We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Miramar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Miramar to your Saves list
Hotel Miramar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Havelock Road, Singapore 169631, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Average hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This was a typical city hotel with its focus seeming to be on making money not necessarily providing great service. It's location is ok but it is a reasonable walk to the closest MRT stations.

Without telling us we were put in a room on a smokers floor. The room stunk of stale smoke. When we asked if we could change to a non smoking room our request was dismissed.

The restaurant was expensive so we out and had dinner each night in China Town where the food was excellent and cheap.

Room Tip: If you are a non smoker try to not get onto a smokers floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    298
    150
    25
    16
See reviews for
97
292
46
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
witney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Hotel was functional and clean and tidy, but suffers from the typical city hotel. Expensive bar and restaurant, although staff very helpful. Singapore was wonderful, but surprised by how expensive it was. The locals are fantastic and the city wonderful, but hotel distinctively average

Room Tip: Go to the local bars for a drink
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

When this hotel was booked it was Grand prix weekend and the prices were very high. Five star prices for 3 star hotel. The entrance was very nice, but the staff looked like they had passed down uniforms which didn't fit very well. Reception was average. The room was very disappointing, carpet must have been 30 years old, very dark and dirty. Bathroom was very dated but very clean, the housekeeping lady was really great and looked after us very well.
I cant believe in this day and age no FREE wifi, I had arrived after travelling in Europe and the UK for two months and this was the ONLY hotel where wifi was not free. The Restaurant in the hotel was very over priced, fortunately there were plenty of cafes etc along the river, a five minute walk away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

I have been very happy with the service at the hotel. Across the road is a great little cafe to have breakky and a good coffee at a good price on the river front.The pool is clean and great for lapping. I booked thru an agency and I got a good pice. All staff are friendly and it's very clean. Close to Chinatown which is a delight early morning if u don't like crowds. 30'minute walk to Orchard Road if u like to shop.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Have stayed here a week and would comment as follows:
Location is excellent and the staff is very friendly and nice.The MRT transport is only about 15 minutes walk to Chinatown and there are beautiful walks down the river side to Clarkes KeyMRT too.
Breakfast - Unvarying and not particularly good, even when it wasn't so busy they constantly ran out of bowls and plates.
Internet we believe was a total rip off. Although they advertise Wi Fi there is nowhere in the hotel to get it free. We paid S$80 extra to have it in our roomfor the week and then found we were restricted to only one device at a time and the connection kept dropping. Took forever to download anything and when we complained we were told just to look under the desk and switch the router off and switch it on again - this did not improve the service of course. Even coffee shops have free wi fi these days and a hotel like this you would expect to have it somewhere but it was not the case, you had to pay and the service was rubbish when you did. One step up from the old dial up connection - bit like the hotel.
The sheets although clean often had holes and rust marks, towels very thin. In the pool area they often ran out of beach towels and you were left with the old threadbare room towels.
To come in and out - you've to walk through the restaurant and that includes with your cases as the elevators are at the end of the restaurant.
The pool area and garden surrounding it is really beautiful but no easy service for drinks or snacks. Both shower units by the pool were so stiff they couldn't be turned on so you always had to walk back to the changing rooms to rinse off. Little things but so many mount up to make the hotel less attractive.
The bed was firm but we like it that way and slept very well, nice pillows.

Room Tip: We had a highfloor facing the road but we were not disturbed and slept very well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We arrived at 07:30 from London, check in wasn't officially until midday but they were great and had our room ready by 10:30. The porters took care of our bags for us. The only thing was the room had obviously been readied too quickly as it hadn't been properly hoovered, and indeed this wasn't rectified during our 4 night stay there as the crumbs and plastic wrappings stayed on the floor for the duration.
All of the staff we encountered were good, very smiley and eager to help, we used the concierge a couple of times and he was very helpful.
We used the pool several times to cool down after our days out, it wasn't particularly picturesque but it was clean, there were enough beds and plenty of clean towels to help yourself to, only drawback was that the kitchen vented out beside you so it reeked of cooking smells.
We were disappointed with breakfast, it was buffet style but it was expensive for the standard of food on offer, also people would be constantly traipsing past you on the way to the lifts. We made a mistake of dining in the first morning, but to be honest any of the malls had a better, and cheaper fare also it felt very sterile.
My biggest disappointment was not providing free wifi! For goodness sake this is 2013! In my experience nearly all international hotels include this for free and I felt this was a little penny pinching. I'm due to return and stay one more night before my flight home to the UK and I've switched hotels for this reason.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

partner and I stayed at this hotel for just three nights in a run-of-house Deluxe Room. It is in a great location (right near bustling Chinatown), with train stations very close by. The train system in Singapore is excellent - always on time and easy to use. The service at reception was okay, but the hotel had som

We stayed here one night on our way back to New Zealand. The room was very comfortable with lots of space. We've been travelling for 6 weeks so had a lot of luggage and it was nice to have the space the room provided. It was very clean and quiet. We were very tired and the 12 noon check out w

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramar

Address: 401 Havelock Road, Singapore 169631, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#33 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#73 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#73 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Miramar 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tower Hotel located in city center, within walking distance of Orchard Road & Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramar Hotel Singapore
Hotel Miramar Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Miramar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.