We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place but would better be more transparent in info” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Orchard Parade Hotel by Far East Hospitality

Save Saved
You added Orchard Parade Hotel by Far East Hospitality to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Orchard Parade Hotel by Far East Hospitality
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Tanglin Road, Singapore 247905, Singapore   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
UpTo 25%off +100%Cashback
Ranked #84 of 291 hotels in Singapore
Bangalore, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent place but would better be more transparent in info”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I with my family chose to stay at Orchard Parade for a 5-day holiday at Singapore. The bookings were done two weeks in advance. The welcome, reception and concierge were all top class, and the entire family of 4 adults were accommodated reasonably well, though we were much ahead of the check-in time of 2 PM. The management managed one double superior room on the 6th floor promising the other in a hour or so. However, we had a rough awakening as heavy drilling and pounding started on the upper floor..!! When contacted, we were informed that the month-long renovation of the 9th floor was in progress and would continue from 10 AM to 6 PM daily except on Sundays..!!! We were in for a shock, since the power drills were seriously loud and highly disturbing. The management, at our request, accommodated at their sister unit, Hotel Elizabeth a little further down on Orchard Road. The management would well do with informing prior booked guests like us by giving us this vital info about such scheduled maintenance so that we could choose alternate accommodations. This info is better presented on their website or in case it is a sudden plan, guests could be informed on arrival. But for this, the hotel is excellent, with all its facilities and location as well.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors of the rear tower are preferable for silence, though not for views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KheeSiong, General Manager at Orchard Parade Hotel by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for sharing your constructive feedback on the recent stay experience with us.

We are certainly concerned to learn of your experience regarding the noise from the current refurbishing work in our rooms. We apologise for the inconvenience caused resulting you to move to our sister hotels.

Taking your feedback on board, we will be sure to continue to seek for improvement in our effort to create memorable hotel experience for our guests. We have spoken with the site manager and will work to minimize any disruption to the comfort of our guest.

In the meantime, look look forward to welcoming back to Orchard Parade Hotel to experience our newly refurbish rooms

Best regards
Ng Khee Siong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

929 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    271
    372
    193
    62
    31
See reviews for
212
151
69
318
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I have stayed here close to a dozen times and always had a great time. The location is central, and everything about the hotel is professional. The food is good, but I normal go out. Overall, the service is world-class and the rooms are large with comfortable beds. An excellent place to stay on business.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KheeSiong, General Manager at Orchard Parade Hotel by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your positive feedback here. It was our pleasure to have you as our guests.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you again for another memorable hotel experience in the near future!

Best Regards
Ng Khee Siong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Our stay was rather quick, just a few nights to shop and eat! The hotel did meet our needs however it was occupied by businessmen. We expected this though given the professional business hub that Singapore is these days.
The bathrooms are a bit dated and smaller than what we are used to however that did not dampen our view on my overall rating of this hotel. I scored it 3 stars as it utterly needs to improve.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KheeSiong, General Manager at Orchard Parade Hotel by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your positive feedback here. It was our pleasure to have you as our guests.

As the hotel continuously strives to provide a comfortable stay for our guests, we are pleased to inform you that we are currently refurbishing our rooms and we are confident that this will address the concerns that you have expressed about our rooms.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you again for another memorable hotel experience in the near future!

Best regards
Ng Khee Siong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I have stayed at the Orchard Parade Hotel 3 times over the past several years and find it a good location in Singapore and usually one of the cheaper hotels on Ochard Road. There used to be a Mexican Resturaunt that was pretty good on the ground floor. They have a nice lobby and pool area to relax in and the rooms are functional and comfortable. The staff are friendly and they have a discount if you fly Singapore Airlines and make the reservation on the internet.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KheeSiong, General Manager at Orchard Parade Hotel by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your positive feedback here. It was our pleasure to have you as our guests.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you again for another memorable hotel experience in the near future!

