We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in the heart of Chinatown” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Temple Street

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn at Temple Street to your Saves list
The Inn at Temple Street
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36 Temple Street, Singapore 058581, Singapore (Chinatown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #178 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great location in the heart of Chinatown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

I stayed for 3 nights in May 2012.
The hotel is right in the middle of Chinatown, MRT is 2 mins walk away, with Smith St 1 min in the other direction, and even a McDonalds about 2 mins away.
The rooms are very clean and the bedding is new.
Unfortunately the wifi is not free but if you ask reception nicely they may give you a freebie.
I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    71
    52
    28
    36
See reviews for
22
68
51
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Petersfield, Hampshire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Booked this room via a comparison site. Paid £60 per night and stayed a total of three nights. It is right in the heart of China Town. The MRT station is behind the hotel - no more than three minutes to walk - great location. Can be noisy at night - they empty the bins at midnight!

The room was small but then I understand all rooms are small in Singapore (unless you can afford to pay mega bucks)! The bed was comfortable and the sheets were clean. Room service every day. Ultimately it is just a place to sleep and I don't get hung about about room size. Air conditioning was quiet and very efficient.

Would I stay again? Yes I probably would.

My only gripe - they wanted to charge S$20 for unlimited wifi per stay. Not bad if you're staying a week - but for this kind of money I felt it should have been included.

Room Tip: Don't book direct - they charge S$180 per night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

I stayed for 2 nights in March. The location is very convenient, right in Chinatown. The MRT is a 5 min walk away. There are amazing food choices within minutes. The rooms are small, but they are clean and functional. I found all the front desk staff friendly and helpful. I had a late flight so I checked out of my room at noon. When I returned in the evening I was allowed to use a vacant room free of charge to shower.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed for three nights late March 2012. What a fantastic hotel. Rooms are small but seriously clean with great reception staff. We accidently left clothing behind and they immediately emailed us.
Location is in the very middle of Chinatown - great location, clean and compact - beat it - best of luck in Singapore!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Didn't have a great experience at this hotel.

The positives: Cheap, great location right in China Town, three minutes to the MRT trains.

The negatives: Room the size of a large cupboard, TV in room didn't work, Wi-Fi wasn't working, the world's smallest bathroom/toilet wasn't clean, staff constantly asleep at the front desk, no breakfast available - need to go to Mcdonald's close by.

The hotel has character as it is a restored old chinese inn, but it isn't well run or looked after despite having tourism awards displayed. An old grotty tissue on the main steps up to the rooms was there when we arrived, and was still there two days later whe we left. Doesn't look like much cleaning ever gets done and our room reflected this.

Despite being in the lower price bracket price (about $105 a night, so not exactly ultra-budget) we won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

We stayed here for 11 days over Chinese New Year and had an absolutely great time. The hotel opens onto Temple Street which was closed to vehicles, and full of food stalls and hawkers selling everything under the sun.
It was great. The room was clean and tidy. The small fridge and electric kettle were a nice touch.
Staff were very friendly and helpful.
A thoroughly enjoyable staff.
Our room was on the second floor at the rear. We used foam ear plugs at night, and weren't bothered by the street noises.
Would we stay here again. You bet.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

This hotel is by no means a Boutique Hotel - a statement that is being used rather a lot these days without any foundation.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Boutique_hotel

The Hotel has just been renovated and stank of paint, when I asked if windows could be opened, as the smell was intoxicating and giving us headaches, I was told no. It turned out nobody had keys for any of the windows in the whole Hotel, not the stair ways nor the bedrooms, which is a big Health & Safety concern.

The rooms are tiny to say the least, and the bathrooms have been 'shoehorned' in.

The decor is simple and pleasent but the beds are short. I'm 5'8" (172cm) and when I was laid on my back with my head on the pillow my heels were hanging over the end...

For a one night stop over it is okay but for a couple of nights at 113 Singapore Dollars per night, when it is advertised as 'Boutique' it is very disappointing and not worth the money.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Temple Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Temple Street

Address: 36 Temple Street, Singapore 058581, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #178 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Temple Street 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perankan styles boutique hotel with intricately carved wooden furniture, antique artifacts, & well painted murals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Inn at Temple Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Temple Street Hotel Singapore
Hotel At Temple Street
At Temple Street Singapore
Bed Breakfast Singapore
The Inn At Temple Street Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Temple Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.