We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“That Increasingly Rare Combo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Naumi Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Naumi Hotel to your Saves list
Naumi Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   41 Seah Street, Singapore 188396, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“That Increasingly Rare Combo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

The proliferation of boutique hotels over the past decade has produced mixed results. Those who are suckers for aesthetics (present company included) gravitate to these experiments in accommodation, and often times that's exactly what they are: exercises in form over function. You so badly want to like the place, but flaws in design render the place less than ideal. A bathroom out of Wallpaper Magazine is alluring to the eye...until you find that the shower is such that water spills out onto the main bathroom floor. Or the bed, whose linens you want to smuggle home in your luggage, offers all the comfort of a rec room beanbag. Or the front desk/concierge personnel -- decked out in fabulous ensembles -- have zero inclination to be of help, and lack the courtesy to offer so much as a smile.

There are hotels -- many of them of the old guard -- that offer great service. And there are quite a few who give great attention to design. Naumi is the rare place that accomplishes both beautifully.

Naumi has only 40 some-odd rooms, which allows the staff to give you personalized attention. Singapore is a foodie's paradise and the front desk was enthusiastic to recommend their favorite local, off-the-beaten-path food hawker centers. Public transportation in Singapore is world-class, but bus maps are difficult to find. No worries: a concierge will give you not one -- but two convenient routes -- to the Botanical Gardens in the more remote/expat area of town.

The rooms are, in a word, sexy. Amber back lighting behind the headboard gives the room an attractive hue. The bathroom, even in the smaller Deluxe/standard 52sqm rooms, offers plenty of space (and Kiehl's products...yar!). iPod deck, LCD TV, DVD player, work desk, power A/C, etc. Naumi's rooftop pool is every bit as inviting as it appears on the website. And the location is an easy 3-minute walk to the City Hall MRT stop.

...and Naumi knows all of this.

I secured a reasonable "early bird rate" in the spring for my 3-night September visit back when Naumi was a relatively unknown quantity. When I contacted the sales manager about securing the same rate on my return trip a couple of weeks later, my request was met with incredulity. She suggested that she had no idea how I got that initial rate to begin with and couldn't come close -- and you can't really blame her. As the 40-room Naumi continues to establish its reputation as the only 5-star quality boutique accommodation in an expensive hotel market, I suspect the days of locking in anything under $315 SG are over.

Still, given the exorbitant rates you'll pay elsewhere, the Naumi might still be your best bet -- even at the higher rates.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Naumi Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2010
Dear Kfastuff,
Thank you for your feedback and compliments. We are glad that you are happy with both our hotel design and service. Your positive comments will motivate us to be even better and to bring Naumi to the next level.
If there is anything we can assist you with, please contact me directly.
cheers,
peter wong
hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    266
    68
    22
    15
See reviews for
116
529
90
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

A lovely boutique hotel - rooms are 'contemporary chic', location is good, staff are friendly. It's refreshing to have complimentary elements like free wi-fi internet, soft drinks, Nespresso coffees in a day and age where hotels seem to charge for every small additional exttra. The Kiehls shower gels and shampoos are also fabulous.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Naumi Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2010
Dear SVLT,
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us and especially our service and product. Naumi says...... little things count and we are glad that you have noticed and enjoyed them.
If I can further assist in any way, please contact me directly.
cheers,
peter wong
hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

Highly recommend this superb boutique hotel in Singapore. Just wish it was a little more affordable to be able to stay personally. Its in a great location and while the rooftop pool isn't very big its got fab views and is lovely to relax in after a day's work :-)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Naumi Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2010
Dear Creditcardworry,
Naumi says...... thanks for your feedback! We are happy that you found our location great and that you enjoyed our compact pool, its view and that you managed to relax. Naumi says...... .Great things come in small packages! Do contact us directly for your future personal stays as from time to time, we do offer nice packages e.g. Let's get Naughty package and others.
cheers,
peter wong
hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

I've stayed in quite a few hotels over the years, and this ranks as one of the best I've stayed in. The staff were amazing, especially Nico, who did everything he could to help make our stay pleasant and enjoyable. We were upgraded to the corporate suite upon arrival, and the facilities were amazing. Never seen a TV that big in a hotel room before! The Nespesso machine was a nice touch as well, as were the teas they had on offer and the free drinks in the large fridge.

