We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay while in SG” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Summer View Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Summer View Hotel to your Saves list
Summer View Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   173 Bencoolen Street, Singapore 189642, Singapore (Rochor)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #147 of 293 Hotels in Singapore
Quezon City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A good place to stay while in SG”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

A good place to stay if you're planning to stay in Singapore. You can walk from the nearest train station to the hotel, and there's a bus stop just in front of it. The shuttle going to Universal Studios also stops in this hotel.

Buffet breakfast serves delicious food. The dining area is small but is tolerable.
Hot/cold shower is available. The bathroom is well maintained.
The room size is adequate, minimalist. A good number of outlet available. Wi-fi is also available.
Very good ventilation, though our room has no windows. I guess it's normal there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    83
    95
    17
    15
See reviews for
68
56
22
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Great hotel, such friendly warm and hospitable staff, great welcome, even from the doorman!
A lovely roomy KS room, good facilities, would recommend.
Tariff includes breakfast, very reasonably priced.
No trouble storing some luggage for us! Will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed at Summer View Hotel to break up the long flight from Greece to Australia. We arrived at Singapore at 5:00am, exhausted and frazzled from the heat and humidity, and expected to have to wait in the lobby until our room was ready. Official check-in is at 2:00pm, but to our surprise and great delight, we were allowed to take our room immediately, at no extra charge. It was such a relief and we couldn't thank the most friendly desk clerk enough. He and all the staff at the hotel were so helpful and accommodating. Absolutely wonderful service.

The location of this hotel was ideal for us, within walking distance to Orchard Road and the Little India district, train stations and bus stops. The Lemon 3 Thai restaurant next door (owned by the hotel) is reasonably priced and serves good food.

The hotel is old and the rooms smell a little, but it was neat, clean, air conditioned, and the bed was very comfortable with crisp white sheets. Perhaps a little overpriced, but the location and definitely the service we received (and early check-in!) more than makes up for this.

There was a certain charm about this place, including a gorgeous little souvenir shop in the lobby stacked high with all sorts of bizarre and wonderful curios.

We had a very enjoyable stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silang, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

By browsing TripAdvisor and it's affiliated booking sites, you'll know that hotels in Singapore are really expensive. The price for an average 3-star hotel in Singapore is the same as the price of a 5-star hotel in the Philippines. Having said that, Summer View hotel is really an average-priced hotel and I probably couldn't find anything else cheaper with the same value as this hotel offers.

I liked my stay in this hotel because the air conditioning was really cool, a great plus for my husband and kids. The sheets and pillows were comfortable to sleep in. The rooms are clean and always kept when we leave the hotel to tour the city. One thing to note is that the hotel is old, but I didn't see any eye sore in our room. The area in Bencoolen street is quiet and a good place to have a really peaceful rest at night. Lots of shops and dining areas to choose from also in this Bugis street.

The shower and bath are OK, I didn't have problems with the heater. The towels are replaced everyday. The flush in our toilet was broken though, we needed to press it several times before it could work. I requested for a baby cot (crib) and battery replacement for the safe, which they did right away. There are free coffee and tea sachets in the table, with electric water heater and thermos.

Another great thing about the hotel was the breakfast. They had a variety of choices everyday. I loved the bacon, ham, sausages, eggs, bread and cereal. The coffee was good too. They have free Wifi in the rooms. The hairdryer was not in the bathroom but in the desk by the bed, and they only offered a shower cap, no other toiletries so you should bring your own.

In summary, Summer View hotel was a good choice. I did get the value I paid for. :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Manila, Philippines
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The hotel's location is 5 star for me. It's located at Bencoolen and is not that far from everything. It is near 4 MRTs: Bugis, Bras Basah, Dhoby Ghaut, and Little India. Stores and restaurants are walking distance from the hotel so buying stuffs wouldn't be a problem. Besides the strategic location, it is also a strategic place to stay especially if you'll be going to Sentosa a lot. Besides the fact that you can buy your Universal Studios ticket in the hotel, a free Sentosa shuttle for tourists arrive every hour at the front of Summer View Hotel. As for me and my family, that free shuttle is our bestfriend in our Singapore trip since we always go to Sentosa.

Facilities are good including WiFi, fridge, bathtub, T.V., etc. It doesn't have a showerhead though. There's also free breakfast in a buffet style. For Filipinos, you may find it convenient that one of the receptionist is Pinoy.

A family or anyone would have a great stay in this hotel! I truly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Great hotel, very simple but clean and friendly staff,
The breakfast is good, the location is great,
if you are walking people this hotel is for you!
You can go to marina bay sands, or orchad malls walking and find on the way the raffles hotel, chijmes place, and many other beatiful touristic and non touristic places in singapore,
Also is very close to 5 arts school, close to bugis street. In front of the hotel you have a 7/11 store open 24h for your service.
is amazing place if you are this kind of people who loves walk and sighting but doesn't like the backpackers places this one is great.
Cheap, clean, safe, and the best location!!!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

the hotel was great and affordable...the breakfast was also heavenly...scrumptious even...and the location was PERFECT...it was near Bugis Market, Sim Lim Square, Burlington Square and a lot of amazing places...it is accessible to convenience stores and also near the Subway Station...also the rooms were fragrant...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Summer View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer View Hotel

Address: 173 Bencoolen Street, Singapore 189642, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Rochor
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 293 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Summer View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Summer View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer View Singapore
Hotel Summer View
Summer View Hotel Singapore
Summerview Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summer View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.