We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enigmatic Botique Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 1929

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel 1929 to your Saves list
Hotel 1929
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Keong Saik Road, Singapore 089154, Singapore (Chinatown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #111 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
283 reviews 283 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Enigmatic Botique Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Found this write up quite difficult as I had to balance the plusses against the minuses and it came out a DRAW! Hotel is in a great location on the edge of Chinatown. As such it is near restaurants, eating stalls, bars, cafes. Its biggest plus is that it is 5 mins stroll to the MRT!!!!

The hotel looks very nice from the outside - oldie Singapore. The staff on reception are the best I have encountered in a very long time - smiling, helpful and interested. We arrived at 1am and the reception was just great and check in very fast.

We had room 201, a pizza slice shaped room (it acually had 7 sides), that overlooked the main road. Room had 2 windows with secondary glazing with a "queen?" sized bed against the outside wall. It was VERY compact and I mean compact. Space is optimal but very well used. There is really no laying out space - it is a small shelf and limited hanging space. Below the bed was 2 drawers on wheels that could be used for storing clothes and it was also where the safe was. The bed was comfy but cosy!! Room has a large TV, tea/coffee makings, efficient A/C, free WiFi. Cases can be stored under the bed - however, if you arrive with a lot of cases it would be a problem.

At the point of the room wedge is a combined shower/toilet wet room with a glass front (the bottom of it is opaque - for modesty). Shower is rainfall type with a hand extension. It does get wet in there and you usually have to dry the toilet seat before using it.

Breakfast is pretty basic and was passable but not great (the croissants were good) - it was included in our deal. In reception there is free nibbles, water and soda.

We spent 5 days there and by the end of it were not that sure about the smallness of the room. Yes , price wise - it was good value for Singapore but it was the smallest room I have stayed in , in a very long time. The noise from the street was not bad during the day but at night around 2-3am the noise woke us up every night and I wear ear plugs!. It was the dustmen and their 76 piece orchestra!!!

So you can see why I have mixed feelings - having to balance out location versus room space and noise.

On balance if I could, I'd have moved.

Room Tip: Any room not facing the main roads and the side lanes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Sales Executive at Hotel 1929, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Honisoiquimalypense,

Thank you so much for taking time to write a very detailed review of your stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your feedback. The staff are very delighted to hear your compliments to them. We hope you enjoyed the complimentary snacks corner stocked with nibbles and non-alcoholic drinks.

We are indeed located just a stone's throw away from the train station which enabling travelers to commute to Singapore's places of interests very easily. Situated along the fringe of Chinatown, guests can enjoy the many restaurants and bars peppered along the quaint Keong Saik Street.

Housed in a conservation shophouse, we recognize that some of our rooms are a little spatially challenged hence, every space is optimised. Having said that, we also want to address your comment on the noise disturbance. The streets can be a little bustling at night, and we would be glad to offer and assist with a room change if we do have an availability facing the back lane. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused.

If your travel brings you back to Singapore, do try our sister hotels New Majestic Hotel located one road away from Hotel 1929. With bigger room space and facilities such as gym and a swimming pool, we reckon you might enjoy it.

We hope that you would allow us the opportunity to welcome you back.

Till then, keep safe!

