We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dull, loud and awful.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of YWCA Fort Canning Lodge

Save Saved
You added YWCA Fort Canning Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
YWCA Fort Canning Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Fort Canning Rd, Singapore 179494, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #113 of 292 hotels in Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Dull, loud and awful.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This place is as dull as they come, the rooms are dull, the breakfast selection is just as dull. The hotel is extremely loud as each room is fitted with a super strong door closer, so all you here is each door banging closed. Also they seem to cater for large tour groups who arrive on mass and the yell up and down the hall ways, coming in and out of the rooms, with the doors going Bang, Bang, Bang. We woke up one night with a strong smell of cigarette smoke in our room, we reported it but nothing happened. If you want to use the pool then be ware that it is used for after school swimming lessons, then water aerobics. The price was also a bit much but we used the booking site connected to their website which has a no refund policy. I did call the Parkroyal on beach road and enquirer to the price per night and they were 20 dollars cheaper. Have stayed in many hotels in many different countries and actually live in India for four years and have stayed in some strange places, but this place although stating "we serve on another with love" or something like that, they actually seem to only serve the dollar and how much profit they can make.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    242
    147
    45
    21
See reviews for
116
109
46
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The view from our 11th Floor Family Room was great, especially at night. Short walk through adjacent Park Mall car park to Dhoby Gaut MRT station, buses or a short walk to Plaza Singapura on Orchard Road. The room was big and en suite also big. Very clean. We could have had breakfast there but had it elsewhere on our way to see attractions. MRT is close to Chinatown. We stayed 2 nights but will stay again when next in Singapore. Free WiFi in our room but only for one device at a time. Make sure your taxi driver knows where it is as there is another similar named hotel nearby. Good choice.

Room Tip: Higher floors give a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for 7 nights and 8 days on the 11th floor. There’s nothing spectacular about this hotel we chose it for its location.

- Near Park Mall, you can use the car park entrance to actually take a short cut towards the following places.
- Penang Road heading to Dhoby Gaut Mrt Station (also near Bus Stops and taxi stands)

- 5 to 10 minutes walk towards Orchard road Singapura Mall if im not mistaken.

Once you’re near at any MRT Station and bus stops you are pretty much ready to explore Singapore.

Cons:
- Bathroom is cramped. Toilet seat and Shower Room very close to each other to have enough free space to move.

- Laundry is way expensive. To do your laundry you have to buy a token at the reception desk for SGD 5 for washing and SGD 5 for Drying a total of SGD 10. However in our experience it doesn’t always dry at the first spin or the second one at that. So had a talk with the reception carrying some of my laundry that was still dump. They did not give me a free token they did send maintenance at the laundry area however problem was not fixed. In the end.. Spent a total SGD 25 to do our laundry..
(Oh the outside Laundromat cost SGD .50 to wash and another SGD .50 to dry. )

- Recurring Key card problems on the elevator and hotel room.

- They did not change our bed sheet/s. Room service would usually arrive at around 11 am to clean the room, change towels and replace/ fix the bed sheets. On our 2nd Night we noticed that our bed sheets have not been changed! We called for room service but it was no longer available. The following morning before leaving our room we especially asked for the sheets to be changed/ replaced. Upon our arrival it wasn’t the case. So my beautiful fiancée took matters into her own hands, she removed the sheets from the bed crumpled it up with our used towels while i was calling room service. A few minutes later there was a knock on our door and she politely handed over our sheets and towels to be replaced. =] The staff was a bit surprised and left. 20 to 30 minutes later they finally had it changed. (There was a coffee stain on the sheets that i accidentally spilled that is how we knew.)

Room Tip: do not do your laundry here = ] specially when you plan on staying for several days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canberra
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My three children and I stayed here for one night. From Changi airport it was a $30SGD taxi fare (just under actually) to the hotel - what a fantastic location, just behind Orchard Road and near the main train station that will take you anywhere around Singapore quickly and cheaply. We stayed in a quad room with four large single beds, a small ensuite and a small fridge with a safe. The midday check out was excellent as we were able to go for a long walk and a shop before having to go back and collect our luggage. The service was average - competent - and the rooms, while basic, have everything you need and were clean. The rate was not cheap at just under $300SGD for one night but for a family of four who just came off an international flight and wanted a bed each - perfect. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

POSITIVE: Quite near MRT station and Orchard Road. Rooms are spacious.
NEGATIVE: No free internet connection even in the lobby. Room rates are a little bit expensive.
Staffs at reception are not very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A group of us who were at school in Singapore back in the 1960s and now live all over the world were back to celebrate our school's 50th anniversary. A number of us chose to stay here due to its value for money, ideal location (Dhobi Gaut MRT just 5 minutes away, Fort Canning Park next door, Orchard Rd over the road, Collyer Quay just a few minutes walk away), and its reputation as a fine place to stay. And we were not disappointed. When I'm back this way next time I plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Once you get past the rude staff at the desk, it only gets worse....
Unfortunately for us we booked a family room here, wanted to cancel as soon as we viewed room but we couldn't, credit card was swiped at desk
- Room is run down, ask to see room before forwarding credit card
- Bathroom not cleaned properly
- Cannot turn aircon down, old controller doesn't work
- Booked a family room, double & single only, booked for four, picture clearly showed 2 dbl beds
- THEY WANT $95 extra per night for extra single bed
PAY MORE, AVOID AT ALL COSTS

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to YWCA Fort Canning Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YWCA Fort Canning Lodge

Address: 6 Fort Canning Rd, Singapore 179494, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#113 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — YWCA Fort Canning Lodge 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, AsiaRooms, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your YWCA Fort Canning Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ywca Fort Canning Hotel Singapore
Ywca Fort Canning Singapore
YWCA Fort Canning Lodge Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YWCA Fort Canning Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.