We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff are fantastic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 2

Save Saved
You added 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 2 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
5footway.inn Project Chinatown 2
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   227 South Bridge Road, Singapore 058776, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 182 Specialty lodging in Singapore
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Staff are fantastic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I stayed here for 6 nights in a twin room by myself. Conveniently located walking distance between Chinatown and Downtown Core. I can vouch that this place is generally very clean. The bathrooms could probably do with better ventilation and a bit of a more regular cleaning schedule though. The staff are what sets this place apart from other hostels around the world. They are personable and always willing to help. Special mention needs to go to Zarrikh and Yong Han, both of whom are fantastic staff members and also just generally decent human beings. Thanks for the pleasant experience!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5footwayinn, Manager at 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 2, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Hi Cal W,

Thank you for staying with 5footway.inn.

It is our pleasure to host you while you were in Singapore. We are glad that you are satisfied with the room and the service our crews provided. We are definitely improving the ventilation in the shower room and hope to have you back with us in your next trip.

Have a nice day and Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    58
    27
    7
    5
See reviews for
21
18
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Since Singapore is such an expensive city, this hostel was the best option that fitted into our budget. It is also conveniently located in Chinatown and close to the Chinatown MRT. You can easily travel from the Changi Airport to this hostel. Its website gives you step-by-step instructions.

We booked a private room for 3. One small bed under the big bunk bed. The room's tiny but luckily we brought hangers for our own towels (you need to pay for towel rental), clothing etc. Not much space to spread out your stuff.

The room was clean and the staff was always willing to help. The card attached to your key serves as a swipe to get into the building. Its wifi is strong and accessible in your room. Had enough plugs for charging devices. For breakfast, I find it is important to get there early to get a seat, to toast your bread, grab a fruit. I loved the self-service tea/coffee/mocha machine. Since the breakfast area is actually the lounge & is not connected to the reception, you should tell them when something is running low. The reception area also provided umbrellas if you needed any.

Please note that there are lots of stairs. Also no private washrooms in the building. You have to lots of tiny half steps as you head to the female or male washrooms. Those yellow taping before the half steps saved me from tripping when I got up in the middle of the night to use the washroom since I wasn't wearing my glasses. Some have sink, toilets, some have towels with a sink). The rooms get pretty hot & wet with all the usage. Do bring plastic bags for your clean clothing & dry towels & toiletries. Also a pair of flip flop would a good idea. They provide shampoo & shower gel & hand wash gel.

Yes I would recommend the hostel to others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5footwayinn, Manager at 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 2, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Hi lugubres,

Thank you for choosing 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 2.

Glad to know that you enjoyed staying with us. Your feedbacks is important to us as it motivates us to serve our guests more and better.

We would like to invite you back in your next trip to experience the change we had made in the shower rooms.

See you again soon and Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostashkov, Russia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

It was my first experience of placing this type of housing. It was rather unusual. We booked a 6-bed room, but we lived in a four-seater. This is a big plus. Administrators fellows, all explained in detail what you can and can not. Spent in the room, which showed where the facilities. Always glad to help with the selection and the route to the attractions. Rooms pretty simple - bunk beds, drawers for storing personal items, a good speed wi-fi. Beside each bed lamp and socket. On the floor there are a few showers and toilets. In these areas it seemed pretty damp. Not very hygienic, it seemed to me then that at breakfast one has to wash the dishes by themselves, and dishes for everyone to have breakfast definitely not enough. In addition, the premise for breakfast was too tiny and not designed for the total number of guests. About the food that is offered for self-catering say nothing. The power supply system here was not highly organized and well-thought. But we did not come here to eat, and watch Singapore. Location of the hostel perfect - close to the subway. Near Chinatown which is full of souvenirs. in relatively close proximity to the Marina Bay. Given the fact that we have come only in the room only to sleep, then we will arrange everything perfectly - the linens were clean and fresh towels.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5footwayinn, Manager at 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 2, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Hi AlexyShalkin,

Thank you for staying with us in 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 2.

It is our pleasure to host you while you were in Singapore. We are glad that you are satisfied with the room and the service our crews have provided. We are already working on improving the cleanliness in the shower room and hope to have you back with us in your next trip to experience the improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

nice rooms, clean & comfortable. very very good crew, friendly & willing to help with everything.
the location is perfect, very close to the train station. the hotel has wifi & breakfast, so you get really good value for your money!
I would defiantly recommend it for travelers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5footwayinn, Manager at 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 2, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Hi hadasdaya,

Thank you for your support in 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 2.

We are glad to hear that you had a great time here and it motivate us to serve our guests better.
If you plan to visit Singapore again, do contact us and we will be glad to host our returning guest.

