We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated Hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Singapore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt Singapore to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt Singapore
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Scotts Road, Singapore 228211, Singapore   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed and Breakfast Package
Ranked #26 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Overrated Hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2006

Stayed there for 4 days in July 2006. Booked a room on the club floor, only to find out on arrival that they don't have a club floor but rather a club lounge. Lounge was on the 15th floor and our room was on the 13th floor. All rooms were the same so there was no benefit in payingan extra $150 a night for a club room which didn't exist. Only extras was a cold buffet breakfast of poor qaulity. Soft drinks and water also free during the day. Rude staff as I was asked to leave a bar because I was wearing dress shorts as was my wife, but she was allowed to stay. I find this discrimination disappointing for a 5 star hotel. Ripped off on checking out when hotel refused to honour my booked room rate which was made by my travel agent. Charged an extra $40 per night. When these matters were raised with the manager he was quite rude in refusing to do anything about the problems. In a city like Singapore where there are so many excellent hotels, my advise is go elsewhere. There is no excuse for poor service and rip offs like I experienced.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    856
    453
    138
    44
    27
See reviews for
324
268
151
593
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2006

I'll try to make this as neutral and unbiased as possible. We stayed there for three nights.

GOOD THINGS ABOUT THE GRAND HYATT SINGAPORE
- upgraded our two rooms to Grand Deluxe - very friendly and efficient reception staff
- large rooms, good toiletries and towels
- very good buffet breakfast selection - with very attentive staff
- porterage and concierge service efficient
- hotel guests have priority for taxis - the queues can get quite long at peak hours
- we were charged for a phone call and minibar consumption that we never made - once this was raised the staff erased the record immediately. how the charges occured is a mystery to me!
- the gym & sauna was well equipped and clean

BAD THINGS ABOUT THE GRAND HYATT SINGAPORE
- our cordless phone didn't work - this was reported on the first day but the phone remained non-functional for all 4 days (and 3 nights) of our trip. it kept on flashing and the buttons didn't work!
- the pillow covers had holes .... not on the edges/sides but right in the middle!
- the showerhead was cracked and basically non-functional - water was dribbling out .... again this was raised but nothing was done

CONCLUSION
- definitely not the best hotel we've stayed in - but still quite good considering the price paid and the room upgrade.
- the staff are great - it appears that it's the hardware that needs work done (the phone, shower, pillowcases).

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2006

A disorganized staff coupled with wonky fixtures in the rooms make this hotel a comical addition to the Hyatt's Grand class. Someone needs to get in there and teach them how to run a hotel of the 5 star calibre.

  • Stayed December 2005, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2006

The hotel is OK - nothing to write home about for the price. Reason for my upset is when we were waiting outside the hotel in a taxi rank, waited about 15 minutes until it was our turn for a taxi. Just about to get into the taxi when the doorman pushed us out of the way and let in another couple who was not in the queue. I comfronted him about this and he just told us to go away and not bother him! Spoke to management about this - all they could say was he most likely did not know we were guests of the hotel.....hhmmmmm

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Singapore

Address: 10 Scotts Road, Singapore 228211, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#20 Business Hotel in Singapore
#21 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#22 Family Hotel in Singapore
#25 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 677
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5-star luxury city hotel housed in two separate towers in the entertainment & commercial district. Strategically located at the start of Orchard Road in Singapore, in the centre of the city's commercial and entertainment district, just a 30-minute drive from Singapore's Changi Airport. Unwind in one of our 677 luxury rooms and suites. Considered one of the best Singapore luxury hotel, Grand Hyatt Singapore's spacious guestrooms and suites are fitted with every modern convenience required for a comfortable stay, such as generous work desks, luxurious beds and elegant baths. Embark on a culinary adventure at several of the finest restaurants and bars at our Singapore Orchard Road hotel. Relax and fully rejuvenate at Damai, our award-winning spa and fitness centre. The in-house fitness centre features all of the latest equipment to help guests keep up with their fitness regime or enjoy a leisurely dip in the outdoor swimming pool surrounded by lush greenery. Grand Hyatt Singapore, mezza9, Pete's Place and StraitsKitchen were also awarded the Certificate of Excellence 2014 by Tripadvisor - making this a consecutive win for the hotel alone, since 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hyatt Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Singapore Hotel Singapore
Singapore Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Singapore
Singapore Hyatt
Hyatt Regency Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.