We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, We Recommend the Premier Room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Cavenagh Road, Singapore 229616, Singapore   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #22 of 292 hotels in Singapore
Makati, Philippines
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Location, We Recommend the Premier Room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

We loved our 4-night stay at Holiday Inn Parkview, Singapore. We stayed here from June 11-15. The hotel is a 3 minute walk from the Somerset MTR station making it very convenient even if we go home late with many shopping bags. It is near the Centrepoint Mall, Paragon, Takashimaya, etc.
We weren't able to try the Indian Restaurant that was highly recommended since we were out of the hotel most of the time. We only tried the Buffet Breakfast and the Room Service which are just okay. I find it too expensive for what they can offer.
We stayed in a Premier Room. All Premier Rooms are newly renovated and thus have a modern look. The king bed was very comfortable. Rooms including the bathrooms are very clean. They refill the toiletries everyday.
We didn't have problems with the noise as it was contained on the 9-6pm construction hours and as a I have mentioned, we were not in the hotel most of the time so the noise didn't bother us. There was definitely no ongoing construction after work hours.
See the pictures I posted to give you an idea on the Premier Room. The other rooms are being renovated now that is why some people say they are outdated.
We will definitely stay in this hotel again on our next visit to Singapore.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,464 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    670
    642
    121
    21
    10
See reviews for
605
298
100
286
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

On the plus side, we arrived early --- 6am --- with two small children and the front desk allowed us into our room straightaway at no extra charge. Staff were friendly and nice to our children. Swimming pool area was nice.
On the down side --- renovation to the reception area included very loud drilling, shouting and banging all day long. As we were still on European time and wanted to sleep in the day, this was unbearable after a while. We could not be moved as all the quiet rooms were full. The children's channel on the TV was down, and while they said they would send someone to look at it, no-one came; the channel was not fixed during our stay. The room was not serviced in the three days we were there. On the second day I rang down and asked that someone come and remove the old cups and wet towels, and the lady on reception sighed heavily and had quite a bit of tone in response to a fairly reasonable request. I thought 10 singaporean dollars for a cup of hot chocolate was pretty excessive, as was 55 dollars for two lemonades, a glass of wine and a small beer. I thought internet access was bizarrely expensive, especially as so many cafes and bars have free wifi, and there were a couple of those next door.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

We stayed at the Park View twice during our recent trip to Singapore, Malaysia, and Australia. The primary reason we picked this hotel was because it is one of the few that offers two double beds at a (relatively) affordable price. On our first stay (3 nights), we were upgraded to one of the refurbished rooms, which was very nice. The large TV and DVD player were nice touches for my young kids as they dealt with the 12-hour time difference (they could watch a movie at 4:00 am while Mom and Dad slept). On the second day, all 4 of us received a little mp3 player to thank us for putting up with the noise from the construction. It can get a little loud, but it is only from about 9:00 am to 6:00 pm, so we rarely heard anything.

We stayed here again for two nights after returning from Australia. This time, we got one of the older rooms. It is perfectly fine, though it pales in comparison with the newer rooms. For about S$30/night, it is worth paying for the upgrade.

Pros: The location is really good for easy access to shopping and transportation. The Somerset or Dhoby Ghaut MRT stations are about 5 minutes away on foot. There is also a Cold Storage supermarket 2 minutes away at Centrepoint, as well as plenty of shopping and food (including late night food). You can get rooms with two double beds, which means avoiding the hassle of paying for an extra bed or room if you are traveling with more than 3 people. The pool area is nice and includes a wading pool for small children. Finally, the staff is attentive and helpful.

Cons: Breakfast and internet are expensive and are only included with the room at much higher prices. We did not bother with the breakfast since there are so many options available nearby. Also, while the hotel is not in Geylang or next to Orchard Towers, there are some activities in and around Orchard Plaza and Cuppage Plaza that might offend some. There are a few health centres in Orchard Plaza where women give "massages," and I had a couple nice young ladies ask me to take them back to my hotel room when walking along the road that separates the Park View from those two plazas. It is not overt and no one approached me except when I was alone at night, but, for those who are offended by this sort of activity, you will want to make sure that stay on the Centrepoint side of the area and away from Orchard Plaza and Hotel Grand Central.

I highly recommend it for a family with two children that does not want to spend more than S$200-225/night.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

Enjoyed the convenient location of this special hotel. Delicious buffet breakfast and relaxing pool. Helpful staff, frequent taxis and close to restaurants and shopping centres. Able to accommodate 5 people in one room. Dark room for kids with jet lag.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MUMBAI
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

Stayed in the hotel with my wife and 2 kids. The Renovation is going on and they are renovating the rooms. The new rooms which were ready looked great. Though we stayed in one of their old rooms, which was no less comfortable and very good.

Location is very good as the famous Orchard Road is walking distance.

Exceptional mention to the kind gestures of the staff which makes one more welcome and will definitely recommend others. A SPECIAL WORD OF THANKS TO Mr. KENNY, FRONT DESK.

  • Liked — LOCATION AND COURTESIOUS STAFF
  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hyderabad
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2009

got a free upgrade without asking for both my rooms as it was off peak. staff at reception very friendly. this property of holiday inn is better than the atrium holiday inn. plus you are walking distance to orchard rd. views are of presidential palace. some refurbishment is going on but not noisy. good value for money. lobby is quite grand compared to holiday inn standards. rooms are quite large

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

I chose this hotel through the reviews on tripadvisor for a s'pore hotel that allows you to take one room with two small children. The refurbished rooms are very nice with flatscreen tv's etc. The breakfast buffet is pathetic and is served in this horrible brown 70's coffee shop. The service in the coffee shop is pretty poor too. The pool is average but the hot tub is none too clean. The steam room is one of those home models. But I'd stay here again, because everything else in s'pore is even more overpriced and at least I get to take only one room. Some reviews mention the noise from the refurbishment, just specify that you are given a room where the work has been done. That's what I did.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre

Address: 11 Cavenagh Road, Singapore 229616, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Singapore
#20 Business Hotel in Singapore
#21 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Singapore
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
#26 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre, formerly Holiday Inn Park View Singapore, in the heart of downtown Singapore! Whether for business or leisure, our central location is 10minutes away from the central business district and a convenient 2minute walk away from the shoppers’ paradise, Orchard Road. Public transport is just 3minutes away, providing easy access to the city's cultural heritage and tourist attractions like Chinatown, Little India, Sentosa and the Night Safari. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre Hotel Singapore
Holiday Inn Park View Singapore
Singapore Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.