We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really worth seeing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Orchid Garden

National Orchid Garden
1 Cluny Rd | Within the Singapore Botanic Gardens, Singapore 259569, Singapore
65 6471 7361
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #1 of 331 attractions in Singapore
Type: Gardens
Attraction Details
Helsinki
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Really worth seeing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I recommend the visitors to schedule several hours for walking in this marvelous garden. I wish we had spent there longer than 1,5 hours.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,066 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,264
    676
    111
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Beautiful Orchids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

If you are a fan of orchids (and who isn't) this is the place to go if you are in Singapore. The Orchid garden is located within the Singapore Botanic Garden and has an admission charge which the rest of the botanic garden is free. However, the charge is minimal- S$5 ($4 US) and for seniors it was only S$1(81 cents US). A small price to pay to see an outstanding collection of flowers. My favorite spot was the air-conditioned orchid house where cooler climate flowers were contained. Believe me, on a hot humid Singapore day outside, it felt great. You should also allow some time to spend in the very nice gift shop there which has a very different selection of items than the gift shop at the Botanical garden entrance.

One final item on logistics. Cabs might be the easiest way to get here, but the Singapore Airlines hop-on bus takes you right to the gate.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Wow truly wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We had three nights in Singapore before heading to Thailand. We had a list of sights to see and very little time. We went on a city tour which visited the National Orchid Gardens. Unfortunately it wasn't a long enough visit - but at least we visited this wonderful oasis of calm and magnificent plants. It is beautifully laid out with space to see each specimen.
There is information given to explain how the orchids are developed and it is easy to follow.
We saw many of the famouse orchids.
It is truly magnificent and thoroughly enjoyable- not to be missed on a visit to Singapore!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Enjoy beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

What amazing and romantic place .Lots of varieties of flowers ..Tip for photo savy ..one spot where orchids are in two rows and sitting place in between so in photo you appears emerging from orchids.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslev, Denmark
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

So green and quiet. And so different from Denmark, of course. We could have spent more time here, but were only here for a stopover.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Orchid Garden also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to National Orchid Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Orchid Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added National Orchid Garden to your Saves list