We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and noisy” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kam Leng Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kam Leng Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kam Leng Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   383 Jalan Besar, Singapore 209001, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #137 of 292 hotels in Singapore
sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Small and noisy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Positive
Very cute and quirky hotel. Very clean. Great wifi. Helpful staff. Not bad location if u dont mind a stroll. Great aircon

Negative
Very small rooms...not big enough for 2 adults. Bathroom all frosted glass with the only windows being in the bathroom which are french shutters so very noise. No curtains so take a eye mask and ear plugs. But damp smelling but once the aircon is on goes away. For the size i would say not good value for. money

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    103
    60
    15
    10
See reviews for
21
93
28
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cuautitlán Izcalli, Mexico, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

The Kam Leng is a budget hotel in a centric area of the city. It is in a building from 1938 that has been somehow remodeled trying to keep the old feeling. So there are narrow corridors, uneven floors, exposed plumbing etc. Also the room is VERY small, no place to put the luggage so it must be on the floor or in the bed. The only window is on the bathroom and filters the daylight to the room through a glass wall separating the bathroom from the room, so you feel a little like in a cage. Now, the price is very good for Singapore, if you just want to use the hotel for sleeping, it's OK since the location is superb, close to public transport, there is a huge food market right in front of it and a 7/11, and there is also free wifi. I felt like re-visiting my old grandma home from when I was a kid a long time ago.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Jawa Timur, Indonesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Very clean! Bus stop right opposite the hotel. Only 15 minutes to Orchad with bus, 5 mins to the nearest MRT station with bus, 10 mins to bugis market with bus, 5 mins walk to Mustafa centre
24 hours mini market & 24 hours big food court right opposite the hotel. Internet connection (wifi) was great! (12mbps).
Kamleng hotel was great for sleep (only). If you want more facilities Kam leng wasn't a good choice then

Room Tip: don't forget to ask room with window
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Clean, convenient, comfortable bed, and friendly staff. But a massive negative was that there were no curtains and several windows (frosted glass)! So we were woken up at the crack of dawn every morning for 3 days! Also, the room was very small.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Now, this is a tough review to write and the reason for it is that I am not sure that goes into what category? I got this hotel because the other one,where I really wanted to go was completely occupied so I had to book this one. There are couple of points on both the good and the bad sides. I shall mention both and you can see what works out for you. Okay let's start from the good things first

Good points:
The hotel is a budget hotel so if you are not willing to spend a lot and looking for a budget alternative, this can be an option but do remember that there are many more options as well and just one street away from it, you have got three more hotels to choose from. Anyways, the hotel is having a food square right opposite to it and a 7/11 as well. Also, it's about 10 minutes walk from the hotel to the little India area where there is a lot of variety of food available so in that aspect, the hotel is good. Also, there is hot water and free access to wifi. Free wi-fi is hard to get in budget hotels so if you are like me who comes on business trips and needs internet after the office for more than 2 hours, it's a big plus to have it without paying anything extra.

Now, that's the end of the good points. Let's see now the bad points!

Bad points!

The hotel doesn't seem like a hotel but like someone picked up an old house , renovated the rooms to be converted into a hotel room and opened it up. I came to know that it got renovation and got reopened and if this is the situation after it has got a reopening, I don't want to imagine how it was before! There is no window in the room and the only set of windows that you are going to find is in the washroom. So the room feels like a mini cage. The furniture in the room looks like picked up from doll house and of very bright colors which are not at all pleasant to the eyes. There is a tv in the room but only 5 channels are there and I guess most are in Chinese only though as you get the free access of internet , that shouldn't be a big problem. I found the staff a little rude as well. I reached at the hotel early and requested that if there is any room which gets free, let me have the early check-in. In front of me , two rooms got the checkout and still ,the staff at front reception didn't allow me to have an early check-in and mentioned that I have to pay 50SGD if I want to do it! Since I was sitting right there when the checkouts happened and then too, the staff didn't buzz at all and struck on getting the money-not something that I would really appreciate.

Overall, as I said , it's tough to say that whether it's a good choice or not. May be if you are coming only to stay outside for most of the time and would use the hotel only for sleep, it can be considered but with no windows in the room,no curtains to escape from the sunshine that's going to hit right in the face at the morning time, not so comfortable rooms, I still wouldn't recommend picking it as the first choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this little hotel for 2 nights, and I have mixed emotions about the stay! The first night we were on the 4th floor facing the road. It was very noisy and we ended up timing our sleep between the changing traffic lights, very little sleep was had! We asked for an internal room for the second night which the staff organised without a problem! The people sharing our floor were extremely noisy, and we ended up with even less sleep!
Having said that, the atmosphere of the hotel is wonderful, it has a quirkiness about it that was very unique! We had no problem with the restaurant, and staff were very friendly and accommodating.
The reconditioning didn't do a great deal to cool the room, which left it very stuffy.
The bed was comfortable, and when asked for another pillow, it was supplied!
Despite the lack of sleep I enjoyed my time at this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night after often looking across at the hotel whilst having dinner at the Lavender food court which is just across the road.. Thus is in a good location for the bus into the city .. Also across the road. The hotel has a very boutique feel about it and the conversation from an old store to a hotel is well done. The size of the room was also larger than many similar priced hotels in Singapore and I have stayed at many many of them. BUT... I suggest the owners try to sleep in one of their rooms after the sun has inched up over the horizon. What is it that there is no window protection. It just reins your sleep especially battling time zone change.. Owners and managers get window covers. !!!!! Otherwise paying customers ?. Stop booking this hotel. For this reason alone... Be warned.

I had a room facing and internal courtyard and that was very quiet however if you had a room facing the street and the light and noise of the very busy road not wake you I guess a wake up call from reception would not be needed.. Also found it a little difficult to get a vacant taxi at this hotel.. They are either hired or going so fast on the opposite side of the road they just do not bother to stop .

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kam Leng Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kam Leng Hotel

Address: 383 Jalan Besar, Singapore 209001, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
#137 On the Beach Hotel in Singapore
#137 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kam Leng Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Kam Leng Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kam Leng Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kam Leng Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.