We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just for your shopping convenience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oxford Hotel

Save Saved
You added Oxford Hotel to your Saves list
Oxford Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oxford Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   218 Queen Street, Singapore 188549, Singapore (Rochor)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #263 of 292 hotels in Singapore
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Just for your shopping convenience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Oxford Hotel stands out from the many buildings that surround Queen Street but don't let the wild colors fool you, its not some artsy fartsy hotel you think it is.

The staff is always inside their main office and most of the time you have to call them a few times before they notice you waiting for them outside the front desk. However, they are all smiles when they accommodate you and they make sure that your concerns are addressed.

The hotel room itself has the basics. Hot Water, Comfortable beds, a desk but thats it. It wasn't comfortable because you can clearly tell that the hotel is a few years old with their dirty looking carpet and their aged mini fridge. We even had to call housekeeping to clean the mini fridge because it was dirty. It didn't even have a mini bar.

Their beds also had detergent stains and at some point I found ants crawling on my covers.

The hotel is located by a church, so when the clock strikes 7 a very loud set of bells wakes us up. It was okay seeing that we had to wake up at that time to get to our tour and whatnot but if you are planning to stay for business I suggest another hotel, far away from church bells. Also their walls are pretty thin so you could hear people loudly talking and slamming doors.

The good thing about this hotel is that it 2 streets away from Bugis Street, a famous shopping center that sells cheap things from clothes and accessories. It is also near a hawker center and a shopping mall as well as two MRT stations perfect for those who wish to tour the city and who seek adventure riding the MRT.

All in all, the hotel is a nice place for those on a budget and who only needs a place to get some shut eye. If your main reason for coming to singapore is to do some shopping and sight seeing and if you intend to be out for the whole day during your visit then this hotel is for you.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing away from the churches to lessen the church bells that ring in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    8
    21
    16
    28
See reviews for
15
15
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brunei Darussalam
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We got a Superior room on the 8th floor. Not the cheapest budget hotel & don't expect room service but the location made up for all its shortcomings.

*Aug 2013 - Note that the block at the back and left hand side are under construction

ROOM : Small but enough for a couple. Bed was comfortable, sheets are crisp and clean. Comes with 4 good pillows. Water pressure was good and water heater works. Aircon was cold and quiet.

SERVICES : We took the airport transfer back to Changi that charged $25 for 2 pax; by taxi from the airport was around $20 so it was not too much more. Driver informed us that for groups (6-8 pax), hotel pick up is cheaper as they charge $35 (airport taxi for that no. of pax will start from $50++) - but confirm with them when booking. Wifi is chargeable from $2 for 1 hour - fast and worth it.

LOCATION: Bras Basah MRT station is less than 100m away, 2 Catholic churches just next block, Bugis shopping area (Bugis Junction, BHG etc) all less than 1km away, National Library with a lovely children's library. Excellent base for those who enjoy walking

FOOD : Breakfast was $10++ but not worth it unless it was raining. There are at least 3 nearby food courts within 100-200m away (Queen St, Bras Basah Complex 24 hr food court or another 24hr KopiTiam food court at Bencoolen)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I wish there was something worst then terrible rating. Very poor hotel, Expensive as 5 star ( paid $200 for this stupid hotel and service as 1 star ( not even 1 star), no room service, if you ask for something they say you need to come down, they dont have a policy to send anyone upstairs. Carpet stinks. Morning break fast is like a street food, if you eat you will vomit.
If you ask the operator, Can i have a bottle of Mineral bottle please, they replied : Sir you can drink bathroom water we don't provide Mineral water.

Flush of toilet doesn't work at all, if you remind they will says we have already informed maintenance, if they give me 80% discount then also i wont come to this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

poorly maintained hotel, Aircon drips water, carpets stink, all of a sudden phones stop working, difficult to control the water temperate in taps. When you complain, the staff promptly takes the complaints, but does nothing about it. If you complain more, they will offer to change the room, but you know that the next room is probably worse off than the one you have at this time.
Breakfast is poor - juice is like water.

In short, staying in this hotel just screws up your trip to Singapore.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The rooms was small but clean There is ice-machines and vending machines in the hotel that helps a lot. Breakfast is catering for asian visitors and noodles and fish for b.fast was not so nice. Front desk personal very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lipa City, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I was so anxious of the previous reviews I read prior to our arrival to this hotel and was cautious about it. What would we really expect of a three-star hotel but the bare necessities a traveler necessitates and this place complies with it. Situated on a "not so busy" street is already a plus. You could sleep like a log with the well-maintained air conditioner. It also has adequate water with good heating system, besides almost everyone knows that Singapore filters its own water from the sea and is very costly and the rest are resourced from Malaysia. Oxford Hotel is accessible via train and is near bustling Bugis St. When you stay here, my advise is to bring toothbrush, toothpaste and slippers particularly, the rest are provided by the hotel. This place was fully packed from different nationalities during our stay here and as what I can say is it is a pleasant stay. Though the rooms are small, we were not able to really enjoy the comfort of the place because we were often up and about going places. There were two operational elevators which could accommodate a few persons in each unit, too bad if you have too much luggage with you. At times, instead of waiting for one to bring us up or down via the lift, we just use the stairs. No harm done, we stayed on the third floor. Not much staff was visible, the restaurant and reception staff were the ones who were visible during our 4 day stay fortunately room service was not really needed during our stay because as expected, our room was in order upon our arrival. For the small rooms, the bed we had was very comfy, one would sleep like a log, and there are additional supplies of pillows for each one of us, blankets were "crisp and clean". I rate the food 4 out of 5 because the restaurant provides a variety of dishes for the vegetarians and non vegetarians alike. The gustatory factor for the dishes are two thumbs up because what were served are the ones we need to fuel our physically straining activities during the day. A restaurant staff named Ana was very accommodating to us. Cons for this hotel is that wifi usage is charged, another thing is that although the comfort room is adequately sized, the toilet is not meticulously cleaned from the water marks and other dirt and grime on the tiled walls and the bathroom doors remain from day 1 til our last day of stay, a point of improvement for the place. When we first arrived, the first remark my husband made was that the room might have smelled from the perfume of the previous occupants because of the lingering smell the room has til the second day of our stay, the windows should have at least been opened for a few hours to take the unnecessary scent away. A very good place for budget-conscious people. We will definitely go back to stay during our visits.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is in the middle of tourists attractions and near the train station so going around is not a problem and not expensive. It is likewise very near the cheap eating areas and there is a nearby 7-11 for the essentials that travelers need. However, this is really for the budget travellers since the rooms and toilets are very small and the water in the shower is very weak, unstable. The breakfast buffet is just ok for the price that we paid for.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oxford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Hotel

Address: 218 Queen Street, Singapore 188549, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Rochor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #263 of 292 hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Oxford Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Oxford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oxford Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.