We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Live bug in salad from fern tree!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Miramar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Miramar to your Saves list
Hotel Miramar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Havelock Road, Singapore 169631, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #100 of 301 Hotels in Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Live bug in salad from fern tree!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Went for a buffet dinner with my customer today as we got to learn that there is free flow of beer. Started off with salad as usual and the first bite of the vege tasted ok but felt something sharp and moving in my mouth, tool it out using my fingers and shockingly, i see a bug and it's still alive. Called the captain to inform him about the encounter and all he did was to remove the bug and vege off my table, no apology, no explanation, no form of compensation.... Never had such an encounter in hotel buffet in Singapore. I'll be pursuing with authority to make sure this place meets the basic health standards before more guest gets into bug eating experience like me... Makes me feeling like puking till now

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    354
    172
    31
    17
See reviews for
117
341
59
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Spent a week at this hotel, which we found to be an excellent location. Short walk to MRT at Chinatown, and easy walk to shopping mall. All the staff were friendly. Found that the housekeeping was well short, e.g. extra coffee sachets were requested but not left and face flannels became non-existenmt after 4 days.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

I was very impressed with the cleanliness of the hotel . The rooms were a good size. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Nice pool. The only negative thing I would say is it is a little far out and there is no MRT near by so lots of walking or taxis - but they are very cheap to use so we managed to get around no problem

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed here 2 years ago and as we would have limited time (overnight only, from 6.30 pm till airport shuttle at 5 a.m.) decided to go with what we knew. Clean, functional, very cheap as part of Singapore Stopover Hotel special which included airport shuttle and 50% off hotel restaurant meal. Service very good, 3rd bed not in room at checking but fixed immediately, safe locked closed but also attended to immediately.Beds super comfortable and while sheets had a few marks on them it was clear they were clean.Ate buffet meal which was great at half price.Didn't use wifi, too expensive for such a short stay. Disappointed that pool closes at 7 which meant after long flight from London we only had 30 minutes. Bathrobes and slippers cute. Didn't have breakfast. Room nice and quiet. If we had such a short transit again I would probably use Changi Transit Hotel so we can use pool immediately and for longer.

Room Tip: Had room 905 facing pool.quiet and good airconditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This was a typical city hotel with its focus seeming to be on making money not necessarily providing great service. It's location is ok but it is a reasonable walk to the closest MRT stations.

Without telling us we were put in a room on a smokers floor. The room stunk of stale smoke. When we asked if we could change to a non smoking room our request was dismissed.

The restaurant was expensive so we out and had dinner each night in China Town where the food was excellent and cheap.

Room Tip: If you are a non smoker try to not get onto a smokers floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
witney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Hotel was functional and clean and tidy, but suffers from the typical city hotel. Expensive bar and restaurant, although staff very helpful. Singapore was wonderful, but surprised by how expensive it was. The locals are fantastic and the city wonderful, but hotel distinctively average

Room Tip: Go to the local bars for a drink
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

When this hotel was booked it was Grand prix weekend and the prices were very high. Five star prices for 3 star hotel. The entrance was very nice, but the staff looked like they had passed down uniforms which didn't fit very well. Reception was average. The room was very disappointing, carpet must have been 30 years old, very dark and dirty. Bathroom was very dated but very clean, the housekeeping lady was really great and looked after us very well.
I cant believe in this day and age no FREE wifi, I had arrived after travelling in Europe and the UK for two months and this was the ONLY hotel where wifi was not free. The Restaurant in the hotel was very over priced, fortunately there were plenty of cafes etc along the river, a five minute walk away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
Riverview Hotel Singapore
Riverview Hotel Singapore
#116 of 301 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 846 reviews
Furama RiverFront
#216 of 301 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 1,247 reviews
Furama City Centre
#37 of 301 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Quays
Copthorne King's Hotel Singapore
Peninsula Excelsior Hotel
#130 of 301 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 2,581 reviews
The Quays
Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramar

Address: 401 Havelock Road, Singapore 169631, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#72 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#77 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Miramar 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tower Hotel located in city center, within walking distance of Orchard Road & Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramar Hotel Singapore
Hotel Miramar Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Miramar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.