We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great All-Rounder” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Cavenagh Road, Singapore 229616, Singapore   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #21 of 291 hotels in Singapore
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great All-Rounder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I seem to have missed the Executive Lounge tip that others give so will concentrate on our experience. The facilities we used were the bar and pool and we ate breakfast, which I cannot fault as they just about catered for all tastes.

Hotel in great location for the 2 day tourists we were, stopping on our way to Boracay. Taxis easy to get at hotel front and around £5 everywhere we wanted to go. Staff were friendly and helpful - room was massive, with 2 double beds in it ( we booked a normal double room). Although a bit dated I can't fault the cleanliness or facilities. Beds were comfy too - only negative is lack of free wifi

Pool on roof top is excellent size and a real bonus!

My additional experience tip: Loved Singapore and will return - wish we had not bothered with a visit to the dirty Raffles Longbar though, where we were eventually served by surly staff and presented with tasteless 'slings' for ridiculously rip-off prices!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,448 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    663
    636
    120
    20
    9
See reviews for
592
297
99
281
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I am a fairly regular visitor to this establishment but it is always good to give an update.
Arriving is a bit like getting home and this time it was the same. Everything was just about seamless except we had booked into a premium room with King Size, we were allocated a room with a different configuration. On showing the booking slip the mistake was speedily corrected and we were put in the correct room. The draw back was the room was as far from the lifts as possible. This was quite a treck and with the service lifts right outside of our room we were tempted to use them.
At this time there is quite a bit of construction noise from a nearby site. Holiday Inn are powerless to control this and you are warned on check in
There has been a change in Vocalist in the lobby bar but the new regime is great and it is still a pleasant place to veg out after a day in Singapore.

Room Tip: Mention that you would be close to the lifts Join the executive club...Well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed here for one night on way home from an Asian holiday.
It doesn't feel like a large overrun hotel when you walk in- a quiet ambience.
However, our room wasn't ready and we ended up waiting for over 2 hours which was really disappointing given we had booked the executive package. We did get a free drink...
The rooms are large- we did have a suite so cant complain. However- maybe it was just our noisy neighbours who had their tv on very loud, but we could hear this in our bed which was kind of annoying.
Nice toiletries and appointed nicely with a lounge etc.
Lots of extras when you book a club room- but you need to be around to enjoy them and not out and about shopping as we were. The club lounge was very full when we went past for evening drinks and couldn't get in, which was a shame.
I had breakfast in the club lounge aswell which was busy. Breakfast was very good. Would love to be able to get a pot of tea though and not have to get up all te time to get a new cup
Afternoon high tea was a little disappointing as when I got there . just after
Concierge were very nice and helpful with bags etc. there was not much left and it was not topped up at all.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in January 2013 on the way back to Australia from the UK. We are a family of four, with a 4-year old and a baby. What I liked was the room sizes were good. We got a room with 2 double beds and there was still plenty of room when we got a crib in there too. The breakfast was excellent, with good choices for children - they even had a little children's table made up with a small buffet so the little ones could pick their own things.
We asked for some fresh milk in our room for the tea and coffee and was charged $10 SGD which we thought was a bit of a rip off but all in all a really good hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty Hawk, North Carolina
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This Holiday Inn continues to get better and better. They have improved their package of amenities and their prices seem to be lower. If you book an executive room you get so many great extras that they can't be listed here... We always stay in this hotel when we come to Singapore because of it's location and service, I am always greeted with welcome back Doctor (last name). The staff will do anything they can do to make your stay more enjoyable and the Exec lounge people are really outstanding. You can't beat the location; to the food court (with lots of different restaurants, if you want McDonalds just go around the corner), to the subway/train (2 blocks) and Orchard Rd, 1 block away. If the hotel would fix one thing in my book they would rate 6 stars, if you are in a wheelchair getting in and out of the hotel property can only be done by going down the street (in the street, no sidewalk) and the street has a blind corner... If they put a ramp on the Orchard Rd side of the hotel they could say they were 100% handicapped accessible. The city of Singapore itself is not totally 100% wheelchair accessible but it's getting there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel for a family stay - we got a family room with 2 x double beds and was fine for 2 x adults and 2xkids.

Very well run hotel, great location and great service.

Pool was good as well as breakfast and wifi coverage.

Staff service levels was excellent! Our hotels in Australia could learn what service is and how a good hotel is run from this hotel!!

Will definitely return!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The lobby of this hotel is very impressive as you walk in, and the staff who greeted us at the door were extremely friendly. Unfortunately the lady who checked us in was not friendly at all which completely ruined our first impression. She went through all the usual formalities, and then just told us to have a seat and wait. No explanation was given as to why we had to wait, but we politely took a seat anyway. After a while, she came over to us and said that because of the festive season (our stay was on New Years Eve) that they no longer had our room available that we had pre-booked. We had booked an executive room with two double beds as were were travelling with two children. Instead we were offered a room with only one king bed in it. I understood that these things happen, and reluctantly accepted the room but insisted we also be supplied with a rollaway bed free of charge. She didn't supply us with any information about the executive club - eg where it was, what was included etc.... so I needed to go back and ask for this information later. The room itself was nice and clean, and we were situated on the same level as the pool and gym area. The pool area was also nice on the rooftop. We visited the executive lounge several times where high tea was served between 2-4pm each day, and then cocktails and horderves between 6-8pm - all of which was complimentary. The staff in the lounge were excellent, and the amount of food in the evening cocktail time was alsmost enough to not warrant eating any dinner! We chose to have our breakfast in the main restaurant (other option was the executive lounge), and the breakfast was nice also. With our incorrect room we didn't have the greatest night sleep (with 3 of us sharing one bed), so the following morning we went back down to reception. This time we were served by an outstanding member of staff who apologised for the error with our room, and offered to change us to a room with two double beds for our second night. He asked us to pack up our luggage, and when a room was ready, another member of staff came and transferred us and our luggage to our new room. The reason I have still rated this hotel four stars is that it really was an exceptional property - it's just a shame that one member of staff tarnished our first impression of this property, but apart from that, I couldn't fault it.

Room Tip: Choose a room with the executive club access, as the slightly higher rate was worth it with the incl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre

Address: 11 Cavenagh Road, Singapore 229616, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Singapore
#20 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#21 Business Hotel in Singapore
#27 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre, formerly Holiday Inn Park View Singapore, in the heart of downtown Singapore! Whether for business or leisure, our central location is 10minutes away from the central business district and a convenient 2minute walk away from the shoppers’ paradise, Orchard Road. Public transport is just 3minutes away, providing easy access to the city's cultural heritage and tourist attractions like Chinatown, Little India, Sentosa and the Night Safari. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre Hotel Singapore
Holiday Inn Park View Singapore
Singapore Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.