We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip retro Chinese / colonial hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kam Leng Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kam Leng Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kam Leng Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   383 Jalan Besar, Singapore 209001, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #141 of 293 Hotels in Singapore
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Hip retro Chinese / colonial hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

If you love the Ace hotels in the US you will like this one. Hip, cool, funky. Very good value for money, which is not easy to find in SIN. The hotel is located a couple blocks north of Little India which is great for exploring. Subway us also in walking distance.
Good bed and simple, functional bathroom. Great travellers hotel. Free Wifi. Nice little bar/ restaurant. They will charge for late check out after 12pm. Enjoyed my stay. Would recommend if on budget.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamLengHotel, Manager at Kam Leng Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Frank S,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review on Kam Leng Hotel.

It's a pleasure to know you had enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward for your future vocation with us, thank you.

Best Regards,
Melvin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    105
    62
    17
    12
See reviews for
23
97
29
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Only 500 meters from Lavender subway station. Able to walk from Little India. The bus stop is just opposite of the hotel where many bus can take you to China town and Vivo city to Universal studios. Staffs are friendly, maid can speak English. Rooms are small but very clean. A little bit noisy from outside. There was 24 hours food court available just opposite of the hotel but I would recommend to go for Cheng mun chee kee pig organ soup which is better than Tian Tian chicken rice in Maxwell food court (just in my opinion). I accidentally get in to this restaurant when a guy with BMW series 5 drive and had his dinner at this restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamLengHotel, Manager at Kam Leng Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Nattinee P,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write your review on Kam Leng Hotel.

It's a pleasure to know that you had enjoy your stay with us and all the local dishes you had recommended. We look forward for your future vocation with us, thank you.

Best Regards,
Melvin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Kam Leng is in an area of Singapore near some of the tourist attractions like Little India and has pretty good proximity to public transportation (though when we were there, we had to take a taxi to the Queen St. bus station to take a bus to Malaysia because the main road outside the hotel was under construction). The hotel itself is designed in a vintage style which can give the appearance that it is rundown, but it has its own charm as well. The oddest part is the flooring of the hotel rooms, which are a hard concrete. The bathrooms are also a bit oddly designed, especially the shower, and not a lot of privacy in the bathroom because the door is glass. But the free wifi worked great, the room was clean and the bed was comfortable. There is also a computer available for guests to use. The hotel is perfectly adequate and reasonably priced given Singapore prices. The service was also very nice. We stayed for one night on our way to Melaka, and would do so again. But for a vacation to Singapore, we'd probably stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamLengHotel, Manager at Kam Leng Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear PoorestTourists,

Thank you very much for taking the time for the review on Kam Leng Hotel.

We value all feedbacks given to improve the hotel quality and service, thank you.

Best Regards,
Melvin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The room size is not too big , the bed sheet was coarse .
The bathroom quite big , but the window at bathroom is getting rusty , feeling nausea while taking bath.
Soundproofing system was not good , heard clearly of the noisy sound from corridor and others room.
Location of this hotel is quite far from MRT station , but it is easy to recognise the road and landmark on the road, it take about 10-15 mins walk to MRT station , suggest all to use Farrer Park MRT station is quite convenience and the distance is short than Lavender MRT station. Opposite of hotel has 24 hours hawker centre and beside of hawker centre have a Non-Halal restaurant food are tasty . We 4 pax dine in cost just SDG 15.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamLengHotel, Manager at Kam Leng Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear SK002013,

Thank you for the feedbacks you had provied.

We value all guests feedbacks to improve our quality and service.

Best Regards,
Melvin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I knew what i was in for when i made the reservation. This isn't your typical shiny soulless modern hotel room. This hotel has character, lots of it. Upon entry, one is greeted by vintage furniture which fits really well together. The staircase area actually looks old and dirty and could be improved upon. I liked this feature but maybe it is not to everyone's taste. The room was roomier than expected, i especially liked the rather large bathroom. Bedroom space was used in a clever way - TV mounted to the wall and a place to hang clothes (no wardrobe). There was a problem with ventilation or plumbing which caused the room to smell a bit during certain times of the day but opening the window all the time helped with the situation. It is also possible to hear your neighbours talking as sound proofing isn't very good. So if you are a light sleeper, this isn't a place for you. All in all, it was a decent place to stay with lots of character. I wish there were more of these places in Singapore. And oh, the 24 hour food court opposite is heaven sent! Try the famous wanton mee!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I wanted to give 3.5 stars but couldn't, so 4 stars it is.

2 thumbs up to Kam Leng for keeping much of the interior and exterior of an old heritage building mostly intact. I heard some hotel guests complain that the room floor is dirty, but it's not, it just looks old, which not everyone can appreciate.

The location is very good, just 15 minutes from the city centre, yet charming and close enough. The 24 hour local food court across the street is a godsend for hungry folks like me. I recommend the popiah, carrot cake, wantan mee, prawn mee, fishball noodles, minced meat noodles, and the frog porridge at night (if you like frogs).

The wifi available throughout the hotel is fast, which I really appreciate. The bathroom, although clean and modern-looking, seems to have some plumbing issues... no clogging, but some funky smells when I woke up one morning (not sure if I was smelling my neighbour's fumes). Yikes! Most times, it smelt fine though.

I like that the hotel doesn't waste space putting a wardrobe, but provides a water boiler, a safe, and a mini-fridge. Bed and linen is comfy, but rooms are not very sound-proof. I can hear most of what my neighbour says, and almost everything that happens in the hallway.

Didn't manage to try the hotel's restaurant, which seems to be quite a hit amongst the local young crowd.

Something to note: the hotel website's pictures look a lot swankier than in reality, so guests might be shocked to see that the common areas are really quite old, but they are clean.

Overall, I think it's a great place for people who love heritage sights, vintage stuff, and to see another side of Singapore, but can be a turn-off for people just looking for a modern shiny hotel. I would stay for 3 nights and no more.

Room Tip: With not very sound proof rooms the quality of your stay depends on your neighbours, really.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I just noticed some of the other reviews on Kam Leng and I reckon they have it wrong. So what if there are soap and shampoo dispensers bolted onot the bathroom wall, it doesn't matter there's no air-con in the bathrooms because you're in equitorial Singapore and you'll be having a cool shower after being out in the heat all day. The staff may not speak word-perfect English but they spoke English to me I reckon they were great, friendly chatty helpful.

This is not your classic Singapore-businesss style hotel. It's a renovated building from the early 1900s, as much as possible they have kept the original materials particularly the fabulous terrazzo floors and stairwells, in a range of greens and reds.

Yes the rooms are not large but there were two of us with loads of luggage, yes it was snug that said both agoda and kam leng site gave you the room dimensions, so no one's hdiing anything from you.

We checked in for four days went away for a week to an island, they looked after most of our luggage and then we stayed another night.

We loved the location just on the edge of Little India, great spot to wander around according ot the hotel its a bit of a festival most weekends. Hotel is directly opposite the Lavender St food court, according to to all the cabbies just about the best hawker/street food in Singers.

Speaking of cabs, I see one person compalining about the distance to the train station, it's not that bad given there's an entrance to Ferrers St station in the basement of the city sqr shopping mall (could have the name of mall wrong check with front desk, I know they speak English) And cabs anywhere are about 10-29 singapore if there's more thna one of you then it's worth it for the convenience.

Great little hotel that lived up to everytthing it promised

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kam Leng Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kam Leng Hotel

Address: 383 Jalan Besar, Singapore 209001, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
#141 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
#141 On the Beach Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kam Leng Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Kam Leng Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kam Leng Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kam Leng Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.