We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value in singapore is hard to find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kam Leng Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kam Leng Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Kam Leng Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   383 Jalan Besar, Singapore 209001, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #142 of 293 Hotels in Singapore
Shenyang, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good value in singapore is hard to find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Really liked the feel of the hotel, nice kitch, old style. Rooms are small (we had actually been upgraded to a larger room and dread to think how much space we would have had otherwise!) space enough for 2 people and big bags though and we were only there for 1 night anyway. bathroom is fine.
Hotel offers tour booking services, we saved $3 off the Night Safari, well worth it and no hassle at all.
Highlight was breakfast. It really was tasty and no issues with any staff.
Also they let us keep our bags in the luggage room for basically a whole day after our stay as we were flying out in the early hours of the next morning.
Overall a nice little hotel, good location, friendly staff and great breakfast.

Room Tip: Go for a higher room if possible, there's less noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamLengHotel, Manager at Kam Leng Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Slheath88,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

It is my pleasure to know you have enjoy your stayed with us. We looking forward for your future visit to Singapore.

Thank you.

Best Regards,

Melvin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    105
    62
    17
    12
See reviews for
23
97
29
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I went with a friend and stayed for 4 days and 3 nights in this hotel. Low cost, according to the facilities and conveniences that obtained when compared to other hotels in Singapore. Overall, it's a nice and pleasant visit. I recommend this hotel for short staying.

First arrived in Changi, exit through immigration, take the Skytrain to Terminal 2. You can buy a tourist pass (unlimited pass for the MRT, buses, LRT) there. It costs $ 30 for 3 days with a refundable $ 10 deposit. Then hop on the only train that was there, and after a short journey the train will stop at Tanah Merah. Move to the green line (EAST-WEST line) heading to Joo Koon. Get off at Lavender (EW11) and take bus number 133 or 145 from the bus stop just outside the MRT station. After that, get off 3 stops later in Eminent Plaza just before the hotel and walk to the hotel in Jalan Besar. Alternatively, you can walk along Lavender Street for about 15 minutes to the hotel (about 900 meters).

Kam Leng Hotel is an antique, nice, and clearly visible from Jalan Besar. The young receptionist was a bit unfriendly and we did not like him, but he worked efficiently. The older receptionist and the cleaning lady were nice and friendly though.

After reading many reviews about this hotel we had previously booked a room on a high floor, rather quiet on special request, and they gave us exactly as requested. Our room was no. 404 on 4th floor, facing a 24-hour food court, 7-11 and a bus stop, and has multiple windows in the bathroom. It's quiet and we had good sleep. The room's not spacious but very neat and clean, smartly decorated and a combination of modern spatial planning and very antique buildings. They provide tools just exactly like those mentioned in the web. The bathroom is small but adequate and clean. The hot water turns well and I liked their shower. LCD TV had a bit of basic channels including Starworld, AXN, CNN and several Chinese channels. The free WiFi was excellent during our stay.

Food was not a problem because just opposite the hotel is a 24-hour food court. For Muslims, there are also food stalls that provide halal foods. The hotel also had a restaurant that offers a $ 10 meal voucher for two.

For transportation, there is a bus stop opposite the hotel, you can take bus no. 65 to go to the Orchard Street. From the bus stop at the end of the road, you can take bus no. 145 which headed to Vivocity leading to Sentosa Island (Universal Studio, etc). Hotel is also located within walking distance to reach Little India, Mustafa Center, 2 MRT Station (Little Farrer / Lavender) and lots of food stalls.

Room Tip: Rooms on the high floor and/or not facing the main street are quiet, and don't forget to ask roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamLengHotel, Manager at Kam Leng Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Nanet F

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

It is my pleasure to know you have enjoy your stayed with us. We value all feedbacks given, our Front Office Manager was alert for immediate improve for the team. We appreciate your patient and time for the review.

We looking forward for your next visit to Singapore, thank you.

Best Regards,

Melvin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

It was my first trip to Singapore and the hotel I chose was actually not the right option.The Receptionist was rude and could not speak nicely even once.The little old guys was still nice and helpful.I would not like to talk about the room as it was really sad specially the location of the room.Bedding was great but Air conditioning could not reach.But Kudos to that sweet Houskeeping lady.Washrooms were decent.But over all not value for money !

