We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Stay in Singapore” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Miramar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Miramar to your Saves list
Hotel Miramar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Havelock Road, Singapore 169631, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Short Stay in Singapore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stopped here for 3 nights before heading on to Phuket. The hotel was pretty much what I expected in terms of standard of accommodation (3.5*). Wifi is chargeable but there are plenty of cafes around where you can use their wifi or pay S$10 for 3hrs/S$25 for 24hrs at the hotel. My room rate was room only. I ate breakfast in the hotel once as I hadn't quite got my bearings but just across the bridge over the river are some great & very reasonable cafes (Sq11, Kilth etc) which is where I ate for the remainder of my stay.

I tried the Chinese restaurant on lev 3 one night & had their buffet. It was ok but be warned about ordering too much as food wastage is charged at S$10/100g.

The bus stop outside the hotel is great for all the tourist hop on hop off buses & the SAEx buses as well as the local bus service. If you follow the river to the iChat of the hotel it's a 10/15min walk to Clarke Quay with bars & restaurants en route.

I also made use of the spa on the evening of my arrival as the flight had left me feeling a bit squashed - the staff couldn't be more accommodating & my Swedish massage was great though I'm sure there are cheaper places around it suited my needs there & then.

I had a room with a river view on the 15th floor, some traffic noise but nothing horrendous & what you'd expect or being on a main road.

Oh there's also a small 7 11 across the river, buy your cold drinks etc there - S$9 a can in the hotel lobby ;)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    334
    153
    28
    16
See reviews for
103
318
51
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Good location,close to bars and restaurants on river setting. Friendly staff made us feel so welcome. Stayed for three nights, wished I could have stayed longer. Happy hour in bar very reasonable. Nice pool and jaccuzi kept clean with towels supplied.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We found the hotel to conceniently located within walking distance of many great restaurants and bars. We also dined at the hotel and chose to have a buffet dinner(something we dont normally like) however found it a great opportunity to taste and enjoy the local foods. Breakfast was a great start to the day and well priced. Great bar with outside terrace.

Our room was on the 7th floor facing the river with great views. Our concern from the busy road at the front was undeserved as the room was well soundproofed with quality drapes etc.

A huge thank you to the concierge wo provided great advice on tours and took the hassle out of us organising them. The three days of tours booked were a great choice. Loved Sentosa, the day tour of singapore including the flyer and the free bus to Orchard Road for the best shopping trip!

Will definately stay again.

Room Tip: Request a front room and enjoy the views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Very clean and tidy hotel with awesome service. Two for one meals and happy hour was fantastic.
Very handy to China Town with only a 10min walk and a bus stop right outside the Hotel.
Awesome pool and sunbathing area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Was pleasant and was very happy to know hotel and all the paper work set and waiting to welcome me. Traveling with kids so we had interleading rooms. Hotel provides toiletries and lovely gowns n slippers. Only complaint was wifi needs to be paid for. Else a great place to stay convient and clean

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed at the Miramar for a two night stopover before our main holiday in Thailand.The hotel is situated in Havelock Road, which is a great location.Our room was on the 14th floor and was clean, large and comfortable,We found the staff very helpful, and I would recommend using the porters for advice on how to get to particular locations, they are very knowledgeable, Do not dismiss the hotel's restaurant. We were looking for somewhere to eat on Sunday afternoon and discovered most restaurants closed about 4pm along Clarke's Quay. However, on returning to the Hotel, we found the main restaurant still open, and had a terrific nasi goreng, which we would highly recommend. Also if you like having breakfast watching the world go by, there is a fantastic bar/grill called Boomerang,straight across the road It is located by crossing the bridge directly outside the hotel, and turning right down Robertson Quay. it is situated on the left.
Very pleased with the hotel and we would highly recommend it for a stop over. Finally, even though our stay was brief,,we loved Singapore.The people are friendly, everywhere is clean, and you feel very safe.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MK
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We recently visited the hotel as part of a longer dual destination holiday and found the hotel to be clean, comfortable & well located close to Clarke Quay (10-15 mins walk along the river). There are other bars and restaurants closer in Robertson Quay area (also slightly better priced including a good Italian / fish restaurant on the river). Our room was clean and well equipped & on the 15th floor. Staff were friendly and happy to help out when we needed it. The corridors did smell a bit of damp and had a slight tinge of stale cigarette smoke. The hotel could be vastly improved and felt a little dated however - the addition of the damp aroma didn't help. Non smoking rooms would massively help the smell too!!

We enjoyed using the pool area and jacuzzi one late afternoon too, which was very nice with beach towels provided. We also used the bar area one evening. The free shuttle bus is also great and takes you into Clarke Quay and Orchard Road. Booking required at main Reception / with Bell Boy - but it is shared with some other local hotels so takes slightly longer than a taxi would.

Breakfast was good with a wide variety of choice for Western, Continental & Oriental tastes.

The only real negative was the absence of free wifi which I was very surprised about.

If I could improve the hotel - a makeover in the bedrooms is needed as it feels dated & it certainly needs to provide free wifi. Other than that for a well-located pit stop hotel at a reasonable price, we would recommend it.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramar

Address: 401 Havelock Road, Singapore 169631, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#71 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#76 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Miramar 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tower Hotel located in city center, within walking distance of Orchard Road & Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Hotel Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramar Hotel Singapore
Hotel Miramar Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Miramar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.