We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel right in the heart of the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Singapore

Save Saved
You added Grand Hyatt Singapore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Singapore
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Scotts Road, Singapore 228211, Singapore   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #23 of 292 hotels in Singapore
Sydney
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel right in the heart of the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

We stayed in the Hyatt for 3 nights in February. this is a balanced review from a luxury traveller; hope it helps you.
Rooms: we stayed in a junior suite, which was lovely. Furnishings seemed quite old though and none of the rooms in the hotel have any views.
Food: buffet breakfast is excellent - huge choice, excellent service!
Location: excellent, right in the centre of all the shopping.
Pool: very nice pool with modern day beds; the water is quite cold though
Spa: I had a 2.5 hr treatment which was great; treatment rooms are very pleasant but the lobby seemed a little shabby. Service is completely inflexible though if you ask for anything out of ordinary.
Overall: I think it's one of the most expensive hotels in the city but we felt it was worth it. Will return and will recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,175 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    669
    350
    101
    32
    23
See reviews for
251
203
137
458
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Round Rock, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

Five stars all aroud at this fantastic business hotel situated about one block from Orchard.

Check-in: Arrived to the hotel at 1 AM and had the hotel arrange a Mercedes to pick me up at the airport...cost of $70 USD, but definatley worth not having to wait in a taxi line late at night. Arrived at the hotel and was checked in and to my room in less than five minutes. Friendly staff and warm greetings.

Room: Stayed in a deluxe room, King sized bed, modern decor. Huge bathroom. Maid service 2X daily and towels were constantly restocked. Very comfortable bed. Particularly liked the light controls mounted next to the bed as well as the overhead reading lights and night lights activated by the bed-side controlls. Large desk and work area. No problems with internet service.

Main Restaurant (Straits Kitchen): I've been all over Asia in the last 10 years and the Straits Kitchen is by far the best hotel buffet / general restaurant that I've come across. 4-5 main kitchen stations serving western, Chinese, Singaporian, and Indian food styles. They have a huge juice making station that also does a great pulled tea. Then there is a continential breakfast area as well serving fresh fruit, cereals, breads, etc. Then in the evenings they serve one AWESOME set of food at the dinner buffet. Hard to stay at this hotel and not gain 5 lbs per week.

Pool / Fitness area: The Damai pool and spa area are great. Reminds me of staying in Hawaii with the set-up, plants, and overall atomsphere. They have 2-3 cabannas and a great pool-side restaurant called Oasis Cafe which I ate at several times. They have a happy hour at the pool side bar offering 50% off drinks from 4-6 PM. The fitness center is great with 4-6 bikes, 4 eliptors and 4-5 treatmills as well as a dozen weight machine stations on top of several free weight sessions. The locker rooms have private showers, a meditation room, wet sauna, dry sauna and hot & cool pools. Hours are 6 AM to 10 PM.

Location: The location is great. The hotel sits about one block noth of Orchard Ln on Scotts Rd and about 100 yards or so from the American Club. The bus stop is right at the intersection of Orchard and Scott and for $14 SGD you can get an all-day bus pass that stops at ~20 tourist destinations on the island. Perfect for tourists or simply wanting to visit several areas of the city in one day.

In summary....I'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2010

As expected from 5-stars hotel. It's clean, luxurious and excellent quality of the room. We stayed in junior suite rooms, so I do not have complaints with the room conditions. It was superb.

The downside is the lobby and its overwhelming number of standing staffs hawking around the guests. The lobby is too spacious with no chairs to sit on. When you enter the lobby, you have the feeling of being in an office, rather than a hotel. It's good, maybe, for business people, but not for you who want some "homey" feeling.

There were hotel staffs standing around and offering guests some helps, but there were too many. I found it annoying. The staffs who were standing stared at you that you felt being spied on.

