We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Hotel! Very Bad Central Reservation Service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Cavenagh Road, Singapore 229616, Singapore   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #21 of 291 hotels in Singapore
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very Good Hotel! Very Bad Central Reservation Service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of May. The hotel is conveniently located behind Orchard Road. The first impression of the hotel was the lobby looks a little dated but very clean and well maintained. Staff were friendly and efficient. We booked an executive room with lounge access. Our room was on the 8th floor facing an expressway, but amazingly it’s very quiet, no noise issue at all. The room was modern, fresh and clean with decent room size. Beds were comfortable. Wifi’s working great. Bathroom was sparkling clean and toiletries provided were thoughtful enough with supply of easily forgotten toothbrush and razor. Everything was in perfect condition.
We could choose to have breakfast at the executive lounge or the Window on the Park restaurant. The receptionists at both the lounge and restaurant were very courteous, pleasant and attentive. The beautiful lady receptionist at the breakfast room could already greet us by our name the 2nd morning we were there. Breakfast spread was good including Chinese, Malay, Indian and Western options. They even have a cutest little kid’s corner for the kids to get their own food. The food was decent but have margin for improvement, particularly the food temperature. The executive lounge was a good place to hang around for a little relaxation in the afternoon. Besides breakfast they also served afternoon tea and happy hours with coffee, tea, drinks, light snacks and desserts, pretty relaxing if it’s not overly crowded at times.
Overall, good value, very nice hotel, particularly the staff are super friendly and attentive. Memorable stay!

Only complain: We have 2 different families booked 2 different bookings at different times on Holiday Inn online website. And we all received booking confirmation with detail price to our emails. About a week before we left for our trip, we double checked our hotel bookings. But to our surprise, all of our bookings were altered without even letting us know. The price for both of our booking were altered, one to a higher price and the other were lower but with only one person’s occupancy iso three persons. We called the Holiday Inn reservation office. I was lucky enough to change everything back to the original (without apology or explanation) because the price I have (which were higher that my friend’s) was still available. But my friends booking was messed up that they could not reinstate it back to the original price because that price was no longer available. The case was passed to the customer services. My friend told me that the lady on the other side was so indifference and impatient. She just told her that there was nothing she could do and whatever it was, it’s the company’s policy and hang up abruptly on her. She was so angry and instantly cancelled her reservation, but left to look for another hotel with less than a weeks time. So it left me wonder whether I should still book with Holiday Inn Chain again in the future!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,447 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    663
    635
    120
    20
    9
See reviews for
591
297
99
281
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Top Contributor
529 reviews 529 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
800 helpful votes 800 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

this hotel is behind Orchard rd and this makes it better than the hotels in the road area

the breakfast is nice rooms very good i stayed with them once there in the future i may stay there if the intercontinental prices is very expensive
i enjoyed the stay in this hotel the staff in the front desk were lovely
housekeeping and room service very nice i did not try their spa and the pool

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Not too expensive for a hotel near the orchard rd. We can easly find a taxi if you want to go arround spore.

Near 7/11 if you need something to buy for 24h. And there's also lots of restaurants behind the hotel. You can find a locally restaurant near 7/11 for 24h. Try the local noodle and any kinds of dessert.

From the restaurant go straight then turn right at orchard rd , we will find "Bee Cheng Hiang" non hallal, delicious sweet pork. Dont come to spore before you have taste their sweet pork.

you can find easily lots of shopping malls near the hotel.

Happy Holiday :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

A very solid hotel with all the right facilities. Plenty of shopping and eating places around within easy walking distance. A little disappointed that there are no walk in showers for older folk. Trying to step into a high bath is difficult for some whose limbs don't work as well as they use to. Staff are very friendly and helpful

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stayed recently in mid June at this hotel. The reason I have chosen this hotel was for the location. It is just within walking distance to the famous Orchard Road. From here, you can catch taxi to go to Clark Quay or Marina within 10 mins radius, anytime of the day.

The hotel can be for both leisure and business stay. Rooms are clean and comfortable. They are not as new in comparison to some other properties within the vicinity, however, the maintenance and up-keeping is very good.

Breakfast quality was decent, however, I didnt like the fact that the breakfast room was tiny and there were crowded with too many people and kids.

Overall, good hotel and value for money. And perfect location.

Room Tip: Try not to take room near the elevator shaft/area, because the "ding-dong" noise from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The location of this hotel is excellent being very close to Orchard Road and the associated shopping and restaurants. The rooms are average in size but quite o.k. and we had no issues with cleanliness. The staff are pleasant and helpful and the general standard of service is good indeed. You will not be disappointed if you choose this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati City
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

I needed to make a last minute booking in Singapore and staying here was a wonderful surprise. I arrived around 6am and the reception was very accommodating. They let me check-in early, have a good breakfast, and gave me enough time to rest and freshen up before a 9am meeting. Location is great, easy walk from central Orchard. Rooms are clean, though the hotel layout is quite inefficient (as I was assigned to one of the farthest rooms).

Overall I had an excellent stay, I paid around SG$240 inclusive of wifi, breakfast, and taxes - I'd say this is great value for any hotel in SG. Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre

Address: 11 Cavenagh Road, Singapore 229616, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Singapore
#20 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#21 Business Hotel in Singapore
#27 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre, formerly Holiday Inn Park View Singapore, in the heart of downtown Singapore! Whether for business or leisure, our central location is 10minutes away from the central business district and a convenient 2minute walk away from the shoppers’ paradise, Orchard Road. Public transport is just 3minutes away, providing easy access to the city's cultural heritage and tourist attractions like Chinatown, Little India, Sentosa and the Night Safari. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre Hotel Singapore
Holiday Inn Park View Singapore
Singapore Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.