We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Value for Money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kam Leng Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Kam Leng Hotel to your Saves list
Kam Leng Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   383 Jalan Besar, Singapore 209001, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #142 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Delhi
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not Value for Money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

It was my first trip to Singapore and the hotel I chose was actually not the right option.The Receptionist was rude and could not speak nicely even once.The little old guys was still nice and helpful.I would not like to talk about the room as it was really sad specially the location of the room.Bedding was great but Air conditioning could not reach.But Kudos to that sweet Houskeeping lady.Washrooms were decent.But over all not value for money !

My experience counted service issues. if these guys would have dealt with me nicely , I would have not thought about the product.After all we are in service industry and a positive apprach towards a foreigner is very important.

Room Tip: Dont ever consider there corner rooms, Due to the location of the rooms , air conditioning get effec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamLengHotel, Manager at Kam Leng Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Gautam C,

Thank you sharing your experience with us.

Please accept my sincere apology, i am very concerned by the elements of your review. You can rest assured that we take and value all guests reviews seriously.

I have share the review with our Front Office Manager for immediate improvement on the efficiency and guest handling skills of our Front Office Team.

We really look forward for your next visit to Singapore, thank you.

Best Regards,

Melvin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    117
    66
    20
    12
See reviews for
25
105
32
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

So it took me 3 long nights trawling tripadvisor and the Internet to decide on a hotel, as all of the reviews complain of small rooms!!
Yes, the room was small in comparison to other countries, but the bed was comfy, the shower was spacious (and hot! Yay) and it had everything I needed!
Directly across the road is Lavender Food Centre, open 24hrs serving local cuisine (at hawker centre prices), and just a 5 min stroll to Boon Keng MRT.
You are also just a 10 min walk to the heart of Little India.
All in all, a great location, thanks Kam Leng hotel :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamLengHotel, Manager at Kam Leng Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear JetsetLoz,

Thank you for sharing yours experince with us.

It is a pleasure to know you have enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward for your future stay with us. Thank you.

Best Regards,
Melvin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

If you love the Ace hotels in the US you will like this one. Hip, cool, funky. Very good value for money, which is not easy to find in SIN. The hotel is located a couple blocks north of Little India which is great for exploring. Subway us also in walking distance.
Good bed and simple, functional bathroom. Great travellers hotel. Free Wifi. Nice little bar/ restaurant. They will charge for late check out after 12pm. Enjoyed my stay. Would recommend if on budget.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamLengHotel, Manager at Kam Leng Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Frank S,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review on Kam Leng Hotel.

It's a pleasure to know you had enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward for your future vocation with us, thank you.

Best Regards,
Melvin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Only 500 meters from Lavender subway station. Able to walk from Little India. The bus stop is just opposite of the hotel where many bus can take you to China town and Vivo city to Universal studios. Staffs are friendly, maid can speak English. Rooms are small but very clean. A little bit noisy from outside. There was 24 hours food court available just opposite of the hotel but I would recommend to go for Cheng mun chee kee pig organ soup which is better than Tian Tian chicken rice in Maxwell food court (just in my opinion). I accidentally get in to this restaurant when a guy with BMW series 5 drive and had his dinner at this restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamLengHotel, Manager at Kam Leng Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Nattinee P,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write your review on Kam Leng Hotel.

It's a pleasure to know that you had enjoy your stay with us and all the local dishes you had recommended. We look forward for your future vocation with us, thank you.

Best Regards,
Melvin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Kam Leng is in an area of Singapore near some of the tourist attractions like Little India and has pretty good proximity to public transportation (though when we were there, we had to take a taxi to the Queen St. bus station to take a bus to Malaysia because the main road outside the hotel was under construction). The hotel itself is designed in a vintage style which can give the appearance that it is rundown, but it has its own charm as well. The oddest part is the flooring of the hotel rooms, which are a hard concrete. The bathrooms are also a bit oddly designed, especially the shower, and not a lot of privacy in the bathroom because the door is glass. But the free wifi worked great, the room was clean and the bed was comfortable. There is also a computer available for guests to use. The hotel is perfectly adequate and reasonably priced given Singapore prices. The service was also very nice. We stayed for one night on our way to Melaka, and would do so again. But for a vacation to Singapore, we'd probably stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamLengHotel, Manager at Kam Leng Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear PoorestTourists,

Thank you very much for taking the time for the review on Kam Leng Hotel.

We value all feedbacks given to improve the hotel quality and service, thank you.

Best Regards,
Melvin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The room size is not too big , the bed sheet was coarse .
The bathroom quite big , but the window at bathroom is getting rusty , feeling nausea while taking bath.
Soundproofing system was not good , heard clearly of the noisy sound from corridor and others room.
Location of this hotel is quite far from MRT station , but it is easy to recognise the road and landmark on the road, it take about 10-15 mins walk to MRT station , suggest all to use Farrer Park MRT station is quite convenience and the distance is short than Lavender MRT station. Opposite of hotel has 24 hours hawker centre and beside of hawker centre have a Non-Halal restaurant food are tasty . We 4 pax dine in cost just SDG 15.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamLengHotel, Manager at Kam Leng Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear SK002013,

Thank you for the feedbacks you had provied.

We value all guests feedbacks to improve our quality and service.

Best Regards,
Melvin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I knew what i was in for when i made the reservation. This isn't your typical shiny soulless modern hotel room. This hotel has character, lots of it. Upon entry, one is greeted by vintage furniture which fits really well together. The staircase area actually looks old and dirty and could be improved upon. I liked this feature but maybe it is not to everyone's taste. The room was roomier than expected, i especially liked the rather large bathroom. Bedroom space was used in a clever way - TV mounted to the wall and a place to hang clothes (no wardrobe). There was a problem with ventilation or plumbing which caused the room to smell a bit during certain times of the day but opening the window all the time helped with the situation. It is also possible to hear your neighbours talking as sound proofing isn't very good. So if you are a light sleeper, this isn't a place for you. All in all, it was a decent place to stay with lots of character. I wish there were more of these places in Singapore. And oh, the 24 hour food court opposite is heaven sent! Try the famous wanton mee!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kam Leng Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kam Leng Hotel

Address: 383 Jalan Besar, Singapore 209001, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kam Leng Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Kam Leng Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kam Leng Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kam Leng Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.