We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid like the plague” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Kam Leng Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Kam Leng Hotel to your Saves list
Kam Leng Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   383 Jalan Besar, Singapore 209001, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #152 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Glen Waverley, Victoria, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Avoid like the plague”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This stay has been an absolute ordeal. This hotel was booked through an airline highly recommended for families - what a joke. They do not have a cot in the whole hotel, nor a change mat for a baby in any of the toilets, the staff pretend not to speak English when you ask them a question (eg can I borrow a pen), and took us 10 minutes to find someone when checking in.

The rooms are tiny, could not even get the door fully open in one of our rooms, as the bed was in the way, and no room for our bags, so we had to put them in the shower. No windows except in one of the showers (we had two rooms), and this had been poorly renovated and did not open. Room was hot and stuffy, and the aircon does not stay on if you take your key out to go out, so you come back from going out for the day to an oven with no air because the window does not open, if you are lucky enough to get a room with a window.

The pillow had the hair from the last person on it, asked housekeeping for another, they just waved and said hello until I physically gestured to them.

No guest directory, bar fridge too small to fit a bottle of drink in (Including their complimentary water with a used by date already expired), and toilet paper roll ran out first night and was not replaced by housekeeping the next day. Housekeeping also ignored our do not disturb sign hung on the door and entered our room whilst I was on the toilet.

Rate is exorbitant for the quality, as well as photos on the website are very photoshopped.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    122
    68
    21
    13
See reviews for
25
109
33
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

guess real estate in Singapore us super expensive because this room was the size of a 1 1/2 queen sized bed. We stayed in a windowless room...ugggh.But it was quiet and a good place to sleep off our jet lag from North America. The staff were attentive and helpful. The tv and the A/c were satisfactory. The lobby was fine but the chairs were not conducive for long term sitting. There was a free laptop in thr hall. The on site restaurant was clean and comfortable but expensive. The best part of the hotel is the location right across this fabulous food fair which is open 24/7 with more than 20 stalls. It is a great place to hang out at 3 am when recovering from jet lag. The walk to the MRT/ subway station takes about a 15 minutes. It is worth buying a link card to avoid paying separately each time for the bus or subway.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. Room was very small. Walls were thin and we could hear everything that was going on in the other rooms. Our room was right along the main road and the traffic noise was very disruptive, as were the activities of the KTVs across. Shower room was large enough but place your floor towel outside otherwise it becomes very grubby. This hotel charges hourly rates for late check out, which annoyed me as I had never been charged for late check outs before in other Asian countries.

Wifi was good, staff friendly enough and bed comfortable enough. Big food centre right across with a huge variety of food.

Better hotels can be found elsewhere for maybe $20 more.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

3 star (in US 1.5 star), but offered at 2 star pricing; room 418 superior queen (next to maid closet but not an issue); quiet, clean, very large almost new bathroom, almost no mildew; told staff that 2 ft. long shelf over desk should be 4 or 5 ft. long to create more civilized storage space; buses, taxis, immmediately outside; 1km walk to (2) nearest MRT (subway) & 1km walk to Little India shopping complexes; staff attempts to answer guests tourism questions; immediately across street is Asian ethnic food court with 30+ vendors; Singapore food very cheap in this case! Also 7-Eleven across street; AC, wifi, hot water all worked 6 straight days; building & room paint seemed recent & clean;

one must get creative with limited shelf & storage space; requested & got extra hangers; ranked it "average" in order to help it maintain its current ranking;

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

VERY small rooms, couldn't even fit our luggage into the room and ended up using one of our bigger cases as a table. Quite uncomfortable for 2 adults and 1 kid, but since we were only in transit for 10hrs it suited our purposes. Would not stay here more than 1 night. Room was extremely small but clean, bathroom had fresh air (our window opened overlooking the food court across the street), air con worked well and flat screen TV provided small entertainment for our kid.
No porter service, so we had to carry our own luggage which wasnt too much of an inconvenience, but the lift is so small it took two trips to get up to our 4th floor room.We stay in singpore a few times a year and like to try different hotels. Would recommend this hotel for singles or couples only, pricing was cheapish for Singapore but the location is quite good and the food court across the road was the best feature of this hotel. Lucky we are quite heavy sleepers and up on the 4th floor else the traffic from the main road below would have been a problem.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise Idaho
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This room is SMALL. There is no getting around this. There is NOWHERE to put your luggage. You can not walk around. There is literally walls on three sides of the bed, one step to the bathroom and you can not even open the door if someone is standing in the room. BUT....it is well priced, conveniently located and the service is good. The rooms may have been noisy but there were not many people staying there the week we were--Jan 2013. The best part of this hotel is the traditional food hawkers court across the street. Some of the best food you will have in Singapore and it is inexpensive. Only one block to the bus station and about three blocks to the MRT.

Room Tip: Do not try to stay here if you have a lot of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Location was good, near to a food court and also 5 minutes away from Subway station. The hotel rates are very expensive. Rooms are clean but you can hear any kind of voice from corridor because of doors. Also very small rooms, it is difficult to move, even put your suitcase to somewhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kam Leng Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kam Leng Hotel

Address: 383 Jalan Besar, Singapore 209001, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kam Leng Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kam Leng Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kam Leng Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kam Leng Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.