We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice touch of France..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brasserie Gavroche

Brasserie Gavroche
66 Tras Street, Singapore, Singapore (Chinatown)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #290 of 7,750 Restaurants in Singapore
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A nice touch of France..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We always go to this place and have great meals. It's not too pricy for SIngapore standards, but it offers authentic French cuisine with great service and dishes.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    34
    14
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Run by French - who have classic Parisian malaise,in not liking service and arrogant.
Make you want to turn around and leave before you reach the table
Food portions generous and good but brasserie standard, prices are steep.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nicely french”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Nice french brasserie in Singapore. The food was authentical and tasted as in France. The price is, as in most similar restaurants in Singapore, of course a bit too high. However if you would like to taste real bistro style french food this is the place to go.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Very charming genuine atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

The atmosphere of this brasserie in Singapore is very genuine indeed. The decor, the french staff and even some of the food reminds me very much of places in France.
They didn't have the mussels the night we went due to some supplier issues.
The food was alright. Not fantastic. I liked the chef's creations better when he was at St. Regis.
The dessert was tge highlight.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Une bonne experience francaise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

We had a great dinner at brasserie Gavroche. I was also pleasantly surprised by the good quality of the wines by the glass.
I had escargots with a glass of haut medoc as a starter. Then moules marinieres with a Sancerre. Both dishes were very good. My mrs had a tartare de crevettes and a bavette a l'echalotte. The tartare was stunning. The profiteroles for dessert were excellent.
The restaurant (decor, mirrors and furniture) really makes you feel as if you we're in a upper end Parisien brasserie. The service was good and French speaking, adding to the experience.
What I would have liked to avoid:
Having to ask for lemon water to rinse my fingers after eating the mussels.
The ambient noise can be quite intense at times.
The lighting is a little low which can make reading the menu difficult.

The wines are pricey, even by the glass ~$18 but, the glasses i had were very good.
Overall a really good authentic French experience (some may say stereotypical, but remember, you are in Singapore). I will definitely go back, soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie Gavroche also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Brasserie Gavroche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brasserie Gavroche, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.