We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value hotel in ultra-convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of YMCA One Orchard

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added YMCA One Orchard to your Saves list
YMCA One Orchard
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   One Orchard Road, Singapore 238824, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 183 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Darwin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great value hotel in ultra-convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Our family (2 adults, 2 teens) stayed 7 nights at the YMCA in connecting twin rooms on the eighth floor (rooms 805 and 806). We had a great view overlooking a park and Orchard Central shopping centre (which lights up spectacularly at night). The rooms were small, with no space to put a suitcase on the floor, however this forced us to put our things neatly away in the wardrobe which meant the rooms stayed much tidier than they normally would on a holiday! Each room had a very modern, clean bathroom with shower. The instant hot water systems were a bit annoying: the system doesn't heat up quickly enough for a decent shower so you can either have a trickle of real hot water or a lot of lukewarm water - given that it's tropical Singapore it's not a big issue. The aircon worked well and the bar fridges were super quiet (always a plus!). The rooms were cleaned daily and sometimes we would find our shoes lined up neatly in a row!

Reception staff were helpful and friendly. Breakfast is great but don't expect bacon (due to respect for muslim guests no pork is served). Lots of interesting asian dishes to try. There are some massage chairs in the foyer which are only $1 for 5 minutes (great after a long day of shopping!)

Its amazing how such a good value hotel is in such a central and fabulous location. You literally walk out the front door, cross the road and you are at the start of the Orchard Road shopping strip. Also across the road is the Doby Ghaut metro station which will take you anywhere you want to go on the island. You can get a metro card for $12 at the passenger info booth ($5 non-refundable card, $7 worth of value) which you can top up as needed. The trains are busy most of the day and night (we had to stand up most of our trips) but most of the tourist places are only a short ride away so its not too bad. If you go out to the zoo area I'd recommend a taxi as its a long trip on public transport (a half hour trip in a taxi only cost us $17!)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCA-OneOrchard, Account Manager at YMCA One Orchard, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear bigpond2448,

Thank you so much for your kind review and for staying with us, it is our pleasure to be of service to you. We would like to provide friendly and homely service to our guest.

We would look into the issue brought up and ensure that it is looked into. Do stay with us on your next trip to Singapore!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    248
    78
    9
    5
See reviews for
204
74
51
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Wonderful 6 night stay at the Y. Staff couldn't have been more welcoming- it was like being part of the family.Apart from the low temperature of the hot water no issues with rooms- plenty of space to move around in ( twin room ). Free wifi worked well everywhere.Great views from the rooftop.Breakfast was more than just continental.Tea and coffee are not provided in rooms.Public transport very close by but if there is a group of people taxis work out cheaper

Room Tip: Superior rooms quite spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCA-OneOrchard, Account Manager at YMCA One Orchard, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Xenabenina,

Thank you for your compliments, it is heartening to hear that you felt 'welcomed' at YMCA @ One Orchard and had a wonderful stay with us. It is our pleasure to be of service to you.

We would improve our services to serve you better and we would love to welcome you back at YMCA @ One Orchard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Good location, convenient to anywhere. Hotel room is so so, hotel provide free wifi but cannot access inside room. Only lobby can access for better wifi. Early check-out, didn't try YMCA breakfast (breakfast included in the packages).

Room Tip: Yes, Room with free wifi but can't access inside room, Only at Lobby. For me, is just a normal h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCA-OneOrchard, Account Manager at YMCA One Orchard, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear ShingYau_Lim,

Thank you for your review and feedback. We have taken note of your feedback and would improve accordinly to serve you better.

We welcome you to stay with us on your next trip to Singapore if given the opportunity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Nice clean Place , Helpful and Pleasant staff. We had a delux room with an extra bed was little cramped for space but the YMCA had taken a approval from us. Family room would have been ideal. Location was perfect with MRT station very near by. Complimentary breakfast was good guess they need to change the menu alternate days otherwise the same spread is there for all days and becomes monotonous if staying for long.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCA-OneOrchard, Account Manager at YMCA One Orchard, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear KaushikCoorg,

Thank you for your compliments and for your feedback. We would improve accordingly to serve you better. And we welcome you to stay with us on your next trip to Singapore!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Stayed with my wife and two sons in the family room. One queen bed and one single bed.

The room is clean and the staff are friendly. Check in is fast, so is the check out.

What I like most about the room is it has windows. I can't stay in an air conditioned room without ventilation.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCA-OneOrchard, Account Manager at YMCA One Orchard, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear andrehyg,

Thank you for your kind review and for staying with us, it is much appreciated.

We are glad that check-in and check-out are prompt and that you found our staff to be friendly.

Do stay with us on your next trip to Singapore. We would improve accordingly to serve you better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We spent three nights at the Y and found excellent value for our money. Yes small rooms but we spent most of our time out and about. Clean, quiet with good bathroom. Staff was friendly and the breakfast spread was better than expected. Short walk to the subway.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCA-OneOrchard, Account Manager at YMCA One Orchard, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Robert G,

Thank you for staying with us and for your compliments, It is our pleasure to be of service to you. We would like to provide friendly service and would improve accordingly to serve you better during your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

My husband and I stayed YMCA One Orchard for our first trip to Singapore and we were not disappointed. Very helpful and pleasant staff, clean bathrooms and rooms with wifi, good breakfast. Very good location and easy walk to Plaza Singapura and Dhoby Ghaut MRT. Good place to stay for people who want to explore the beautiful Singapore at a reasonable price. The staff was able to get a taxi for us quickly so we can be on our way to Gardens by the bay. Loved Singapore right away and we're planning to go back soon!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCA-OneOrchard, Account Manager at YMCA One Orchard, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Mark_Liza,

Thank you for loving our little sunny island! It is our pleasure to be of service to you. As you have mentioned, we aim to provide value for money accommodation in the heart of the city.

We will love to welcome you back at YMCA @ One Orchard if given the opportunity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to YMCA One Orchard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YMCA One Orchard

Address: One Orchard Road, Singapore 238824, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 183 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — YMCA One Orchard 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Venere, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your YMCA One Orchard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ymca International House Hotel Singapore
YMCA One Orchard Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YMCA One Orchard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.