Cheers,
Lyndel Joyce
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    187
    96
    34
    21
See reviews for
15
170
100
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kununurra, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Really enjoyed my stay at Hotel 1929 as a single person in a double room with a balcony overlooking the street. The little balcony was lovely and I did not find the street particularly noisy. Also liked the early bells from the Indian temple. It is in Chinatown but far enough away from touristy Pagoda Street to not be over-crowded. The wonderful Tong Ah restaurant is just up the road. The room had a comfortable bed and very good internet. Needed to do work on my computer but floor space was too small to sit at ledge/desk on the chair so I put the computer on a pillow on the bed. Even though the bathroom was small the fittings were good and I found the shower handle easy to manage. Yes it is glass but it is frosted in the significant areas. Singapore is so expensive if you want a room with a window. I am willing to compromise on the space to stay somewhere with a window provided I can work. Enough floor space to sit at the desk would have been good. Liked the free bottled water and the lovely helpful staff. Coffee was quite good at breakfast but not as good as the Kopi-C Kosong at Ah Meng at the Zoo!
There was no fridge for the milk I need for my first coffee of the morning. Can buy it at the 7/11 close by but it goes off if you don't use it fast enough. Singapore does not seem to have the current staple of outback Australia, UHT milk, and I don't like the coffee whitener supplied. On only one day out of seven there were lovely noodles at breakfast. The congee was quite nice but no other rice was on offer. It would be good if they offered were real Singapore specialities. However you can skip the breakfast and walk to the Chinatown Complex just down the street where there is a wonderful cornucopia of possibilities at very cheap prices. It was good that the hotel had the Straits Times in the morning as I found lots of things to do listed in the "Life" section.

Room Tip: I like being able to see the street and did not find it noisy even though others did. I was tired af...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Sales Executive at Hotel 1929, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear nambijin,

Warm Greetings from Singapore!

We appreciate you taking time to share this review for all of us here at Tripadvisor. Sounds like you’re a frequent traveler to Singapore and you know your Kopi-C Kosong well! We are very delighted to have hosted your stay and that you had the opportunity to enjoy the services and facilities around the hotel. Indeed, we are located along the fringe of Chinatown where one can bask in the old world charm and rich history of Keong Saik Street. I’m sure you must have enjoyed the popular local coffeeshop, Tong Ah, where we locals indulge in our morning Kopi and Toast!

Your compliments for our staff make us feel proud to be doing what we’re doing. We also hoped you enjoyed the snacks bar at the reception where guests can help themselves to unlimited traditional Singapore biscuits and non-alcoholic drinks. Housed in a conservation building, we recognise that some of our rooms are compact. Perhaps we could have you try our sister hotels New Majestic Hotel located within the Hotel 1929 vicinity and Wanderlust Hotel in Little India in your next visit. We reckon you might enjoy it too!

Till then, safe travels

Warm Regards,
Lyndel Joyce
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Lovely boutique place. Good value for notoriously expensive SG.
Only 5-6 mins walk to MRT.
Lots of local restaurants & bars nearby

Points to be aware of
1. My room, a standard , so small that the bed only place to open my case. Floor space at a premium.
2. My AC placed directly above bed head so either shiver or sweat was my choice. Your room may be different.

Staff nice and helpful but the above points have driven me to the sister hotel Wanderlust for my next trip.
Review to follow.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms over the ® body road out front. It's a night time entertainment area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Sales Executive at Hotel 1929, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear EOCBrighton,

Greetings from Hotel 1929!

Thank you for your time in writing this very honest feedback. Housed in a conservation shophouse, we recognize that some of our rooms are a little spatially challenged. Having said that, we are very pleased to hear your comment about our wonderful staff. Indeed, they are our valuable assets.

We reckon you might love Wanderlust Hotel if you are into quirky fun accommodations located in a colourful bustling Little India. We hope to have you stay with us again soon!

Till then, safe travels.

Cheers,
Lyndel Joyce
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

The Pluses - Excellent location. Located at a district undergoing a major renaissance. where the old and the new marry amicably. Free snacks, water and soda. Hotel design is minimalist and no frills, but works for me. The balcony is real cute and gives you a good view of the street. The front desk staff were pretty good and attentive. Good price by Singapore standards.

The Minuses - The rooms are very small and a little tired. Not for the claustrophobic. The combined bathroom within a very small space didn't quite work for me. Power tripped in the room originally allocated, but was changed a room within the next 15mins. Air conditioning was noisy and musty. The walls are not insulated from sound so be prepared to wake up to rowdy neighbours in the middle of the night.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Keong Saik Road has cute balconies that overlook the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Sales Executive at Hotel 1929, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear tanbernard,

Greetings from Hotel 1929 and thank you for your detailed feedback.

It is heartening to know that you enjoyed our location, peppered with restaurant and bars. The front desk staff will be delighted to know this compliment of them.