My experience counted service issues. if these guys would have dealt with me nicely , I would have not thought about the product.After all we are in service industry and a positive apprach towards a foreigner is very important.

Room Tip: Dont ever consider there corner rooms, Due to the location of the rooms , air conditioning get effec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamLengHotel, Manager at Kam Leng Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Gautam C,

Thank you sharing your experience with us.

Please accept my sincere apology, i am very concerned by the elements of your review. You can rest assured that we take and value all guests reviews seriously.

I have share the review with our Front Office Manager for immediate improvement on the efficiency and guest handling skills of our Front Office Team.

We really look forward for your next visit to Singapore, thank you.

Best Regards,

Melvin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

So it took me 3 long nights trawling tripadvisor and the Internet to decide on a hotel, as all of the reviews complain of small rooms!!
Yes, the room was small in comparison to other countries, but the bed was comfy, the shower was spacious (and hot! Yay) and it had everything I needed!
Directly across the road is Lavender Food Centre, open 24hrs serving local cuisine (at hawker centre prices), and just a 5 min stroll to Boon Keng MRT.
You are also just a 10 min walk to the heart of Little India.
All in all, a great location, thanks Kam Leng hotel :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamLengHotel, Manager at Kam Leng Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear JetsetLoz,

Thank you for sharing yours experince with us.

It is a pleasure to know you have enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward for your future stay with us. Thank you.

Best Regards,
Melvin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

If you love the Ace hotels in the US you will like this one. Hip, cool, funky. Very good value for money, which is not easy to find in SIN. The hotel is located a couple blocks north of Little India which is great for exploring. Subway us also in walking distance.
Good bed and simple, functional bathroom. Great travellers hotel. Free Wifi. Nice little bar/ restaurant. They will charge for late check out after 12pm. Enjoyed my stay. Would recommend if on budget.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamLengHotel, Manager at Kam Leng Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Frank S,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review on Kam Leng Hotel.

It's a pleasure to know you had enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward for your future vocation with us, thank you.

Best Regards,
Melvin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Only 500 meters from Lavender subway station. Able to walk from Little India. The bus stop is just opposite of the hotel where many bus can take you to China town and Vivo city to Universal studios. Staffs are friendly, maid can speak English. Rooms are small but very clean. A little bit noisy from outside. There was 24 hours food court available just opposite of the hotel but I would recommend to go for Cheng mun chee kee pig organ soup which is better than Tian Tian chicken rice in Maxwell food court (just in my opinion). I accidentally get in to this restaurant when a guy with BMW series 5 drive and had his dinner at this restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamLengHotel, Manager at Kam Leng Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Nattinee P,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write your review on Kam Leng Hotel.

It's a pleasure to know that you had enjoy your stay with us and all the local dishes you had recommended. We look forward for your future vocation with us, thank you.

Best Regards,
Melvin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Kam Leng is in an area of Singapore near some of the tourist attractions like Little India and has pretty good proximity to public transportation (though when we were there, we had to take a taxi to the Queen St. bus station to take a bus to Malaysia because the main road outside the hotel was under construction). The hotel itself is designed in a vintage style which can give the appearance that it is rundown, but it has its own charm as well. The oddest part is the flooring of the hotel rooms, which are a hard concrete. The bathrooms are also a bit oddly designed, especially the shower, and not a lot of privacy in the bathroom because the door is glass. But the free wifi worked great, the room was clean and the bed was comfortable. There is also a computer available for guests to use. The hotel is perfectly adequate and reasonably priced given Singapore prices. The service was also very nice. We stayed for one night on our way to Melaka, and would do so again. But for a vacation to Singapore, we'd probably stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamLengHotel, Manager at Kam Leng Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear PoorestTourists,

Thank you very much for taking the time for the review on Kam Leng Hotel.

We value all feedbacks given to improve the hotel quality and service, thank you.

Best Regards,
Melvin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kam Leng Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kam Leng Hotel

Address: 383 Jalan Besar, Singapore 209001, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kam Leng Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Kam Leng Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kam Leng Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kam Leng Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.