We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and peaceful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of YWCA Fort Canning Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added YWCA Fort Canning Lodge to your Saves list
YWCA Fort Canning Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Fort Canning Rd, Singapore 179494, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #139 of 301 Hotels in Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Quiet and peaceful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Easy access to public transportation..nice park nearby...for those who enjoy quiet peaceful ..away from busy city..
Museum of Singapore is nearby. Really enjoy our stay here. Definately will come back. Recommended for family on holiday

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    257
    159
    46
    23
See reviews for
132
114
50
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Clean & spacious rooms, great location. Go to Douby Ghaut station & take exit B, cross road to Park Mall, take lift to level 4, walk down 'out' ramp of car park & YMCA is on the right. Very close to Orchard Rd & Plaza Singapura. Breakfast buffet was very good - fresh fruit, cereal pastries & toast, hot food. We stayed here with our 3 children & it was perfect for us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I was upgraded to a corner room which was larger than the regular rooms. Overall I found the hotel a great value and very convenient for transport. I'd stay here again - though I might be a bit less content in a smaller room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The room was big, beds were comfortable, breakfast hearty, the proximity to Dhoby Ghaut MRT station and the Orchard Retail Belt were definitely awesome points. (Hence the satisfactory rating of our hotel stay)

However, it stops there. We were actually quite disappointed by the cleanliness of the toilets. Upon checking in, a trip to the toilet made my insides turn, as I saw a few bright yellow urine spots on the toilet seat! This showed that housekeeping were not vigilant enough in santising the hotel room, after the last guests left.

It was also surprising that for the price point and the fact that the rooms are pretty old (refurbished hostel), there was no free Internet connection. I've stayed in cheaper places which are also newer, who doled out free Internet access to hotel guests. We may come back, if only improvements are made to their cleanliness and guest services.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We arrived at 11pm to stay in our reserved park view room. It turned out to be a parking lot view room with a very heavy smell of cigarettes. The reception informed us that the park view rooms were given on a first come first go basis and that the hotel was fully booked. Next morning after complaining again at the reception we eventually got another room, with a somewhat better climate, although we could still smell cigarette smoke. The windows cannot be opend by the guests and this may explain the lingering smells. Still, if one reserves a non smoking room months in advance, one expects the hotel can deliver. The breakfast is good and the staff is, generally speaking, very nice.

Room Tip: Come early in the day to have the best chance of snapping up a real non smoking room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I was supposed to check-in the hotel at 2pm but when I arrived at 2pm+, the room wasn't ready yet. The manager told me to wait for 5 mins however that 5 mins turned into 20 mins of waiting. Then I politely questioned the manager if the check-in time is 2pm and to my surprise, he told me (not in the nicest of manners) that the room is to be ready after 2pm and not by 2pm. So, don't expect too much of customer service or friendliness from the staff there. Negative experience toward their customer service.

For those who are going to rent a car, please remember to get the free car parking tickets from the reception.

As for the room, it was clean and comfortable. However, there wasn't any WIFI available.

Within the hotel, they have a nice restaurant which served good food and they also have a small souvenir shop worth visiting.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We made a last minute booking just before going on a plane. We booked a family room as we were travelling with our 6 year old son. The rate was quite high but we didn't have much time to look for other options. We were pleasantly surprised by the good size of the family room. Everything was neat and clean. The cost of internet access was really high 25 S$ per 24h. Our room was situated in 12th floor (NO 1220) the aircon was working really poorly and the hotels ventilation on the roof kept enormous noise all night!We changed room, it was no problem. The rest of the days we were at room no 1105, it was ok, But the smell of mould and dampness on this floor was disgusting. Breakfast was included in our room rate and was ok (coffee was awful), the same every day though.The pool was good and the best thing about this hotel is its location and the good size of the family room!

Room Tip: Be careful with the last floor (12), noise of ventilation especially in room 1220 where we stayed w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to YWCA Fort Canning Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YWCA Fort Canning Lodge

Address: 6 Fort Canning Rd, Singapore 179494, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 301 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — YWCA Fort Canning Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your YWCA Fort Canning Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ywca Fort Canning Hotel Singapore
Ywca Fort Canning Singapore
YWCA Fort Canning Lodge Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YWCA Fort Canning Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.