We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful orchids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Singapore Botanic Gardens

Singapore Botanic Gardens
1 Cluny Road, Singapore 259569, Singapore
65 6471 7361
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$75*
and up
See Singapore Attraction Pass
Ranked #2 of 278 Attractions in Singapore
Type: Gardens, Parks, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This national park is open daily and features beautiful lakes, animals, flowers and plants, including one of the region's first rubber tree orchards.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful orchids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Our tour bought us here but would rec om mend coming separately to have more time at this very beautiful place. The gardens overall are very big and also suggest an early start to beat the heat

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,611
    1,538
    272
    14
    7
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Centrally located-manyHeritage trees”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Definitely worth a few hours, although early or late in the day is better given all the walking you are likely to do and the midday heat. A highlight for me was the tour of the "Healing Garden" by a volunteer who could have been a standup comedian, except that her jokes were all ethnobotanical in nature. They have a rotating schedule of tours, most on Saturday. This is one world's best botanical gardens, and if you from the US northeast like I am most of the plants there are ones we only see in glass houses. Also check out the "Heritage trees" which are throughout Singapore, but the botanical gardens have a large number of these giants. Getting there by subway is easy.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Magical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I could have spent all day here. The gardens are just stunning. The metal palm tree like structures are just beautiful by day and stunning at night. There is a light show at 7:45pm every night - just beautiful. You must experience this if you go to Singapore

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A PEACEFUL AND BEAUTIFUL PLACE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We love this place and every time we visit Singapore make a special point to spend a couple of precious hours strolling through the gardens and particularly the orchid garden.

At $5.00 it is well worth the cost.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk England
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Lovely Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Lovely park, free to enter. Don't miss the Rain Forest, a rather sad remnant of what once covered large parts of our planet. During my visit I inadvertently walked into a birthday party of a group of young people. They offered me some of their food and drink and were so hospitable. Awesome.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Singapore Botanic Gardens also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Singapore Botanic Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Singapore Botanic Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.