We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice secret nature hideout” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sungei Buloh Wetland Reserve

Sungei Buloh Wetland Reserve
301 Neo Tiew Crescent, Singapore 718925, Singapore
65 6794 1401
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 564 things to do in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 200-acre reserve, situated north of the island, is home to over 150 species of rare and exotic birds.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice secret nature hideout”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Great place to take children to wonder around with monitor lizard roaming the land occasionally and plenty in the water. Small cafe which could be better. Very hot and humid and wear some mossy repellant when visit.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    81
    16
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A visit to Sungei Buloh Wetland Reserve”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Sungei Buloh Wetland Reserve is under the jurisdiction of NParks, Singapore. This sprawling mangrove swamp is full of monitor lizards (Varanus salvator) and occasionally you can spot a few crocodiles. First opened by Prime Minister Goh Chok Tong, this public park is a great attraction for joggers and those who love nature. There is also a tall look-out tower where you can see migratory birds if you bring along your binoculars. You can see my video on You Tube under the title "The Malayan water monitor of Sungei Buloh, Singapore" by author hengcc. You can also see the water hen which appears near the water edge if you do not disturb this wading bird.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
107 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Serene”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Makes you forget you are in Singapore - reminded me of my childhood days. Other than rustic and back to nature, I feel safe (no crocs) or strange people or animals lurking around!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
396 reviews 396 reviews
207 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
569 helpful votes 569 helpful votes
“Experiential experience which excites both young & old!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Liked:
-Unique concept for eco-tourism.
-Ample amenities.
-Plenty of parking space.
-Easy to navigate map.
-Friendly registration staff.
-Convenient toilets.

DisLiked:
-Inaccessible by bus.

Tips:
-Spray insect repellent, you will thank me for reminding you!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“LOVELY!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I took my parents & husband up to the park for a day out in the fresh air.

I don't have a car & the public transport is very easy to get there as there is a private Kranji bus service that takes you from the MRT to the park.

We saw loads of monitor lizzards, crabs, mudskippers, kingfishers & even a crocodile!!

The cafeteria is limited so I recommend you take a picnic, otherwise there is a lovely bistro at Garden Asia that is one stop down on the Kranji bus & is really reasonable! Lovely fresh food with a wide range of choices.

This place is a really different aspect of Singapore & I would say a must to visit if you have the time. We will be going back again to explore the area more as we were pressed for time that day.

There is no entrance fee to the park either which is even better! The staff are very helpful & will provide you with a map. There are different trails for different levels of fitness but all are flat. We did the boardwalk & half the 3km but actually it was just really nice to sit in the main hide & watch the lizzards, fish jumping & birds.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sungei Buloh Wetland Reserve also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Sungei Buloh Wetland Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sungei Buloh Wetland Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.