We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old but good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Somerset Orchard Singapore

Save Saved
You added Somerset Orchard Singapore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Somerset Orchard Singapore
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   160 Orchard Road | #06-01 OG Orchard Point (Entrance via Koek Road), Singapore 238842, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 183 Specialty lodging in Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Old but good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stayed at the 2 bedroom apartment for 3 nights in November 2012. The apartment was old but with the price we paid for was cheap for a 2 bedroom. Location was good near to orchard central, centrepoint and 313 somerset.

The resident lounge, where the breakfast located, was very small. Limited food. The lift looks very old.

The service was top notch. Would stay here again if came with more than 3 people.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    43
    13
    19
    5
See reviews for
30
4
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This was our second visit to Somerset Orchard. We were very happy at our first visit when we had been there before 3 years.
However, we were thoroughly let down this time.
The entire property looked poorly maintained and ill-cared for. Not what you commonly note for an Ascott residence.
It was not a 'serviced residence' to start with. There was no service. Our appt. on the 7th floor was cleaned by shabby housekeeper. The quality of cleaning was very very poor. Bedsheets not changed.
The bath tub was detached from the floor tiles. Hygiene of the bathrooms was also poor.
The kitchen platform was too small and there was hardly any space between the cooking hob and the washing sink.
The residents lounge as before is too small. Residents have to play 'musical chairs' to find a breakfast seat. You are greeted by an overworked lady who we feel like is the only responsible person for breakfast. She seems to be cooking, serving, refilling, washing and cleaning. Your conscience bites you to even ask for something from her.
This place. needs an urgent facelift and staff upgrade.

Room Tip: Not worth the expense
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The property is in good location but very old. The whole property needs renovation. I stayed in a Studio room, with one working air conditioner which is a little noisy and one not working. The room is in good size for two persons, but the bathroom is VERY small. The bathroom has an unpleasant damp smell, and dim lighting. The spring bedding and pillows can cause you terrible back and neck pain.

The room that I got is on the Orchard side so it is very noisy until late night. If you a light sleeper, you will have problem get yourself to sleep.

In room amenities, as this is a serviced apartment so not many amenities provided. There is only a soap/shampoo dispenser attached to the wall at the basin and the bath tub. And one body lotion tube.
There is one bathrobe, no slipper. Hair dryer, iron, and ironing board are provided.

Room rate is include breakfast and internet. The internet connection is free and easy. The breakfast has not much variety. Some fruits, pastry, milk, a juice. A coffee is made from the machine, but the test is so light.

I think the room charge is too expensive for the quality and the services provided. They charged for the whole stay at check-in. With the same price, I can stay at a 5-star hotel with a lot better service. Unfortunately, they wouldn’t refund me the money if pre-checkout.

Room Tip: Avoid a room on Orchard Road side. Very noisy from the traffic on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed in one of the two bedroom apartments are were really happy with the accommodations. We've visited Singapore a number of times before, and have usually stayed at one of the more "budget" hotels like the Porcelain, so having this much space was a real treat. It is much less expensive than getting 2 separate hotel rooms, and gives a LOT more space. There were two full bathrooms, a dining area with a large table and a living room with a couch, chairs, desk and TV. There was good, free wifi. The rooms were not decorated, so felt a bit cold, but the furnishings were all comfortable and the kitchen was well-equipped. The breakfast was adequate with eggs, a vegetable dish, sausage, fruit, cereal, juice/coffee/tea and some breads/pastries available. The rooftop swimming pool was quite nice, and there is a small fitness center with a sauna. Everything was spotlessly clean.

Staff were all very nice and helpful. The location was terrific, with lots of restaurant options available and the MRT about a 5 minute walk away. No hawker centers in the immediate vicinity, but several food courts in the nearby shopping malls with very good and inexpensive food (we liked 313 Orchard, 5th floor) . The regular price of the apartment is pretty high, but we found a discount on Booking.com that made our apartment a real bargain for what we got.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Everything about this place is absolutely amazing. The breakfast, room, staff, location and amenities is awesome. Probably the best place I've ever stayed at. Definitely recommend it!!! Words cannot really describe how amazing this place is...so all i'll say is that Somerset Orchard Serviced Residence is simply 'WOW'.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Overall Somerset Orchard Service Apartments on Orchard Road, Singapore turned out to be a less than positive option us me and my family staying in Singapore for a couple of weeks during August 2012. The accommodation rooms required updating eg, the electric switches were placed bent, the plaster work was poor, the air condition units were broken made a lot of noise. The bathroom, the tiling was in poor shape, the sealant around the baths was coming away, shower curtains were off colour and smelled of damp, files roamed around the bath tub and sink. Hotwater finished too quickly there was never enough. The Residence lounge was way too small and the breakfast selection there was not good quality. Kitchen - the cold water was not connected to the sink tap. And there was no drinking water available. There was unsufficient cutlery and cups. When turning the stove on the electricity in the apartment would cut off. The gym was absolutely and utterly inappropriate. The equipment was old and the free weights were too light. There was no bench to use. The pool was deep (good) but on the small side. The bedroom curtains didn't close properly. The strobe lighting was old school and distracting. Loud music every night kept me up - there was a nightclub or something that continued to play music that came into the apartment, and I was on the 10th floor! The fact that we had poor choice of TV channels was terrible given the amount we paid. The childerns play area upstairs – this is in poor state of repair and probably a health hazard. My children refused to go close to it. Finally, the price for 18 days was over $7200 and money was taken out immediately from my account thus locking me in. Plus they took an additional $250 SGD authorization for a deposit!! The only positive was the entrance porters, they were welcoming and polite always. The website is misleading. For a service apartment in 2012 on a popular stretch of Singapore, this place is not in keeping.

Room Tip: Avoid it. Better off staying in a hotel and it'll probably cost less.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Best location to stay.In orchid road itself so Friday & sat night it best place to stay. Neon light means that you have a giant TV if you open the curtains. Internet connectivity was really really BAD. Breakfast is OK if not great. Very near to Somerset MRT on Red line. Staff is polite although they were very very rude to non residents, with non resident not even allowed to enter & all resident from below.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Somerset Orchard Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Orchard Singapore

Address: 160 Orchard Road | #06-01 OG Orchard Point (Entrance via Koek Road), Singapore 238842, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 183 Specialty lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Orchard Singapore 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somerset Orchard Singapore offers spacious and comfortable apartments located just off Orchard Road. The Somerset MRT (Subway) is only a few minutes walk, giving you access to the Central Business District and many destinations in Singapore. The convenient location makes the residence ideal corporate and interim housing for the expatriate and family. Stroll at your leisure to the abundant and varied restaurants and shops in the main shopping district. Whether for business travel, holiday, project assignment or relocation, you can enjoy city living in the security and comfort of a private apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Somerset Orchard Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Orchard Singapore Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Somerset Orchard Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.