We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy Place to Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of YMCA One Orchard

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added YMCA One Orchard to your Saves list
YMCA One Orchard
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   One Orchard Road, Singapore 238824, Singapore (Orchard Road)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 189 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Marikina, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cozy Place to Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Me and my friends stayed here way back September 2011. From Malaysia, we stayed in SG for 3 days and stayed at YMCA hotel. We got a room with 4 beds. It has big space and clean beds and bathroom. Breakfast was good. They offer different foods each day. I love the fresh fruits they serve in the morning. They even allowed us to get an extra room before our flight since it'll be at midnight, so we can leave our luggage and freshen up before we leave. Staffs are friendly. They also clean our room everyday. Overall, the stay was great. it's just that there's no nearby attraction. We need to take a cab anywhere we go. Subway is about 5-10 minutes walk, and it's near a school/university.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCA-IH, Account Manager at YMCA One Orchard, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your kind and honest review, it is much appreciated. We would improve to serve you better and we welcome you to stay with us on your next trip to Singapore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    301
    90
    12
    5
See reviews for
240
92
61
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Great 5nights in family room. 2 adults + 2kids(9 & 14). Pool great. breakfast bonus.It would be great if you could hire or have extra towels for pool as it is needed . location is awesome. we stayed in room 723.
Would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCA-IH, Account Manager at YMCA One Orchard, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Your kind review and recommendation are much appreciated. We would improve to serve you better. And we welcome you to stay with us on your next visit to Singapore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The YMCA is located only a couple of meters away from shopping malls, Clark Quay and two metro stations making it an ideal starting point to explore Singapore. The pools is more than adequate to cool off after a long day of exploring and the rooms are in good shape.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCA-IH, Account Manager at YMCA One Orchard, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your honest feedback, it is much appreciated. We would improve to serve you better and we welcome you to stay with us on your next trip to Singapore. Happy Easter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fernando, Philippines
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

i booked this hotel because it's located @ orchard road and very convenient to everything.the room we had was a bit out dated but it was clean specially the toilet and bathroom.they have free 2 bottled of mineral water per day , basic toiletries and have free daily buffet breakfast. their buffet breakfast was good though i was looking for some rice and they don't have :D , while u are having breakfast u will hear the christian songs being played ..staffs are very helpful and accommodating. outside the hotel u can take the bus directly going to the airport .i will definitely come back to this hotel for my 8th times visit .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCA-IH, Account Manager at YMCA One Orchard, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your honest review and for staying with us. It is much appreciated. We would improve to serve you better and we welcome you to stay with us at YMCA International House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is a reasonably priced and well managed budget hotel. The staff are very helpful and friendly. We stayed here twice - once on the way to Australia in February and again on the way back in March. Perfect location for the MRT and great for the shopping area of Orchard Road. Rooms are fairly small but thats no problem when all you do is sleep there. TV and safe in the room. Kettle and cups are provided but no sachets of tea, coffee, sugar etc - hopefully that will be rectified after my feed back form. Nice modern bathroom with very useful packs of toothbrush, toothpaste, soap, shower gel and shampoo. Will definately stay here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCA-IH, Account Manager at YMCA One Orchard, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your kind and honest review, it is much appreciated. We are glad that you found our staff to be helpful and friendly as we would like our guest to feel at home. Moving forward, we would improve progressively to serve you better. And we welcome you to stay with us at YMCA International House on your next visit to Singapore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vung Tau, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Quite nice, with a swimming pool on the rooftop.
One thing I hate: There is only 1 key for each room, they need breakfast-coupon for every moring, staff speak Singlish.
Near the MRT, breakfast is nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCA-IH, Account Manager at YMCA One Orchard, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your honest review. We would improve our services accordingly to serve you better and we welcome you to stay with us at YMCA International House on your next visit to Singapore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

From so many hotel choices in Singapore, I chose this place because of location and price. I booked 2 months ahead and after reservation, I saw their promotion on the website. When I asked to change my rate, they said rooms with the promotional rate don't have a safe and in lower floors. So I took the original booking of standard room - didn't get to use a safe after all though.

The things I didn't like: 1) the room I checked in was on 8th floor but had no view at all only facing the next room so that I couldn't open the curtains. 2) Breakfast was okay considering the time and walk to go outside. But nothing much to choose from. 3) since we only got one big towel, no towels at the swimming pool area wasn't convenient. I had to call housekeeping to exchange a new one. 4) there was smoking smell entering the room so I had to turn the air conditioning up to top speed - I thought the building was no-smoking but... 5)the water pressure on shower was okay but hot water wasn't hot enough.

The things I liked: 1) location: a couple of min. of walk to Dhoby Ghaut MRT station where 3 lines meet. And right next to national museum where admission is free after 6pm. Going to city center and Getting on SAEx bus was very convenient. 2) small kit of shampoo and stuff 3) room was clean enough. 4) staff were nice and friendly.

The rate is a bit expensive compared to what I expected but considering the location it was a good deal for me. I would come back if come to Singapore again since now I know what to expect.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCA-IH, Account Manager at YMCA One Orchard, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your honest review, it is much appreciated. We would improve our services accordingly to serve you better and we welcome you to stay with us at YMCA International House on your next visit to Singapore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to YMCA One Orchard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YMCA One Orchard

Address: One Orchard Road, Singapore 238824, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Orchard Road
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 189 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — YMCA One Orchard 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your YMCA One Orchard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ymca International House Hotel Singapore
YMCA One Orchard Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YMCA One Orchard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.