The front desk staff was friendly and very helpful. Breakfast area and its food, I think, was extravagance.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2010

Amazing experience with shopping just outside and dont miss to have rice chicken in the next building
Keep your luggage with concierge if u check out and flt is late - amazing service levels

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, KS
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

The friendly people and great service will keep you coming back to the Grand Hyatt Singapore. Rooms are clean and you can always count on a great night’s sleep. In room check-in is an awesome service that other hotels need to adopt. The concierge was able to arrange dinner at several very exclusive restaurants on short notice, a service that is worth its weight in gold. I would recommend the booking rooms on the Executive Level whenever possible because the nightly cocktail hour and snacks are excellent. However, this is also my only complaint about the Grand Hyatt Singapore... the people working the lounge aren't very personal or responsive, so if you want special attention you should stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saigon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

I and my family have stayed at this hotel recently. The location of this hotel is just wonderful with shoppings and entertainment at doorstep. We have been welcomed by a staff from the entrance and she walked us to the reception counter for checking in. It took us only few minutes for the registration. Learning that my mom could not walk properly, they assigned us a room near the elevator and next to each other. They initiatively offered a wheelchair for my mother, this really impressed us, especially my mom for their extraodianry services. We were then assigned in a new wing with new rooms. The room was well designed for the convenience of the guest with wooden floor and marble bathroom. The lcd TV and DVD player immediately taken by our kids for their favorites DVD movies that they carried along with them. We liked very much the wardrop with two sides door that we could take our clothes whether we were in the bathroom or from the bed room

The restaurant on the Mezannine was extremely great with full ranges of menu and open kitchens. They offered a kid menu to our kids. We ordered beef and veal and sushi, all were delicious that we could only say excellent food after dinner (one of my brother in law was a kiwi and he really enjoy his main course with veal, especially the sauce)

Following morning we went down to the lobby restaurant for a breafkfast, this buffet restaurant with open kitchen really imrepssed us with their variety and quality of foods. great comments the chef of this hotel

It was just a short stay at this Hyatt hotel but it really impressed us with their friendly and outstanding services and especially the foods at the two restaurants. There is no doubt we will come back and stay at this hotel for our next trip to Singapore

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2010

Our experience at Grand Hyatt Singapore was truly amazing n splendid. Personally, Grand Hyatt is our most favourite hotel.
We stayed there a couple of times and we witnessed the improvements in the customer service after we gave feedback to the management via the feedback form.
We were impressed with the commitment that the management had on customer service.
We booked our 1st two stays under the Explorer package. This was a very worth for value package as it includes buffet breakfast and dinner at the Straits Kitchen. Our Grand deluxe King room was very spacious and comfortable. The only drawback was the small TV screen at the living and bed room. We had to strain our eyes to watch the shows.
The equipment and quality of the Gym at Damai Spa was impressive. The treadmills and cross trainer from technogym and had touch screen with cable TV and ipod attachments
On our 3rd visit is a complimentary night at the Grand room, we noticed that the customer service at the counter staff of the Straits Kitchen improved tremendously. We were greeted warmly and we felt at home. Upon our check-in, front counter staff automatically gave us a double upgrade to Grand Deluxe King and Club access. Anted out request to check in early and check out late till 6pm, this is of course on an availability basis. My wife and I were very pleased with the flexibility that the management has empowered the staff with.
The experience at the Club Lounge was overwhelming. Upon our 2nd visit to the lounge, we were greeted by our 1st names. The staffs were very proactive, helpful and friendly. Food and beverage quality at the lounge was also top notch. Wireless access was also complementary.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hyatt Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Singapore

Address: 10 Scotts Road, Singapore 228211, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#14 Business Hotel in Singapore
#18 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#22 Family Hotel in Singapore
#22 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Singapore 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5-star luxury city hotel housed in two separate towers in the entertainment & commercial district. Strategically located at the start of Orchard Road in Singapore, in the centre of the city's commercial and entertainment district, just a 30-minute drive from Singapore's Changi Airport. Unwind in one of our 677 luxury rooms and suites. Considered one of the best Singapore luxury hotel, Grand Hyatt Singapore's spacious guestrooms and suites are fitted with every modern convenience required for a comfortable stay, such as generous work desks, luxurious beds and elegant baths. Embark on a culinary adventure at several of the finest restaurants and bars at our Singapore Orchard Road hotel. Relax and fully rejuvenate at Damai, our award-winning spa and fitness centre. The in-house fitness centre features all of the latest equipment to help guests keep up with their fitness regime or enjoy a leisurely dip in the outdoor swimming pool surrounded by lush greenery. Grand Hyatt Singapore, mezza9, Pete's Place and StraitsKitchen were also awarded the Certificate of Excellence 2014 by Tripadvisor - making this a consecutive win for the hotel alone, since 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your Grand Hyatt Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Singapore Hotel Singapore
Singapore Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Singapore
Singapore Hyatt
Hyatt Regency Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.