have usually stayed at one of the more "budget" hotels like the Porcelain, so having this much space was a real treat. It is much less expensive than getting 2 separate hotel rooms, and gives a LOT more space. There were two full bathrooms, a dining area with a large table and a living room with a couch, chairs, desk and TV. There was good, free wifi. The rooms were not decorated, so felt a bit cold, but the furnishings were all comfortable and the kitchen was well-equipped. The breakfast was adequate with eggs, a vegetable dish, sausage, fruit, cereal, juice/coffee/tea and some breads/pastries available. The rooftop swimming pool was quite nice, and there is a small fitness center with a sauna. Everything was spotlessly clean.

Staff were all very nice and helpful. The location was terrific, with lots of restaurant options available and the MRT about a 5 minute walk away. No hawker centers in the immediate vicinity, but several food courts in the nearby shopping malls with very good and inexpensive food (we liked 313 Orchard, 5th floor) . The regular price of the apartment is pretty high, but we found a discount on Booking.com that made our apartment a real bargain for what we got.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Somerset Orchard Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Orchard Singapore

Address: 160 Orchard Road | #06-01 OG Orchard Point (Entrance via Koek Road), Singapore 238842, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 183 Specialty lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Orchard Singapore 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somerset Orchard Singapore offers spacious and comfortable apartments located just off Orchard Road. The Somerset MRT (Subway) is only a few minutes walk, giving you access to the Central Business District and many destinations in Singapore. The convenient location makes the residence ideal corporate and interim housing for the expatriate and family. Stroll at your leisure to the abundant and varied restaurants and shops in the main shopping district. Whether for business travel, holiday, project assignment or relocation, you can enjoy city living in the security and comfort of a private apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Somerset Orchard Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Orchard Singapore Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Somerset Orchard Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.