We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place in a clean place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of YMCA One Orchard

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added YMCA One Orchard to your Saves list
YMCA One Orchard
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   One Orchard Road, Singapore 238824, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 184 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful place in a clean place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

I visited Singapore last month with my 5 kids (age 7 - 11). The place is just awesome. It is clean, the staff is not only professional and kind, but they are endowed with a special Christian-Singaporean courtesy. My kids enjoyed the place. The breakfast was awesome and grand and at reasonable price.
The proximity with universities, churches, shopping centers, museums,... Make it an strongly recommendable place to stay.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCA-OneOrchard, Account Manager at YMCA One Orchard, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Kambale,

Thank you for staying with us and for your kind review, it is appreciated by both management and staff. We will improve our services to serve you better. We would love to welcome you back at YMCA @ One Orchard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    279
    85
    10
    5
See reviews for
225
83
57
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delhi, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

A friend and I were in Singapore for a conference and shared a twin bedded room on the 8th floor. The beds were very comfortable and the room with a window over looking the National Museum, was quiet. Just what we needed after a long day at the conference or long days exploring post conference. The room was fine as also the bathroom (we had looked at dozens of hotels rejecting most either because of the lack of 2 beds or the size of bathroom). We stayed 6 nights and had a very comfortable time. Good breakfast too. For two, the room could have been a little bigger but everything else was fine. Its very well located place, walking distance from Dhoby Ghaut. And for us vegetarians who were at times challenged by what we could eat, on the last day we discovered several places we could eat in across the road in Plaza Singapora. We were also able to get buses from outside the Y to our conference venue across the river.

I would stay here again.

And I must say the staff at the Y was very helpful and friendly. Thank you all at One Orchard Road.

Room Tip: The higher floor the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCA-OneOrchard, Account Manager at YMCA One Orchard, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Pjain58,

Thank you for staying with us and for your kind review, it is appreciated by both staff and management alike. It is heartening to hear that you found us to be helpful and friendly as we would like to make all our guest feel at home.

We would improve accordingly to serve you better. And we would love to welcome you back at our premises on your next trip to Singapore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Breakfast spread was great value for money. There could be some improvement with restocking food, plates and cutlery when low..

Rooms are a little more worn than they appear in the professional photos. Twin room was small with 2 suitcases. Bathroom was adequate and clean. What bothered us was the smell of ammonia on level 7 in the hallway. The smell did not affect our room and only limited to the hallway. Unsure whether it was from cleaning products or something else. Pool was good, great view of Marina Bay sands, water was a bit murky.

Quality of sleep was good, but earplugs are recommended.

Extremely close to Dhoby Ghaut MRT station that links up a few lines, approximately 3 mins by foot. National Museum of Singapore located pretty much next door.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCA-OneOrchard, Account Manager at YMCA One Orchard, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Selina T,

Thank you for taking time to review us based on your recent stay. We are glad to hear that you have a good stay with us and that you found our breakfast spread to be a great value for money.

We thank you for your feedback, we will look into the issues brought up and improve accordingly. And we will love to welcome you back to YMCA @ One Orchard on your next trip to Singapore to see some changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banjarmasin, Indonesia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Good rates with on line booking, excellent location, very clean room and toilet. Highly recommended, walking distant to Dhobi Gout metro station and Plaza Singapura and along Orchard road. Check in and out excellent. Friendly reception and helpful in so many ways for guidance. Plenty of food outlets near by and convenient and fast food store around. Will be staying here on my next trip.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCA-OneOrchard, Account Manager at YMCA One Orchard, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Novice O,

Thank you for your compliments, it is much appreciated. We would like to provide friendly services to all our guest!

We would improve to serve you better. Look forward to welcoming you back at YMCA @ One Orchard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Our family (2 adults, 2 teens) stayed 7 nights at the YMCA in connecting twin rooms on the eighth floor (rooms 805 and 806). We had a great view overlooking a park and Orchard Central shopping centre (which lights up spectacularly at night). The rooms were small, with no space to put a suitcase on the floor, however this forced us to put our things neatly away in the wardrobe which meant the rooms stayed much tidier than they normally would on a holiday! Each room had a very modern, clean bathroom with shower. The instant hot water systems were a bit annoying: the system doesn't heat up quickly enough for a decent shower so you can either have a trickle of real hot water or a lot of lukewarm water - given that it's tropical Singapore it's not a big issue. The aircon worked well and the bar fridges were super quiet (always a plus!). The rooms were cleaned daily and sometimes we would find our shoes lined up neatly in a row!

Reception staff were helpful and friendly. Breakfast is great but don't expect bacon (due to respect for muslim guests no pork is served). Lots of interesting asian dishes to try. There are some massage chairs in the foyer which are only $1 for 5 minutes (great after a long day of shopping!)

Its amazing how such a good value hotel is in such a central and fabulous location. You literally walk out the front door, cross the road and you are at the start of the Orchard Road shopping strip. Also across the road is the Doby Ghaut metro station which will take you anywhere you want to go on the island. You can get a metro card for $12 at the passenger info booth ($5 non-refundable card, $7 worth of value) which you can top up as needed. The trains are busy most of the day and night (we had to stand up most of our trips) but most of the tourist places are only a short ride away so its not too bad. If you go out to the zoo area I'd recommend a taxi as its a long trip on public transport (a half hour trip in a taxi only cost us $17!)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCA-OneOrchard, Account Manager at YMCA One Orchard, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear bigpond2448,

Thank you so much for your kind review and for staying with us, it is our pleasure to be of service to you. We would like to provide friendly and homely service to our guest.

We would look into the issue brought up and ensure that it is looked into. Do stay with us on your next trip to Singapore!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Wonderful 6 night stay at the Y. Staff couldn't have been more welcoming- it was like being part of the family.Apart from the low temperature of the hot water no issues with rooms- plenty of space to move around in ( twin room ). Free wifi worked well everywhere.Great views from the rooftop.Breakfast was more than just continental.Tea and coffee are not provided in rooms.Public transport very close by but if there is a group of people taxis work out cheaper

Room Tip: Superior rooms quite spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCA-OneOrchard, Account Manager at YMCA One Orchard, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Xenabenina,

Thank you for your compliments, it is heartening to hear that you felt 'welcomed' at YMCA @ One Orchard and had a wonderful stay with us. It is our pleasure to be of service to you.

We would improve our services to serve you better and we would love to welcome you back at YMCA @ One Orchard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Good location, convenient to anywhere. Hotel room is so so, hotel provide free wifi but cannot access inside room. Only lobby can access for better wifi. Early check-out, didn't try YMCA breakfast (breakfast included in the packages).

Room Tip: Yes, Room with free wifi but can't access inside room, Only at Lobby. For me, is just a normal h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCA-OneOrchard, Account Manager at YMCA One Orchard, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear ShingYau_Lim,

Thank you for your review and feedback. We have taken note of your feedback and would improve accordinly to serve you better.

We welcome you to stay with us on your next trip to Singapore if given the opportunity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to YMCA One Orchard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YMCA One Orchard

Address: One Orchard Road, Singapore 238824, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 184 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — YMCA One Orchard 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your YMCA One Orchard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ymca International House Hotel Singapore
YMCA One Orchard Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YMCA One Orchard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.