We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Cavenagh Road, Singapore 229616, Singapore (Orchard Road)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #24 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gold Coast
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We were recommended this hotel by our travel agent for its location and she was right. It was about a 5 minute walk to all transport, major shops on Orchard Road, supermarkets and food courts. We arrived at 2pm from the airport and our room was not ready. We had to wait for an hour in the bar (they bought us a drink) for our room which was not really a hardship as we had only had an hour flight but would have been an issue if flying for a long time. The room was a usual hotel room with 2 double beds (3 of us travelling). It smelt a bit musty but we think that is because it had no opening windows or doors and the air conditioner is always on. The pool and gym area are great with beautiful warm towels to use. We used the hop on and hop off bus, MRT and local transport with no troubles, very easy to follow their signage. Only disappointing part of staying at the holiday inn was the cost of the drinks in the bar Singapore $14 +++ taxes for anything from a draft beer to a cocktail. The breakfast was good but the restaurant was very crowded and sometimes there was a small wait to get a table, we put this down to the Xmas / New Year period we travelled. Exchange rate at the front desk is very low, get money on the main street from the exchange shop. All in all - a nice stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road noise or bars that are outside on the ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    812
    775
    143
    27
    12
See reviews for
731
358
110
353
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
brisbane
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

great location, easy to walk 200m to orchard road for shopping. also not too far to walk to MRT about 5-10mins Dhoby Gault. executive rooms are best as includes breakfast, internet access, evening drinks and snacks, free late checkout till 4pm. rooms cater for 2 adults 2 children with 2 double beds. beds are double so a bit small for 2 adults but lovely pillows and Modern bathroom with lots of amenities on the bench.

Room Tip: book executive rooms for a few dollars more and get lots of free inclusions and free late checkout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Location: The Hotel is located on Cavenagah road, and just off Orchard Street.

Nearest MRT: Somerset

Restaurants: Had Dinner in the Indian Restaurant Tandoor. Food was excellent but service was poor (Read slow). They have a lobby bar and Activity Centre for kids (for parents to enjoy the location - read window shopping on Orchard Street).

Wi-Fi: There is free wi-fi in the lobby (bar = makes sense)

Rooms: Rooms are decently sized and modern. We had a view of Cuppage Street, and there was no noise (6th floor). The bathroom had a tub which the kids enjoyed.

Nearby: Orchard Street, Many 7-11s, Starbucks, McDonalds in Centrepoint.. and notably Cuppage Terrace housing many eateries: Indian, Italian, Japanese, Mexican...etc.

Service: Housekeeping was courteous as well as reception staff. We stayed for a week and they allowed us late check out at 2 pm

Verdict: Would stay here again !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We (family of four) stayed at Holiday Inn Orchard Road for three days in the beginning of January. The location was really good, huge shopping possibilities just around the corner and easyly accessible to the airport and sights either by MRT or taxi (taxis are very reasonably priced in SP).

We stayed in a club room and that is an advicable option. The club breakfast, high tea and afternoon drinks were a delight and the atmosphere much more relaxing than the busy cafeteria feeling of the other restaurant.

The room was bit dark and old fashioned to my taste, but not in a very annoying way. However, the beds were fabulous and room so quiet that I slept like a baby. Service during our stay was very polite and considerate. Kids loved the rooftop pool and it was not too crowded which is often the case.

I would abolutely stay there again on pleasure or business trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

nice rooms.

quiet A/C

big bed.

nice people.

good locatoin.

quiet clean.

ordinary but nice.

everything works.

i was amazed.

lots of kids.

nice bed.
lots of pillow options.


easy to get in and out of.

cab ride to and from airport is easy and quick and not expensive.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The Holiday Inn is a lovely, friendly hotel. It's in a great location, it's clean and updated, the lobby was warm and inviting, and all the staff I encountered were courteous and helpful. Check-in and check-out were quick and accommodating. No one ever banged on the door to see if it was ok to clean the room, yet whenever I returned, the room was made up. I'd recommend the hotel to just about any kind of traveller - I can't imagine being upset or disappointed by anything.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The location is in Orchard area. It is very convinience to enjoy Singapore malls along Orchad area, not only for shopping but also to walk in the evening. That's supposed to be the story, but last december, Orchard with the construction of the bridge connecting two building crossing orchard road and festive season tourist crowd was very bad mix to enjoy orchard. That was why then I and my family decided to skip Orchard after just one night stay in Holiday inn.

This time I didn't book hotel in advance. I booked the hotel just when I arrived in Changi. It has been a while I didn't visit Singapore so I didn't decide which part of this city I liked to enjoy. For sure Orchard is always be an Orchard. One night in Orchard area before we decided further. Holiday inn was our choice because its location and I got a good deal for two rooms in hotel reservation in Changi airport.

The check in was fast. Within minutes we were in our rooms already. The room was clean and spacious. That season was very busy for the hotel. Many families with kids stayed in this hotel during that period. The service was good and efficient. As I said its location is in Orchard area so we easily can find restaurants and shopping places.

711 covenience store was just a cross the road behind the hotel where I could get singtel SIM card only for $15 so I could stay connect to internet where ever I went around to any part of the city. The price I paid didn't give me free connection from the hotel and didn't include breakfast either. But in this era it is kind of weird to find hotel like Holiday inn still charging the internet connection because free wifi is almost becoming new standard amenity in most hotels and also restaurants.

Overall this hotel was enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre

Address: 11 Cavenagh Road, Singapore 229616, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Orchard Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Singapore
#23 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#23 Business Hotel in Singapore
#24 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre, formerly Holiday Inn Park View Singapore, in the heart of downtown Singapore! Whether for business or leisure, our central location is 10minutes away from the central business district and a convenient 2minute walk away from the shoppers’ paradise, Orchard Road. Public transport is just 3minutes away, providing easy access to the city's cultural heritage and tourist attractions like Chinatown, Little India, Sentosa and the Night Safari. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre Hotel Singapore
Holiday Inn Park View Singapore
Singapore Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.