We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So fresh!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Esquina

Esquina
16 Jiak Chuan Rd., Singapore, Singapore
+65 6222 1616
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #149 of 7,412 Restaurants in Singapore
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Inspired by the colourful tapas bars found in Spain, ESQUINA offers modern Spanish tapas in a unique location surrounded by post-war colonial buildings, hip coffee joints and old-school home-style restaurants. Leading the culinary direction is Michelin star chef Jason Atherton, the protege of celebrity chef Gordon Ramsay, and Executive Chef Andrew Walsh. Designed by Singapore-based Columbian architect Antonio Eraso, ESQUINA features a long communal bar and open kitchen with specially designed stools made in the UK.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“So fresh!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This was our last meal in Singapore. It was recommended by a friend and it did not disappoint.
Food was so fresh and cooked right in front of your eyes!
Highly recommend for both food and the experience!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EsquinaPollenKSS, Manager at Esquina, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear James
Thank you for visiting Esquina during your trip to Singapore! It was a pleasure to have you with us and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience. We look forward to seeing you during your next visit to Singapore!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    46
    12
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Esquina = Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I went to Esquina yesterday with a friend for lunch as the weather was shoddy and we needed an outing. Gorgeous, just gorgeous. Loved ever mouthful of the salted squid with ink aioli and the succulent raw tuna. Flavours were fresh and unique. The basil gelato with freshly grilled pineapple was just fabulous. The wine was a little expensive, but it was cold and went beautifully with our meal. The chefs were friendly and offered all sorts of interesting information in the open style counter and kitchen design. We were lucky to be sitting beside a lovely Singaporean couple who told us all about their favourite Singapore restaurants and where we should try next. They also very kindly offered us a beautiful hot fresh donut that they had picked up from the sister restaurant of Esquina just down the road. We will defiantly be taking their advice. Will definitely be returning to Esquina for dinner with the husbands.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EsquinaPollenKSS, Manager at Esquina, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience at Esquina and it was a pleasure to have you with us! Our sister restaurant Keong Saik Snacks is located on the next street and the address is 49 Keong Saik Road! We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Delicious! Get there early or late, a little too expensive but going again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I almost cried at the exquisite flavours of the iberico pork and foie gras burger...unbelievable! The chefs seem to almost work just for you. Squid was also fab, Had lots of dishes and lots of wine. It was a little ott in pricing I thought - but loved the food so much I'll be back, plus looking forward to going to 22 Ships newly opened in HK. The deserts, esp the orange marmalade toasted brioche, were amazing - and the chef slipped us a few free tasters. The lovely manageress was so welcoming, although one of the staff could have done with being able to explain the specials a bit better! We got there at 9.20 and had no probs getting seats for 2 on a thursday, also there were tables outside.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EsquinaPollenKSS, Manager at Esquina, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you had a wonderful experience at Esquina and enjoyed our food and service. It was a pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“No reservations; get there early!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Esquina, a sliver of a restaurant in a part of Chinatown, away from tourists and tourist-trap vending stalls, provides a tapas-style menu in a non-Spanish style
environment. This is my fourth or fifth visit this year and it has quickly grown into one of my favs in Singapore.

What I like about the place is that it has an open kitchen- actually the open kitchen is the other side of the long-counter bar. There are only a few 2-top tables away from the bar in the tiny restaurant. Otherwise, there are a few tables outside; but who wants to sit outside in hot and humid Singapore weather. I enjoy sitting at the bar and interacting with the chefs who are preparing and cooking the meals. The food is tasty, well presented and suitable for sharing with your dining companion. They have a decent selection of wines, which I have partaken of each time I have dined there. Their furnishings remind me of quirky antique shop finds one would see in Santa Fe, Portland, or Austin in the U.S.

If I could upload photos on the trip advisor iPhone app, I would upload photos of the food, but I am not sure that this app allows it.

Esquina is not a recommended venue for a big party. A dinner for two is ideal. Dinner for four may be cumbersome at the bar, unless you grab the seats at the corner of the bar, or you can grab a little table outside and the party of four huddles around it.

When my hubby and I discuss where to go out for dinner, esquina usually comes up. The only reason we do not go there every week is because we do not live in Chinatown and we can only eat Iberico jamon, beautiful beet salad, oysters, mini burgers and drain couple bottles of wine in moderation...

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EsquinaPollenKSS, Manager at Esquina, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your dining experiences at Esquina and it was a pleasure to have you with us! Do visit us again soon and check out our exciting new dishes from our refreshed a la carte menu following our first anniversary. We look forward to seeing you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Really great vibe, superbly good food! Just expect to spend a little more than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I perform horribly at Tapas bars, meaning I always overeat and over spend. With the lack of a proper "Starters, Mains and Desserts" structure for a meal, I find myself over ordering and over eating. Which is a happy problem at Esquina because the staff is amazing, the crowd is cool and slightly rowdy, the place smells amazing and you are constantly entertained with chefs darting around getting the food ready. Must try the Spanish breakfast.. runny eggs and iberico ham is simply heavenly.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EsquinaPollenKSS, Manager at Esquina, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you had a great experience at Esquina and enjoyed our food and service. It was a pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Esquina also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Esquina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esquina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.