See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Very nice hostel, the staff is very very kind.
Everything is very clean and the location is lovely right in the heart of chinatown.
Internet and breakfast are included which is great.
Had a great time, met good people, we recommend this place for travelers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5footwayinn, Manager at 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 2, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Hi Sofi C,

Thank you for your support in 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 2.

We are glad to hear that you had a great time here and hope that this trip is memorable to you.
If you plan to visit Singapore again, do contact us and we will be glad to host our returning guest.

See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Overall it was a good hostel. The location is great and the staff are very polite.

The hostel itself had a weird atmosphere. No one spoke to each other, looked or even smiled at each other when passing in the corridor or in the breakfast room. Not sure why. We managed 3 conversations with 3 different people in 7 days. After 9 months in super friendly NZ, this was a shock.

The hostel reception desk shares the same area as their cafe so at check-in it can be pretty busy. The cafe doesn’t open at weekends so we went to project 1 just down the road. We ordered 2 breakfasts and a drink each. My husband’s coffee was cold and they totally forgot his breakfast. When he chased it up, they brought it minus the beans. We never went back.
We felt that the hostel lacked any information on Singapore. There are things written on the mirrors in the cafe and if you ask the staff they will find out for you....but it was just lacking in any real info. We had to ask for a map etc.

The breakfast room was tiny. The first morning we had to come back 15 minutes later as there was just nowhere to sit. Other mornings were better. It all depends on your timing. The staff did seem to check the breakfast levels quite often, we still had to ask for bread and butter – the butter was given to us out of the freezer compartment so it was solid with no way of softening it.

Our initial room was no 14 which was right at the very top of the steps. It was noisy. After 2 nights we moved rooms. This room also had a crack along the join of the wall and ceiling which let in light and noise from room 13 next door.

We knew when we booked this hostel that most of the rooms don’t have windows and this is very common in Singapore. The room had air conditioning and a vent that we think sucked air back out. For some reason the strength of this air vent varied. Some nights it sounded like an industrial hairdryer and other nights it was switched off. The bed was comfortable and we slept pretty well. The duvet isn’t big enough for the double bed and was a lot smaller than the duvet cover it was in. After a week, we noticed that when entering the room, our belongings were damp. I have ended up with a chest infection.

The bathrooms – after getting over the initial shock at how small the cubicles were and that showers and sinks were in one, they were pretty good showers. The doors are genius. However, the overall feel to the bathrooms were shoddy workmanship. Lovely tiled walls, splattered with tile grout and paint. Mouldy, peeling paint on the door frames. Constantly wet floors. The toilets were hosed down...is that really cleaned? One toilet never had any hand soap in it and they were constantly out of toilet paper – both in the ladies and gents.

Despite all of the above we extended our stay by 2 nights and bizarrely to do this we got a better deal via hostelbookers rather than direct with the hostel.

Would we recommend – yes for the location and politeness of the staff.

Room Tip: no 14 is right at the top of the stairs - lots of noise. room 10 was much better, but neither room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5footwayinn, Manager at 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 2, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Hi debdtheleo,

Thank you for staying with 5footway.inn. We hope you had enjoyed your trip in Singapore and regret to have caused a little discomfort during your stay. Your feedback is valuable to us and we had already carried out improvement works to resolve them already.

Once again, we would like to welcome you back again to Project Chinatown 2 to expereince the improvement we have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Good location i will come again to stay here . the staffs here very friendly, thank you very much Xin Fang you are very kind to service us.. See you again,, take care and all the best of you. May God bless you, from Malaysia Jane

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5footwayinn, Manager at 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 2, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Hello Jane,

Thank you for staying with us!

5footway.inn would like to have you back as soon as possible. Hope that our service has created a memorable stay for you in Singapore.

God bless you too! See you soon~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 2

Address: 227 South Bridge Road, Singapore 058776, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 182 Specialty lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 2 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Project Chinatown 2 is the latest addition to the 5footway.inn brand of hostels. Tucked in the quaintest corner of Chinatown, adjoining the laidback, colourful Ann Siang Hill area where you can find the coolest pubs, cafes and the occasional art galleries, Project Chinatown 2 promises to bring yet another unique experience to our other properties. Project Chinatown 1 is all about the action Chinatown has to offer; Project Sultan is about showcasing local and regional artists to our well-travelled guests. Project Chinatown 2 aims to bring to life the quaint, back-alleyway feel of yesteryear Singapore, with the weekend flea market at the back lane. You can take for granted the same modern facilities that is synonymous with 5footway.inns: Fastest WIFI throughout the premises, free breakfast spread complete with fruits and fresh milk, comfortable anti-dustmite beds, individual storage space as well as a clean, safe environment. To top it off, all our beds come with individual universal power sockets (no need for that adapter!) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
5footway.Inn Project Chinatown 2 Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 5footway.inn Project Chinatown 2, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.