We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much needed sleep, at a price.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Transit Hotel Terminal 1

Save Saved
You added Ambassador Transit Hotel Terminal 1 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ambassador Transit Hotel Terminal 1
Departure Transit Lounge East, Level 3, Changi Int'l Airport Terminal 1, Singapore, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 291 hotels in Singapore
Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Much needed sleep, at a price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

If you are willing to pay for the absolute privilege of being able to shower and sleep between connecting flights, then do it! Although the other terminals were booked out -and we had tried to book- we were able to get in here after catching the monorail between the terminals. Rooms are basic, but beds are comfy and showers are hot. You also get pool and gym access with your room rate.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    184
    79
    9
    15
See reviews for
64
118
115
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Broome, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed on a quick stop overdosis on our way to Kuala Lumpur on Jetstar Asia WHO fly out PC Terminal 1. Arriving at midnight the staff very efficient but not over friendly. The rooms were clean and roomy without any residual noise from adjoining rooms. The price is very reasonable.
The only downside if you are not booked thru on the same airline is that you can only travel with hand luggage as you can't clear customsvand then return to transit.

Room Tip: Just ask any of the friendly airport information staff for directions to the various terminal hotels...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We were booked into the Transit Hotel at Terminal 2 because that's where we were leaving from in the morning. We arrived at around 9:30 pm and by the time we found the hotel we thought we were in Terminal 2. The staff kindly explained that we were in the wrong terminal, but offerred us a room in Terminal 1. We gratefully accepted this and then they advised the Hotel in Terminal 2 that we wouldn't be staying there. We were pleasantly surprised with our room and enjoyed our 8 hour rest before our next flight.
There was plenty of tea and coffee in the room and the shower was clean and had good water pressure.
We were a bit concerned about our luggage, but it all works really well, you have to leave your luggage if you don't have a connecting flight because you can't get back into the area without a boarding pass!

We stayed in a different room in the same hotel on our way back from India and were very pleased with the check-in and check-out both times.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
International
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Booked a twelve-hour block at the Ambassador Transit Hotel in Singapore's Changi Airport Terminal 1 in October. It's easy to access and has a great outdoor pool area. Close to everything you need and any onward flights. Room was a little stuffy and dirty but it serves it purpose very well. Staff were friendly and welcoming. Not the first time I've stayed here and it wont be the last. If you can, stay in terminal three as it's more modern and a little fresher.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senatobia MS.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Booked a six-hour block at the Ambassador Transit Hotel in Singapore's Changi Airport Terminal 1 in Novemeber. My flight arrived around 1:30am. The front desk staff were very friendly and check in took only a couple of mins. I booked a single room with facilities. I was given a double with facilities. The room was very nice. The bed was comfortable and the water pressure in the shower was excellent. I ordered a wake up call for 8am. The check out was very quick and then it was a trip down the escalator for breakfast at Starbucks. I would highly recommend the transit hotel for your short layovers between flights. Will surely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We pre-booked a six hour slot in a twin room with en-suite bathroom to break up the long journey from Heathrow to Melbourne. We chose Terminal 1 as it was near the swimming pool - but as we slept so well in the room we didn't use the pool. Sleep and a shower was the priority for us and the hotel served our needs very well. Check in was quick, courteous and efficient and the room was cool, spacious and very clean with comfortable beds and spotless bed linen. The bathroom was modern, clean and had a bath with a good shower. Noise from the air-conditioning and from the planes outside was minimal and didn't disturb us at all. I shall book another room for our return trip as I found it so beneficial.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christchurch
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

My wife and I had a 16 hour stopover in Singapore before departing on an early morning flight. We booked for an 8 hour stay in Terminal 1 (they charge by the hour). We cleared immigration after landing and spent time in the city having a meal with friends and shopping. Our flight took off in Terminal 2 next morning and Vincent the helpful receptionist offered to put us in Terminal 2 when we checked in after the trip to Singapore city, but we declined as the efficient Skytrain could take us to any terminal irrespective which terminal you stayed in. The room was clean, shower hot, and eating places a few minutes away. It was economical as we only paid for the hours we used the room.

Room Tip: Book early as vacancy can be tight, stayed in rooms there with and without a window but as used only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ambassador Transit Hotel Terminal 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Transit Hotel Terminal 1

Address: Departure Transit Lounge East, Level 3, Changi Int'l Airport Terminal 1, Singapore, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
#53 Family Hotel in Singapore
#65 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#71 Business Hotel in Singapore
#74 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Ambassador Transit Hotel Terminal 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Transit Singapore
Ambassador Transit Hotel Terminal 1 Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Transit Hotel Terminal 1, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.