Best regards
Ng Khee Siong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I stayed at the Orchard Parade Hotel for nine days for business. The location is great. The first room I was given was extremely noisy due to renovations in neighboring rooms. When I complained I was quickly moved to a higher floor 'club room' which was nice. The room was comfortable with a good bed. The staff were helpful and friendly. But I must say I was extremely annoyed to be charged over $25 per day for wifi in a business hotel, in a city with free wifi (the free city wide wifi was not accessible in the hotel). There was even charge for using internet access in the lobby computer. I've never heard of such a thing in this day and age, even in a small town in the rural US much less in Singapore. It gave me a bad feeling for the entire hotel and I wouldn't recommend staying there until they change this ridiculous policy.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room away from the renovation
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KheeSiong, General Manager at Orchard Parade Hotel by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience with us.

We always appreciate comments from our guests so we can serve you better. We appreciate your highlight on wifi issue and we are looking into natter. Allow me to reiterate my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.

Thank you for the constructive feedback and we hope to see you soon.

Best regards
Ng Khee Siong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thai Samakkhi, Thailand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Room over all not bad. But renovation after 8 in the night is crazy, and selfish. I pay to enjoy and relax not to hear renovation noise.
Reception really try to help but not their fault. Bell boy also nice and helpful. The only 2 areas I appreciate.
Rooms look abit old so surely should renovate but management must stop by 5 or latest 6 pm. No one inform me about this before booking or I will not consider even if hotel is on SALE. Bad management.

Room Tip: Check if any renovation going on before chosing any hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KheeSiong, General Manager at Orchard Parade Hotel by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your positive feedback here.

Naturally, it is disappointing to learn that we have failed to live up to your expectation. We have brought the feedback to the project manager and will ensure that the renovation will not effect the comfort of all our guest stay.

The hotel management takes your feedback seriously and will be sure to look at ways to improve upon the current level of service and facilities.

Again, we apologise for the inconvenience caused and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future to experience our newly renovated rooms.

Best regards
Ng Khee Siong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

The location of this hotel is good for shopping as it is along Orchard Rd however it is quite a distance to travel from Suntec City/Marina Bay (around S$12 to $14). Pros: Hotel room is clean, beds comfortable and the staff are very helpful. As an example, I requested for a toaster for breakfast and the concierge offered to toast the bread instead. Cons: noisy after 9am because of renovation works, no free wifi. Travel tips: if you are going to sentosa island to visit Universal Studios/Resort World, there is a free shuttle bus that stops at Orchard Hotel (not Orchard Parade) but bring your passport. For cheap food, go to Kopitiam along Bra Basah (close to rendezvous hotel) and for hawker food, go to Makan Sutra where you can enjoy chili crab and other seafood while enjoying the view of Marina Bay and city night lights.

Room Tip: Choose higher room or one along the pool level (6th floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KheeSiong, General Manager at Orchard Parade Hotel by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience with us.

We always appreciates comments from our guests so we can serve you better. We appreciate your highlight on the areas of shortfall you have had experienced. Allow me to reiterate my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.

As the hotel continuously strive to provide a comfortable stay for our guests, we are pleased to inform you that we are in the stages of refurbishing our rooms and we aplogise for any inonvenience caused.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we really look forward to seeing you again during your next visit to Singapore

Best regards
Ng Khee Siong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Orchard Parade Hotel by Far East Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Parade Hotel by Far East Hospitality

Address: 1 Tanglin Road, Singapore 247905, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Singapore
#52 Family Hotel in Singapore
#84 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orchard Parade Hotel by Far East Hospitality 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the entrance of the Orchard Road, Singapore's most famous shopping belt, Orchard Parade Hotel is just a 10-minute walk from Lido Cineplex and major shopping centers such as ION Orchard, Wisma Atria and Ngee Ann City.Business travellers will enjoy the accessibility of Orchard Parade Hotel, and families with children will definitely appreciate the hotel's spacious 50-60sqm Family Rooms.It is also within 10-minute walk to Scotts Road, another famous shopping district in Singapore. The same amount of walking time will bring you to Orchard MRT station, which can connect you to other parts of the city.With the hotel itself also providing a myriad of retail options ranging from fine wines and cigars to even a tailor for made-to-measure suits, guests will definitely be spoilt for choice. A 10-minute car ride will get you to the Central Business District or Suntec Singapore International Convention & Exhibition Centre. Orchard Parade Hotel is also only 30-minute drive from Changi International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Orchard Parade Hotel by Far East Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard Parade Hotel Singapore
Orchard Parade Hotel By Far East Hospitality Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orchard Parade Hotel by Far East Hospitality, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.