We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great objects, small exhibitions and lovely location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Asian Civilisations Museum

Asian Civilisations Museum
1 Empress Place, Singapore 179555, Singapore (Downtown Core)
65 6332 2982
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$28*
and up
Singapore Boat Quay Historical Pub Walking Tour
Ranked #12 of 278 Attractions in Singapore
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Trace the cultural roots of the island’s diverse population through the museum’s interactive displays. Virtual hosts greet you at each of the themed exhibits, which focus on the peoples of Southeast Asia, West Asia, South Asia and China. There is a steady rotation of special exhibitions and a fantastic museum shop. Exhibit highlights of this diverse cultural museum include a ninth-century Buddha and a Chinese snuff box.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great objects, small exhibitions and lovely location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The high end quality of the objects, the displays and comfortable guidedance through its exhibitions is a great pleasure. i would visit it again. The restaurant serves fantistic food but is on the pricy side.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    544
    330
    76
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Take the time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The museum covers a lot of ground - in both content and floor space. We tackled just part of the 1st floor so we weren't overwhelmed by information.
The exhibition on the Singapore River was well laid out. I recommend taking the time to read the large-format books that accompany the displays. There"s a wealth of information to be found in their pages.
The exhibition of cultural items curated on the basis of media (e.g. gold, cloth) was fascinating, particularly the intricate metalwork.
The "samples" of various Asian cultural groups (e.g. Bataks) allowed us to better appreciate the great diversity in the region.
We are looking forward to our return visit to check out more of the offerings.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Don't try to do it all in one visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This museum's collection is impressive, make no mistake. The artifacts are all well maintained and displayed, and the entry price is very affordable (SG$8 for an adult, SG$4 for concession). However at times I felt as though the museum lacked a clear narrative in its exhibitions, which made it difficult to absorb the message that each of the eight galleries were trying to give, without having to read each and every info card. I tried doing this and a few galleries in it was getting tiring, and attempting to skim through information made it difficult to appreciate the museum.

I'd recommend you come into the museum with pick of two or three of the galleries that you'd most want to cover (separated into ethinicities). From there, I think the experience would be much more compelling.

P.S. I management is reading this, the museum at times is very dark. I appreciated the ambiance that is created but for a person with 20/20 vision, there were definitely times when the lighting was almost non-existant and information difficult to read.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“State of the Art Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Very well planned, high tech museum. Give yourself plenty of time if you want to make the most of all the computer information.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strong, Maine, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Definitive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

A great interactive cultural museum. And don't miss as well the Singapore National Museum (worth a day if you are really interested in the history and cultural development of Singapore).

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asian Civilisations Museum also viewed

 

Been to Asian Civilisations Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asian Civilisations Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.