We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only so so!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of YMCA One Orchard

Save Saved
You added YMCA One Orchard to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
YMCA One Orchard
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   One Orchard Road, Singapore 238824, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 182 Specialty lodging in Singapore
Sydney
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
“Only so so!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2006

We recently stayed at the YMCA International Hotel after some suggestions from Trip Advisor. It was OK but nothing to write home about. We had stayed at YWCA last year and I would say the room I had there was better. Maybe I was just lucky then but the room was huge (it had 2 beds and a couch) but there was a noise problem with a group of kids obviously staying at the hotel. This time the room was quite small, very little space around the bed. However it was quieter. It was still air conditioned and had a fridge but I was glad we were only staying for 2 nights, it would have been very cramped if we'd been staying longer. It was very clean so no problem there and for the price it was OK. Think next time (it is a convenient stop off point if flying to Europe) I'd try something different. Not sure where - will have to read a whole lot of reviews!).

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    237
    74
    9
    5
See reviews for
200
68
47
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Llangynwyd, Maesteg, Wales UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2006

We had a fantastic stay from the 4th to 15th July. The entire staff were warm, friendly and helpful. There was ample room for 3 in our standard room 819 that was well kept by the housekeeping staff whom we found to be extreaml helpful and polite and wish them well. I would recommend this Hotel to anybody without reservation and were very sad to leave and travel back to Mid Glamorgan, Wales UK.
Gerald, linda & Levi Thomas

  • Liked — Local community use of conference facilities
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2006

Great place to stay when you are in SIN. I stayed for one night and found the pool to be terrific along with the location. Room was a bit small (two beds) but it worked for me. Air conditioning worked excellent and breakfast buffet was simple but healthy and free.

Rate for one night (June 4, 2006) SDG$109.73 = $69.12

Great location near the Fort Canning Park (go check out the Battle Box) and the MRT subway close to the YMCA.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2006

Recently stayed at the YMCA Singapore (1 Orchard Rd) with family, 2 Adults & 2 Children (Ages 4&3).....The staff at the YMCA are friendly and the rooms were clean. We had breakfast with our accomodation which cost us $150.00 SGD (approx $125.00 AUD). Breakfast was buffet style and very good value.

Location was perfect as we were basically across the street from MRT station which can take you anywhere in Singapore. Also within walking distance from main shopping area.

Cannot say enough, pool was located on the roof, and was clean with some spectacular views of the city at night......

Would recommend anyone looking for somewhere easy and hassle free to stay.....

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2006

Me, my wife and 2 year old daughter stayed here for a short break in Singapore. The location is really good, as it's just a two minute walk from Dhoby Gaut interchange on the MRT system. This means that you can get to most places fairly rapidly. The room was OK, but, having specifically asked for a double bed and a single, we were a little annoyed that the "double" was just two single beds (made up as single beds) next to each other. Unfortunately, the walls are paper thin, so the drunken Americans that came back at about 3 in the morning weren't a welcome distraction from my sleep.
Beware, the breakfast was a great disappointment, and we ate out for the remainder of our trip after the first morning.
Overall, we saved money by staying there, the staff are friendly and helpful, the location is great, but it's a "no frills" type place.

Stayed March 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2006

Considering that the YMCA cost us about £30 a night, we were very impressed. The location is good, it's close to the MRT and you can walk easily to the river and beyond, and the rooftop swimming pool is surprisingly nice. It's not luxury by any means, but it's certainly adequate. The rooms are clean with air-con, fridge and TV, and we would recommend the place to anyone who doesn't want to spend too much, however I wouldn't recommend the breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2005

I went to Singapore with my friend on the 9 Dec 2005. The hotel was nice and clean and very affordable!

Although the room is a bit small and breakfast wasn't that interesting.. but overall is ok :)

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to YMCA One Orchard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YMCA One Orchard

Address: One Orchard Road, Singapore 238824, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 182 Specialty lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — YMCA One Orchard 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your YMCA One Orchard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ymca International House Hotel Singapore
YMCA One Orchard Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YMCA One Orchard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.