We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent budget hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of YMCA One Orchard

Save Saved
You added YMCA One Orchard to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
YMCA One Orchard
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   One Orchard Road, Singapore 238824, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 182 Specialty lodging in Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent budget hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

This is not your dorm style backpacker place. Yes it is the YMCA but it has a hotel. Clean and basic. Only single beds. Close to MRT and bus stop. Very helpful front desk.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Sales and Marketing Executive at YMCA One Orchard, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it. We are also glad that you have found our receptionists (at the front desk) friendly.

We welcome you to stay with us at YMCA Internationa House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    237
    74
    9
    5
See reviews for
200
68
47
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We spent two weeks in Singapore so wanted to keep room costs down. YMCA is a super option. The room was decently sized, cleanliness levels were great- in fact, there is nothing negative to write about at all. The breakfasts were more than sufficient. Location was a 5min walk from the MRT -& truly that was the reason we chose this place. The lady at the reception was super friendly- she handed my daughter a boiled sweet everytime we entered or left- my daughter cant wait to return!

Room Tip: Away from the lift- as people tend to congregate before heading to their respective rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Sales and Marketing Executive at YMCA One Orchard, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank for staying with us and giving us an opportunity to be of service to you. We appreciate you comments and your review will spur us to be more motivated to be service-oriented.

We welcome you to stay with us on your trip to Singapore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

YMCA International House is very close to the train station which can get you to various points in the city. internet is free, breakfast is included, rooms were clean and staff were friendly and very professional.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Sales and Marketing Executive at YMCA One Orchard, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

We hope you have enjoyed your stay in YMCA International House and the hospitality provided by our staff. YMCA International House is accessible due to its central location.

We welcome you to stay with us on your next trip to Singapore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

YMCA was recommended by my online friends so we tried it out. It was conveniently located along Orchard Road thus it was easy to find, plus it is near Dhoby Gaut train station and a bus stop so it's very easy for tourists to get from place to place. The room is clean and comfortable. The sheets are really clean and neat, water pressure is great. It's buffet breakfast and food is good, nothing exceptional, but it was good. The room is quite small but just ok. The room given to us best fits 2 people but even if we were 3, it was ok.

My only concern was during my online reservation. Too many people are handling it and I had to call overseas to follow up on confirmation. Also, they were not able to take note of my reservation that we are 3 people in a room so I was charged for an extra bed when we checked in instead of having it paid in advance.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay there. Will definitely stay there again when we come back to Singapore.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Sales and Marketing Executive at YMCA One Orchard, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Firstly, thank you for your review. We are glad that you found our location to be convenient and our rooms to be comfortable and clean. As for your feedback with regards to reservation process, we are currently looking into upgrading our reservation process. We sincerely sorry for the inconvenience caused by the incident.

We welcome you to stay with us on your next trip to Singapore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We stayed at YMCA for 8 days. The first day we stayed in the superior Double room which was facing the road and had an excellent view, next day we moved to the junior suite room which is big room but the view is not as good as the double room facing the road.

the Staff is very helpful.

one tip on improvement for them would be not to repeat the same breakfast daily.

Overall its a nice place, MRT is close by, lots of shopping malls and churches around, we loved staying there.

Room Tip: Rooms above the 4th floor and facing the road have a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Sales and Marketing Executive at YMCA One Orchard, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

We are glad that you found our place to be nice for family vacation, our staff to be helpful to your needs and our location to be accessible.
As for your feedback with regard to breakfast, we are looking to make improvement to serve you better.
We welcome you to stay with us on your trip to Singapore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We have had a pleasant stay. Staff are friendly and helpfull. House keeping staff very honest ( Left my wallet on the bed and nothing was missing). Very easy to travel around as it is near to the MRT station.Will definately return for our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCA-IH, Sales and Market Executive at YMCA One Orchard, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for staying with us and for your compliment on our staff. We are glad that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful; and location to be acessible.

We welcome you to stay with us on your next visit to Singapore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We had a family deluxe room, with an extra bed to sleep four. While this made the room fairly tight it was worth it to have everyone in one room. The room was clean and comfortable and the bathroom excellent. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCA-IH, Sales and Marketing Executive at YMCA One Orchard, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for sharing your experience at YMCA International House. We appreciate it :). We are glad that you found our rooms clean and location to be accessible. And we welcome you to stay with us on your next trip to Singapore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to YMCA One Orchard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YMCA One Orchard

Address: One Orchard Road, Singapore 238824, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 182 Specialty lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — YMCA One Orchard 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your YMCA One Orchard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ymca International House Hotel Singapore
YMCA One Orchard Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YMCA One Orchard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.