My girlfriend sprained her ankle and the staff did everything they could to help, sending up loads of ice for an ice-pack and even a first-aider to help. Unfortunately due to the sprain we were unable to take a swim in the fantastic roof-top pool, which gives a great view of the city and of Raffles next-door which the pool overlooks, but we did travel up to the roof a couple of times to take a few photos.

There are plenty of shops, restaurants and bars in the immediate area, and the metro is only a few minutes walk away, so the location is great. The room service was great too. Not a cheap place to stay, but you get what you pay for. Definitely going to stay here again some day.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Naumi Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2010
Dear mtrip4,
Naumi says........ are you feeling better? We hope your girlfriend's ankle is better now. We are glad that you are happy with our services especially that of Nico. Your positive feedback will spur us to do even better. Do contact us for your future bookings and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
cheers,
peter wong
hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

Where should I start about Naumi...? The impeccable hospitable service? Or the designer furniture & room decor? Or the well-equipped kitchenettes? Oh wait, there's the fluffy comfy king-sized bed where your body just sinks in as you doze off to a good night's slumber...
And I could go on and on about Naumi for ages.. Let this exclusive luxury boutique take you through an un-forgetable journey full of lovely delightful surprises!

Special thanks to Melissa, the patient guest relation officer for taking special attention of my requests and the guy (didn't catch your name

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Naumi Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2010
Dear Devon87,
Naumi says..... don't stop giving us feedback. Thank you for your wonderful feedback and we are glad that you enjoyed all our "little" touches. Melissa has been informed of your positive comments and thank you for it. Let me know if I can assist in any way.
cheers,
peter wong
hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

My partner and I stayed at Naumi hotel in April of 2010 for two nights. The room was very big with a separate living area and lovely decor. It was next to Raffles so a great location but none of the taxi drivers knew the hotel so we had to keep telling them to go to Raffles and then walk round the corner. The website says that the mini bar is complementary and it is but beware the only has a limited number of soft drinks (with refills at a cost) in it and not alcohol, juice or food. There is however a Nescafe pod coffee machine in the room that was complementary. The pool and deck had a lovely view but limited service for drinks etc. All in all a great experience although it wasn't cheap and don't be tricked by the mini bar

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Naumi Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2010
Dear purplepanda17,
Naumi says......... we will improve. Your feedback on the mini-bar and pool service is appreciated. We will look at how we can do better and are glad that you liked the pool view and found our room big and design lovely. If I can assist with anything, please contact me directly.
cheers,
peter wong
hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

Had the corporate suite over a weekend for party, turned out to be a good choice as the living area has a long sofa to accommodate everyone.

TV console has only 2 sockets so it was a hassle to switch between the bose dvd player and X-Box. Had to get staff to help out with the connecting of equipment a few times but was done very quickly.

Not sure why there's no LAN cable for internet, only wi-fi connection so can be slow at times.

Noticed certain "hidden" areas ie underneath furniture were quite dusty.

The wooden lever panels that separate bedroom from living area is a functional feature.

Front desk was reluctant to issue 2nd key card, do not understand why.

Still a nice place to stay, but personally I prefer the deluxe suite which feels more spacious even though it's slightly smaller.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Naumi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naumi Hotel

Address: 41 Seah Street, Singapore 188396, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#17 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#17 Business Hotel in Singapore
#25 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Naumi Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Naumi Hotel is an intimate retreat in Singapore that presents a selection of 73 elegantly-appointed rooms to cocoon guests in comfort. Find refuge and resplendence in Naumi Hotel with a huge selection of handpicked original design pieces from B&B Italia, Poltrona Frau, Zanotta, Tom Dixon, Artemide, alongside an impressive collection of some specially commissioned Singaporean art. With an international design pulse that is both attractive and architecturally appealing, Naumi is the trendsetter. Set in the heart of the Singapore’s Central Business District, Naumi Hotel is a state-of-the-art boutique hotel located a stone’s throw away from the Suntec Convention Centre, the Formula One Track, and a myriad of inner-city shopping centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Prestigia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Naumi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Singapore
Naumi Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Naumi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.