We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Summer View Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Summer View Hotel to your Saves list
Summer View Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   173 Bencoolen Street, Singapore 189642, Singapore (Rochor)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #134 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Great hotel, very simple but clean and friendly staff,
The breakfast is good, the location is great,
if you are walking people this hotel is for you!
You can go to marina bay sands, or orchad malls walking and find on the way the raffles hotel, chijmes place, and many other beatiful touristic and non touristic places in singapore,
Also is very close to 5 arts school, close to bugis street. In front of the hotel you have a 7/11 store open 24h for your service.
is amazing place if you are this kind of people who loves walk and sighting but doesn't like the backpackers places this one is great.
Cheap, clean, safe, and the best location!!!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    121
    106
    17
    17
See reviews for
91
75
28
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

the hotel was great and affordable...the breakfast was also heavenly...scrumptious even...and the location was PERFECT...it was near Bugis Market, Sim Lim Square, Burlington Square and a lot of amazing places...it is accessible to convenience stores and also near the Subway Station...also the rooms were fragrant...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

not really a fine hotel but the location was nice, quiet, and closer to Bugis, that's why I liked this hotel, just one crossing, and you reach Bugis village which is always on my shopping destinations list whenever I go to Singapore(because of the cheap finds there)I could even walk my way to Orchard if I had the chance, just 10 minutes away on a bus.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Staff very helpful and jovial. Very central hotel, and adjacent restaurant has great breakfasts and dinners. Room a little small, with limited room for cases, and walls a little thin with noisy people in adjacent room..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

PROS:
1. The breakfast buffet was awesome!
- The dishes aren't that special (normal breakfast food) but they all very delicious!
- After our first morning, I was excited to eat there again
2. Great location
- There's a 7-Eleven across the street
- It's not hard to get a taxi from the hotel
- 10 minute walk from Bugis
3. Super fast wifi connection
- You can connect from your room and basically anywhere inside the hotel
4. Friendly staff :)

CONS:
1. Our shower was broken
- Twice and the hot water wasn't reliable
2. Their furniture are old
- And gives the impression that they are dirty
3. No toiletries
- No shampoo, toothbrush, toothpaste, etc.
- Only soap

CONCLUSION:
It's an "okay" hotel. It's "livalble" but not fancy :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed at Summer View Hotel on the 4th floor. We booked 4 rooms (each with extra bed placed in) for 10 adults, 2 kids and 1 baby. We had a great stay with them. 2 rooms had a queen-sized bed and an extra single bed and the other 2 had 3 single beds- space would only be an issue if you have a lot of luggage. 2 of the rooms are adjoining. TV varied, depending on the room, I think they're in the process of replacing the old ones, but the english channels are limited (but who would stay in the hotel in SG to watch tv anyway?) Bathroom had bathtub with hot shower, railings to hold on to and anti-slip mats - for us it was just the right size and very clean. Only soap in dispenser, shower cap and face/body towels are provided. AC worked great - just be careful when setting the temp, you might find yourself chilled to the bone. They did provide water in the ref, but in a pitcher. Coffee/tea available, but coffee does not taste good. Our room faced the street, but you could only see the street below and building in front. Our rooms were cleaned daily.

All the staff we talked to were friendly and helpful. They gave directions to the big tourist attractions we went to: Merlion Park/Clarke Quay, Sg Zoo, Bugis Street/Mustafa Center. The hotel is one of the stops for the free shuttle to Universal Studios, which is a huge plus. We just walked to Bugis Street and taxi to Mustafa Center was about 3mins. Bus stop/taxi stop was across the street and in front of the hotel. Burlington Square, Bencoolen Place (?), Albert Mall, Sim Lim had food courts for cheap but good food; and restaurants/fast food also. Bugis Street had a lot of souvenir items for sale in bulk, better to buy souvenirs here. But for chocolates, go to Mustafa Center.

Free breakfast was buffet style with fried rice, beans, egg (scrambled, sunny side up, hard boiled), sausages, pancake/french toast (alternates daily), bacon/ham (alternates daily), bread, butter/marmalade/spread, cornflakes/koko krunch and milk, brewed coffee, tea, juice, water (had a sweet taste to it, maybe because of the dispenser), fresh fruits.

They have a small lobby and restaurant, so it can get crowded.

I will definitely book this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for adjoining rooms if you're travelling in a group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I knew about this hotel because each time I stay at Ibis Bencoolen (which is across the street), I would see that little restaurant called Lemon 3 Thai. That restaurant is part of Summer View Hotel.

I was called in as a last-minute speaker to an event and Ibis was full. So, I braved myself to book into this hotel. As I arrived at the door, there was a TripAdvisor sticker there. It was asking for a review and here I am doing the review after a night stay.

Overall, I would give it a 2 1/2 star if there was such a rating, rather that the 3 I am rating now. It was an average hotel, nothing fancy. I believe it was a hotel from the 70s era, and the room decor looked like so. It is probably better looking than those Hotel 81s across Singapore. It's clean, no-frills with fridge, 32" LCD TV, etc.

The bathroom amenities were enough, but there little hot water when I showered. I had to ensure the bone-chilling cold water in the morning and the room was so cold (even after I turned off the A/C).

The main gripe was the room had this old, stale smell. The room wasn't well airated. The friendly housekeeping who brought the iron/iron-board to me said that it was probably the carpet or the A/C or a combo of both. There was lighted, ultraviolent florescent light thingy on the floor the moment I came in to the room. I believe this was to ionize the air/atmosphere of the room.

The staff was friendly manned by senior citizens. They are probably long-time employees but they are very nice people. Very down to earth people ... except for the young reception guy on-duty. He had some kind of attitude that wasn't very welcoming. Not so friendly and I thought that was a turn-off especially when I arrived in Singapore quite late and tired.

That's all I have for this hotel. I don't mind staying here again if my choices are limited. The hotel is in Bugis, which I am quite familiar with. It is one MRT station away from City Hall MRT and I have always liked Bugis because of its location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Rochor
Hotel Bencoolen
Hotel Bencoolen
#155 of 300 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 345 reviews
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#112 of 300 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 664 reviews
Aqueen Hotel Lavender
#136 of 300 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Strand Hotel
#159 of 300 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 258 reviews
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#53 of 300 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 4,921 reviews
V Hotel Bencoolen
#181 of 300 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 stars 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer View Hotel

Address: 173 Bencoolen Street, Singapore 189642, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Rochor
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#30 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Summer View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Summer View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer View Singapore
Hotel Summer View
Summer View Hotel Singapore
Summerview Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summer View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.