Housed in a conservation shophouse, we recognize that some of our rooms are a little spatially challenged. Perhaps you can swing by our sister property located just one street away, New Majestic Hotel, which might provide a more viable option for your future stay.

Once again, thank you for your valuable comments and we hope to have another opportunity to be of service to you.

Kind Regards,
Lyndel Joyce
Sales Executive
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed 3 nights here travelling from Australia to the UK with 2 suitcases and 4 large bags. The rooms are small (as we had seen on the website before we booked) but we had no problems with all our bags. We had a great stay! The staff were absolutely brilliant and couldn't do enough for us. The hotel is in a good location less than 5 mins walk from outram station and also has nice bars and restaurants right outside the door! I also loved that we were able to help ourselves to juice and water from the fridge in reception (free of charge!),when does this ever happen in a hotel?!! Also the housekeeping was done to a very high standard and the housekeepers we're lovely and friendly. Breakfast was also good, catering for different nationalities with a good range of food. My only bad points although pretty minor, the combined shower & toilet was slightly annoying when you had to get your feet/shoes wet nipping to the loo. And also the temple across the road woke me up at 7am-ish one morning as they were playing loud music! However for us these we're both minor details in a 3 night stay. 1929 is a quirky hotel full of character. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Sales Executive at Hotel 1929, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Lucy S,

Warm greetings from Hotel 1929!

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this detailed review of your recent stay with us. We strive to ensure that all our guests have a fantastic time at Hotel 1929 and we are truly pleased to hear that your stay was no exception. I am sure that our team of staff will be equally thrilled by your compliments for them.

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you faced with the noise in the morning, and we hope to welcome you again. Do swing by our sister properties New Majestic Hotel which is just within the Hotel 1929 vicinity or Wanderlust Hotel in Little India when you're back!

Keep well and safe travels!

Cheers,
Lyndel Joyce
Sales Executive
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Very good and nice people. The people where very friendly, breaksfast was also very good. Nearby the subway and China Town. Rooms where clean and every day fresh towels.
They have also humor and laughs


  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Sales Executive at Hotel 1929, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Gine L,

Greetings from Hotel 1929!

Thank you for your review of our hotel and we are glad that you found our staff friendly and liked our central location.

Keep well and hope to see you again soon!

Cheers,
Lyndel Joyce
Sales Executive
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Annes
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

If you want to explore Singapore the location is perfect - situated between Chinatown and Outram Park just off a main road. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The free wifi had excellent reception. Free soft drinks from the fridge in the lobby 24/7. The downside, as most people have mentioned, was the room size. I booked a superior double for myself alone which was just about adequate but even then the shower was combined with the toilet. I suppose it was good for multi-tasking but not a feature I liked. This does seem to be a common feature in Singapore however where room sizes in general are much smaller than EU standards.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 206 which had a balcony overlooking Keong Saik Road and a double bed which was adeq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Sales Executive at Hotel 1929, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Baz_c

Greetings from Hotel 1929!

Thank you for your constructive feedback and we are glad to head that despite the compact rooms, we were able to provide you with an exemplary service!

Perhaps the next time you are in town, we could have you try New Majestic Hotel, our sister property, located within the vicinity. With bigger rooms, a gym and outdoor pool as its facilities, we reckon you might enjoy it more.

Till then, safe travels!

Cheers,
Lyndel Joyce
Sales Executive
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel 1929? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1929

Address: 50 Keong Saik Road, Singapore 089154, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 1929 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city incandescent with modernity, in a town jiving with culture and on a street steeped in history, Hotel 1929 beckons with a whimsical mix of old world architecture and a nouveau chic interior.The hotel consists of fiver conservation shop-houses built in 1929, and features 32 individually designed rooms decked in a mix of classic designer and retro vintage furniture. 1929 is conveniently located near the Chinatown MRT station, a short walk away from the buzzing clubs and restaurants located at Club Street, and a 5 minute taxi ride from the heart of the business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel 1929 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 1929 Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 1929, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.