We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, clean basic hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of YWCA Fort Canning Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added YWCA Fort Canning Lodge to your Saves list
YWCA Fort Canning Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Fort Canning Rd, Singapore 179494, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #120 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good, clean basic hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We (2 adults & one 7yo child) stayed here for 5 nights; we found the hotel to be perfectly adequate for our short stay in Singapore. Especially convenient for Orchard Road, and Dhoby Ghaut main interchange MRT station as well as beautiful park land opposite encompassing a spice garden, and small sculpture garden (5 mins walk to all these places).

The breakfast was more or less the same every day but catered for European (bread for toast, eggs, frankfurter sausages, danish pastries) and Asian (Har Gau, Char Sil Bau, noodles, rice etc) as well as tea and coffee, chilled orange juice and water. We were provided with breakfast on the day of our departure (without having to ask for it) as we were leaving very early.

The room itself was basic but well-sized. There was a fridge, a safe, plenty of storage, a dressing table/mirror/stool. No carpet in the floor, but I preferred this as easier to keep clean and no nasty smells/spills whih you often get with hotel carpets.

Negative points include no WIFI (but you could pay $10 for 1 hour internet), having to repeatedly ask for 2 towels one day, and sometimes inconsiderate other guests who banged their doors after midnight. We have a child and found this particularly irritating as it woke him up on occasion.

All in all a good hotel for the money we paid. Singapore is an expensive city to stay in and this was a little gem in a great location. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    254
    153
    44
    21
See reviews for
128
112
47
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Great hotel, friendly staff and fantastic location. I would have preferred a double bed and not two single beds for my wife and I. Breakfast was good and overall great value for money in a very expensive city.

Room Tip: If you have a partner, ask for a double bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed here twice because i love the location of this hotel. short walking distance to Dohby Ghaut interchange MRT station. Their breakfast menu was the same throughout my stay maybe one or two change but it was good enough for me.
The bonus point: this hotel is situated in a quiet and peaceful area with hardly any traffic so you will not hear honk honk or zoom zoom in the middle of the night.
Tell the taxi driver go to YWCA instead of Fort Canning Lodge because the driver don't know where is Fort Canning Lodge.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We were a group of 8 people initially going to Singapore for F1 for 4 days. We were recommended FCL by my brother who had stayed here previously.
After further discussion we decided to move onto Malaysia for a few days and then return back to FCL for 6 more days.
This was a very good decision as FCL while being a basic hotel it is comfortable, clean, central, fully air conditioned, pool and staff very friendly.
We had rooms overlooking the park and some distant high rise buildings which were lit up at night giving lovely views.
Breakfast was included and provided all we needed, cereal, fruit, eggs, sausage, fried rice, noodles, toast, tea, coffee and fruit juice etc. You can also have lunch / evening meals here, we were always out and about so did not use.
Rooms have hair dryers, tea/coffee making, fridge, safes and plenty of space for clothes.
It is located very central to train station, buses, shopping malls and no problem in getting taxis or you could just walk.


Would we stay here again... a definite yes.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I stayed in Singapore for a work trip for 4 days/4nights and had a wonderful experience at this hotel. The bed was very comfortbale and the room was very clean. The water in the shower was a bit cool at first, but if I turned it off and on a few times, it finally became hot. The room came equipped with a mini-fridge which had water and other items in it that you could purchase if need be. Internet was quite experience to purchase each day which was unfortunate, but this might be the standard in Singapore. The view out of my room window was also quite beautiful.

The complimentary breakfast downstairs was amazing, and quite a few choices. Every morning the spread was full and constantly hot, and the service was great.

The YWCA is located just up the hill from Orchard Road, Singapore's famous shopping street. It was quite easy to get from the hotel down to the shops and the frontdesk staff was very helpful in making sure I had the correct directions, and even gave me a map. Overall it was a great experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

My husband and i stayed here while we were attending the formula 1 grand prix. Not the flashyist place in Singapore but worth the stay. We stayed in a deluxe queen room that was very spacious with ensuite, complimentary toiletries all the mod cons, including daily breakfast for 5 days. The only negative was the bed was rock hard and the room was very hot when you returned of an evening because your only given 1 key and thats operates the aircon. It cooled quickly once on. Breakfast was buffet style, hot or cold dishes ranging from cereals, toast, eggs, bacon, rice, fresh fruit, huge selection and more than enough to see you through. The swimming pool was very clean and refreshing and we swam every morning at 8am before venturing out. All in all we loved it and would stay here again definately.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canadian in Paradise
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The reason why I think this is the best budget hotel in Singapore is not only because the rooms are extremely clean and well-equipped, but the LOCATION is fantastic, only a 5 minute walk to the best parts of Orchard Road!

Sure, you can get cheaper hotels, but look at their location, in seedy areas, nothing like Orchard Road, right?

In my opinion, with a family, this is THE place to stay in Singapore, on a budget!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to YWCA Fort Canning Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YWCA Fort Canning Lodge

Address: 6 Fort Canning Rd, Singapore 179494, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — YWCA Fort Canning Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, AsiaRooms, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your YWCA Fort Canning Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ywca Fort Canning Hotel Singapore
Ywca Fort Canning Singapore
YWCA Fort Canning Lodge Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YWCA Fort Canning Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.