We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Immaculate, Comfortable Bed, and Superb Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Happy Snail Hostel

Happy Snail Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Happy Snail Hostel to your Saves list
Happy Snail Hostel
Block 147 Silat Avenue #01-32, Singapore 160147, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 184 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Immaculate, Comfortable Bed, and Superb Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Immaculate, Comfortable Bed, and Superb Service”

Facilities:
- Shower/ Toilet: Very clean. The owner spends a lot of time cleaning the shower/toilet area using proper cleaning products. The water pressure was ok and the water was lukewarm all day, however the water did not get too hot.

- Bed: Immaculate. The owner washes and dries all the bed sheets and duvets after each guest checks out. It is all properly washed using a washing machine and tumble dryer. Everything was cleaned quite regularly. The bed and pillows were also very comfortable.

- Air Con: Excellent. The air-con is fantastic. There are several units in the common areas and the rooms, and they function properly. The remote control is also left in the rooms so you can adjust it as well.

- Internet: Excellent. It was a sigh of relief to have a good internet connection. I could stream videos without buffering and download torrents at high speed. Most people were streaming videos at night and it was still functioning well.

Services:
- Breakfast: Excellent. There is all day breakfast, help yourself whenever you like. Bread, jam, peanut butter, coffee, tea all day. It was nice waking up late and still being able to eat breakfast.

- Security: Very good. You need to use a keycard to get in to the building. Most people left their laptops, ipads, smartphones on their beds all day and nothing got stolen. There is a large locker for each person in the dorm.

- Staff: Excellent. The owner (Mike) is very friendly and loves his work. He can get you cheaper tickets for touristy stuff, and is always bubbly and cheerful, ready to help. I needed to check in late at 1am and there were sticky notes everywhere with instructions on where to go, what to do and which bed was mine. Awesome.

Other:
- Cleanliness: Excellent. Very clean. After travelling for so long, it was a relief to finally be somewhere clean. The building is regularly treated to kill bugs as well, which is probably why I never saw any.

- Location: Good. There are plenty of cheap places to eat (hawker restaurants) downstairs. It is a very quiet and chilled out area. Unfortunately it is a 20 minute walk to the nearest metro station (Outram Park) however you can take the bus from nearby which is cheaper.

- Noise: Nice and quiet. This was a very chilled out hostel, this is not a party hostel, it is tastefully more sedate.

- Size: Ok. This is quite a small hostel compared to others in SE Asia, but you need to remember that this is Singapore and you cannot expect large rooms anywhere unless you are rich.

- Price: I paid S$22 a night for an 6-Bed Dorm

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    16
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
9
17
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

This hostel is the smallest hostel i have ever stayed. Because of this though it is very cute and has a homely feel to it.
Mike the owner is lovely, he provides bread, tea, coffee and bananas all day for everyone. He will also book tours for you at discounted prices. He will also even post your post cards home for you. He is just a lovely man.
The hostel itself is clean with very comfy beds. The beds are almost double sized with an individual plug so it makes for a good night sleep.
The only downfall are the bathrooms. They are wet rooms so the toilet and floor is always wet.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Every 4 times in year our church celebrates a Thanksgiving to God. Because of this important religious event I discovered a lodging place near in our church. It is very convenient for me because I leave in SG from a location 1 hour from our church . So it is a best option for me to stay in happy snail to save time and transport . I've stayed here almost 6 times already times 3days. I'm very well pleased with service of Mike (the owner) and the facilities they offer. If you love travelling for a short stay in SG. This hostel is perfect . It is centrally located to all nearest tourist spots and accessibility to public transport. They offer discount tickets to different attractions and events in Singapore. In the hostel provides free internet laptop, wide screen cabel tv, free bananas , coffees, teas , beards and sandwich spreads.Also books, maps and magazines are available. You can purchase a towel for $1.00 and sodas as well. A laundry machine and 2 bathrooms are available. Hostel has 3 rooms. One is for all girls and can acoomodate 6paxs, 2nd (all boys) and 3rd room - recommended for families/couples. All are in double beds. Price range from $20-22/pax.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

The owner Mike is awesome and a pleasure to be around. Helpful labels everywhere, e.g. on the kitchen cupboard: "don't leave dirty dishes in sink - thx!" Mike will happily advise you on transport, what to see or do in Singapore, prices on activities etc. - and the common room has great maps with notes. Mike really puts in an effort.

Fridge and freezer are free to use, and breakfast (bread, spreads, banana, tea, coffee) are free anytime of the day. Laundry with dryer is cheap. The lockers are safe, bunkbeds spacious, dorms are cooled with AC and super clean. Fast and stable wifi.

This coule easily become a 5/5. Just needs cosier lighting and mosquito nets in dorm windows. But even without, Happy Snail Hostel is a great place to stay in Singapore!

Room Tip: All 3 doors seemed sufficiently cooled. We stayed in mixed, and experienced no outside noise whatsoe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

My stay at Happy Snail Hostel exceeded expectations for hostel living. Despite the small space, it appeared to occupy its 15+ guests flawlessly. During my 8-day stay, I never felt claustrophobic or stifled,or felt the frustration of indoor traffic- which was great- especially for someone who values a bit of privacy and space.

Located near Chinatown and a brief walk or bus ride to Outram Park (where the Northeast Line and the East-West lines converge), its location is quite close to cultural attractions and hot spots (ie. Chinatown, Little India, Clarke Quay, Sentosa, etc).

In addition to its location, a critical aspect to Happy Snail is its owner, Mike. Mike goes above and beyond to ensure a safe, fun and comfortable stay in Singapore by providing guests with local advice and assistance. His helpfulness, kindness and light-hearted personality creates a an easy-going and stress-free atmosphere. Additionally, his complimentary offering of bread, nutella, peanut butter, teas, etc. were not only a bonus to my stay, but a representation of his hospitality & generosity- the kind of nature which also attracts a cool group of people from around the world.

Thank you Happy Snail for making my stay a pleasant & enjoyable one!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzhou, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Mike was extremely helpful in helping me to figure out what parts of the town are worth seeing or not. He helped save a lot of time so that the time spent in Singapore was well worth it. In addition to his kindness and help, he is an honest man. I left my phone in the hostel when I left the country and he has been honest enough to not only hold the phone for me, but also help try to get the phone back to me. It's hard to come across someone so honest. Definitely a trustworthy place to stay.

Room Tip: Really dont have a swimming pool or fitness center, i just had to enter something. but there is a fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Mike, the owner, is incredibly helpful. I arrived late (2am), which requires self-check-in, but Mike laid out everything I needed to know ahead of time to get into the hostel and which bed was mine. The hostel has spent a lot of time with making sure guests are comfortable with the little things - there are lockers for your bags, there is FAST, free wi-fi as well as a laptop for use by guests, local maps/guides, A/C in the public area and dorm rooms, washing machine, iron, towels for rent for cheap, plenty of outlets to charge your devices, etc.

The location is far enough to be quiet (second story walk-up in a residential neighborhood), but there is a bus stop one block away which takes you to the subway (Outram Park), which is also just a short 1km walk away.

The 24 hour self-service breakfast with breads, spreads, and fruits, as well as free coffee/tea is really great for on-the-go before you head out in the morning.

Definitely will stay here if staying in Singapore in the future, and will recommend this hostel to friends!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Happy Snail Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Snail Hostel

Address: Block 147 Silat Avenue #01-32, Singapore 160147, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 184 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with EasyToBook, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Happy Snail Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Happy Snail Hostel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Happy Snail Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.