We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Summer View Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Summer View Hotel to your Saves list
Summer View Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   173 Bencoolen Street, Singapore 189642, Singapore (Rochor)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #136 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Location”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2007

Summer View is on Bencoolen St which is a great location. However, the hotel was much below average with rooms which are real small. Seemed extreamly shabby and poor service. I guess its truly a back packers hotel. We were so disappointed that we shifted hotels to Rendezvous which was absolutely superb. This is the first time that we went wrong with online hotel reservation.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    87
    97
    17
    15
See reviews for
70
59
23
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2007

Location is excellent. Hotel is average, rooms are very small, beds are not so clean, tv is smaller than my laptop's screen. Staff, however are very good. But it is what to expect for the price paid.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — beds and bathrooms
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2007

we arrived at the hotel and were told that unfortunately there were no rooms available with the queen bed that we requested. when we got to the room they gave us, i almost died. it was very small, very cramped, and had 3 single beds. it was like a hostel. the tv was tiny. to make matters worse, there was no window. instead, there was a picture on the wall that lit up from behind with a beach scene.
the next morning we went downstairs to request a room change, and i will give them credit, they put us in a double room with a window.
the breakfast was very average. the same meal was served every morning, and there was no real fruit juice.
the location is great, but the hotel itself is quite bad. i wouldn't stay there again.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — initial room, breakfast
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phil
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2007

Rooms (specifically 303 and 304) were shabby! Toilet doesn't flush properly and water is leaking continuously down the bowl. What a waste!

Location is excellent but you want a good night sleep and awhen you dog tired from all that shopping.

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth WA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2007

Was apprehensive about staying there for a week after reading some of the reviews on here. But was realistic enough not to expect the Raffles at 2 star prices !
Good value, clean rooms & bathrooms, friendly staff ( no 'grumpies' evident !), wholesome if unexciting breakfasts but not enough to make me eat elsewhere. I would stay there again - I guess we're just too easily pleased.

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2007

I stayed at Summerview Hotel for 3 nights with my family. The room were small but clean. The bathroom was spotless. The big "plus" about this budget hotel is its location, within walking distance to Bugis, the shops and MRT. We would recommended this budget hotel and will be staying here again for sure.

  • Liked — value for money
  • Disliked — the breakfast
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2006

My wife and I recently spent 1 night at the Summerview after a reservation mixup caused us to have to leave the Perak hotel one day early. I must say I found the front desk service uniformly icy. They spoke very sparingly. No smiles or any evidence of friendliness. Room was on the small side and had a strange smell. Decor was early 80's. The bath towels, while big and fluffy, had a strange odor as well. My wife preferred to air-dry after her shower rather than use these smelly towels. Breakfast was adequate but a bit strange with baked beans and hot dog segments. Overall I would not recommend the Summerview hotel.

  • Liked — Convenient to attractions
  • Disliked — Unfriendly service
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Summer View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer View Hotel

Address: 173 Bencoolen Street, Singapore 189642, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Rochor
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#25 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Summer View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Summer View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer View Singapore
Hotel Summer View
Summer View Hotel Singapore
Summerview Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summer View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.